Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Caurus Academy

Charter | K-8 | 330 students

 
 

Living in Anthem

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $199,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

We have only positive accolades for Caurus Academy. The entire staff from administration to teaching assistants seem to genuinely care about the students. Academics are top notch and challenge students at an age appropriate level. Communication between the parents, students and staff is encouraged and more than welcomed. The school promotes positivity, kindness, self-motivation and personal responsibility among its students and families. Our family definitely feels a strong connection with the school and our other children can't wait to attend Caurus Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

I do not recommend; some teachers are horrible. We transferred our child out of Caurus Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

our school is a dynamic school! always in great communication with the parents. my kids love there teachers. The teachers are amazing and I love building relationships with them everyday. I would recommend his school to any one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

This school is the best I have found in the Anthem area. My kids have been to Anthem Elementary, Sunset Ridge and Desert Mountain and by far this school out ranks the others. My children are happy and learning. They are all making A and B's because the Teachers and staff work with them to get them where they need to be. Mrs. Rides is an amazing Principal. She loves the kids and works with Parents to make sure they are in the best learning environment possible. All the Teachers at Caurus are amazing and the Art Teacher, well she is a real sweat heart and an amazing lady. She encourages the kids to be creative and shows them how to express themselves through art. If you haven't checked out Caurus Academy you are really missing out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

Excellent school! Can't say enough about it. My daughter was there for 2 years before leaving at the start of the 2012-2013 for another school she had been on a wait list for. The new school was not a good fit for her and she was fortunate enough to be able to return after winter break. All I can say is everyone from Admin to previous teachers welcomed her back with such enthusiasm. My daughter once again looks forward to and enjoys going to school. Check into Caurus if you looking for a school where everyone knows you child's name and has that special, warm and welcoming feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

LOVE this school! I have 2 children attending and couldn't be happier. The staff is excellent and my 4th grader went from always requiring help with homework to working independently! She is challenged and engaged and making straight A's! My other child is in Kindergarten and absolutely loves it! She loves going to school and loves doing homework. It's so refreshing to see my children excited about learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

My daughter attended Caurus Academy for the 2011-2012 school year. She excelled in all of her subjects. The most important aspect for me was that she had some health issues that required a 504 plan and the staff could not have been more accommodating or genuinely concerned about helping my daughter succeed. Her teacher, Ms. Rides, Mr. Taubman and Meisha (the best front office employee I have ever had the pleasure to know) were all amazing in their support and kindness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

I attended caurus before it even became caurus academy I attended from 3rd grade all the way until sixth my brother attened first grade there and we both loved it caurus academy is an execelent school


Posted June 2, 2012

I have always had positive things to say about this school and teachers until the fifth grade teacher came along he is an unconcerned uncaring teacher I use teacher loosely because he doesnot teach I would be hard pressed to tell you what my child learned from him this year he is absolutly the worst teacher Caurus has had .I feel sorry for next years group of fifth graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

I love this school. The best staff! As a parent you want to know how your child is doing and what he or she needs to work on to improve academically and socially. This school works with the child and the parent to enhance your child's desire and ability to work hard to be the best they can be. Only wish they would open one at Carefree and I-17 too! This has been a long way for me to drive before and after work every day but my child is worth it! Excellent before and after care program too! I don't only love this school, but so does my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL! My son have attended for 2 years going on 3. He's had caring teachers that keep me informed of his progress or when he messing up. I like to know that so I can DO MY JOB as a parent more effectively. I would rather nip any problems in the bud then only hear about it during Parent Teachers meetings. My daughter is going to attend this Fall and I look forward to meeting her teacher, my son's teacher and saying hello to a Wonderful Principal that knows her students by Name. AWESOME! I am from NYC public Schools so I Demand a higher educational standard for MY kids here in AZ. Caurus Academy fits that Bill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

I love the school because of the great teachers. I am very involved in my child's education, so I do like receiving calls from teacher advising me of progress. That way come report card time you are not shocked by your childs grade. You will always know where your child stands academically. As for the principal, I dont have much to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

Caurus Academy's New school in Anthem is Such a Huge improvement! Although my son has had some behavioral problems, His teacher, the staff and especially the Principal Ms Rhodes has been so helpful to us to resolve his problems. He is getting better everyday and I am very grateful to Caurus Academy. Keep up the Great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

We got a very negative teacher , can't keep up with the kids behavior . If you love calls from the teacher for lack of her leadership and control issue , maybe this is the ideal school . NOT FOR ME .Teacher will call at anytime during the day till night!! no matter for whatever issue . Teacher does not respect the parent, not tactful . ONE NEGATIVE FOR THE K/1 teacher .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

Let me put it simply, this school is terrible. I attended for three years and i was failing every year, I'm a freshmen in high school, but right now I should be in sixth grade this school messed me up so bad. My 4th/5th grade teacher was a huge feminist, almost though she didn't want the male students there. I'm telling you, DON'T even consider this school


Posted October 15, 2010

Our daughter started at Caurus Academy in August 2010 and she loves her new school. Her teacher is wonderful and she learning so much more than she did at her neighborhood public school. I love the fact that there is a classroom aide and that parents volunteer in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

We have been very happy at The Montessori at Anthem. The teachers are respectful of the children and expect respect from the children. The children become self motivators which is what Montessori is based upon, in turn building self esteem and self respect, all while growing and actually enjoying the day. The teachers are watchful of the children and help them along the way with good relationship techniques and with choosing challenging work. The projects my children come home with are amazingly detailed while also fun. The children are learning so much more than they are even aware of being in the Montessori environment. We are glad to have this school in Anthem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

My daughter is in the k/1 class. The teachers are amazing, the staff is wonderful. Best of all my daughter loves going to school, and is learning so much more then she would at the public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2008

I have been at this school for over 3 years and have seen so much progress with the new staff. I am very pleased with the progress and the fact that they have P.E. and also spanish this year. This school is great and the staff really cares about the students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

This is my sons first year at Anthem Montessori. He is in one of the 4/5/6 grade rooms. He likes it so much more than the public school he was attending. His teachers are wonderful. The principal is great. He does have a lot of homework and he has to do a lot of projects but he is so much happier this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 14% 42%
Asian 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

42302 N. Vision Way
Anthem, AZ 85086
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 551-5083

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Desert Academy
Anthem, AZ





Canyon Springs
Anthem, AZ


Anthem School
Anthem, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT