Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

North Valley Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

Nationally ranked test scores, family community, and Christ-centered education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Anthem

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $199,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

What am amazing school!!! Thank you to the most amazing staff at NVCA for supporting our son and his educational needs. We are so blessed to have him at this school and know that he is in the right place! Looking forward to the new campus and new high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

I have now been a parent at North Valley Christian for 3 years. I honestly could not imagine another school for my little ones. I think the number 1 thing that sets them apart from most is the loving, caring environment. This is not to downplay the level of academics at NVCA. I can say with great confidence that the education my daughter is receiving is among the highest in the nation. However, when a student is handled in such a way that they feel cared for and secure in their school environment, it gives them the freedom to excel and exceed in ways never thought possible. I cannot say enough good things about this establishment. The teachers, the administration, the parents, and most definitely the students are some of the most superb I have ever experienced. I have witnessed first hand the amount of time that the staff will take to prepare a project or a lesson that will resonate with the students for years to come. NVCA not only cares about a great education, but also takes the time to prepare these young lives to enter into the world equipped with emotional, spiritual, and physical knowledge to help them succeed at life. Thank you for your time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

NVCA has been a blessing to my family for the last 4 years. We drive 20 to school & pass the local school 1/4 mile away. Why drive so far? Because of what NVCA offers. The staff and faculty are compassionate, friendly and joyful. The parents and students we meet become family friends. The teachers challenge our children to be better members of society by involving them with different outreach programs. Students are expected to make good choices & encourage their peers to do the same. Parents participate in class activities which gives the children a sense of security. The Core Curriculum program allows my children to be exposed to subjects that they might not otherwise get an opportunity to learn. But most important to our family are the daily reminders of our Savior, Jesus Christ. The freedom to worship, pray, listen, and put into practice what the bible instructs us impacts my children. Being a parent to a student at NVCA, I can t help but grow along with them. Having my children in a school that surrounds them daily with encouragement, a safe environment, an outstanding curriculum & a solid foundation in Christ are what draws us back every year. To us NVCA has become home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

I am thankful that my 7year old daughter is able to attend this school. It's the kind of school where everyone knows your name. All the teachers are her extended family, all students her siblings. She is challenged in the classroom, and held to a high standard of morals and values at school. I could not be more blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

North Valley Christian Academy is an outstanding school. NVCA is a private, Christ-centered school located in the North Valley and from our perspective, it is the best school around! This is our fifth year attending NVCA and we couldn't imagine our children attending school anywhere else. The teachers are amazing and not only do they provide our children with an excellent education, but they also share the love of Christ with them each and every day. In today's world, children hear so many different messages. We are blessed to have our children hear the same message at home, at church and at school; God loves them and has a purpose for their lives. We love that we have the opportunity to walk our children into school every day and talk with their teachers. We are able to partner with their teachers to make sure they are continually held accountable to the values we are teaching them at home, to love others as Christ loves us and to seek Him in all that we do. NVCA is a family and we truly feel that and so do our children! I challenge you to consider making the best investment in your child's life, a Christ-centered education. You won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

NVCA Para la gente Hispana: Si usted le interesa que su hijo sea tratado con respeto y amor, que las cualidades y talentos que este tenga puedan ser destacados para ser una bendicion a la humanidad, que el nivel academico sea sobrealiente no solo a nivel Nacional sino Internacional. Y su escuela sea como su segundo hogar. Esta Escuela NVCA sin duda es la mejor!!! El personal mas capacitado, apto, calificado, fino, amistoso, que trata al estudiante como un ser inteligente, con respeto, amor y que lo conduce a tener una conducta armoniosamente Cristiana. Yo le doy las 5 estrellas!!! Por que lo vale en todos los sentidos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

North Valley Christian Academy is God driven and has the loving home atmosphere that parent's and students come to expect.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2013

Caring , loving environment to work at. Love working and teaching our fantastic curriculum backed by Jesus in all we say and do and teach! We are truly one big extended family at NVCA.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 12, 2013

North Valley Christian Academy is a family-friendly, Christ-centered, learning environment. The minute you walk through the doors, you know God & His grace are present in the staff, parents & students. Academics include Core knowledge & biblical teachings. Leadership training & focus is on excellence in Academics to glorify The Lord. Everyone is smiling here. It is a great place to be. Look for many great future leaders to originate here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

We are so excited to of finally found a fantastic Christian school for our two young boys. In just the short time that they have been there, I am amazed at what they have learned. NVCA has the most supportive and friendly staff I have ever seen and we truly feel welcome each and everytime we walk through their doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

The best school in Phoenix/Scottsdale. This is my son's first year in preschool and I can't believe how much he has learned in such a short amount of time. The teachers and staff are amazing! We will be sending both of our children here for preschool and k - 8th grade. Hopefully when the time comes they will be a full k - 12 school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

This is our first year at NCVA, and we love it. The staff are caring and very attentive to parents and students. My kids love it as well and love going to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

We are thrilled with NVCA. Our son is thriving in school. The teachers are amazing. They are dedicated and truly care about each and every child. The school uses CORE Knowledge curriculum, but the learning goes so far beyond that. We are amazed at how much our son has grown academically and spiritually while attending NVCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I can not say enough good things about NVCA! The staff, CORE knowledge curriculum, facilities, families, and volunteers and truly one of a kind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

Excellent! NVCA is fantastic! They understand children and families. They school is strong academically - great liberal arts curriculum AND they clearly know that education is MUCH MORE than just academics. The teachers can not be beat -- they are absolutely the best. Worth every penny of investment for my children. Parents care about the school and CHOOSE the school -- this makes all the difference in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

We have felt like family from our first year at NVCA. The parent involvement is unbelievable and staff members are top notch. If you are looking for a great Christian school that will nurture your child academically AND spiritually, this is the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

WOW!!! I have been amazed since day one of my kids attending NVCA. I am impressed daily with what my preschooler and my kindergartener are learning. Not only are they getting an EXCELLENT education they are doing it in an amazing facility with amazing teachers and staff to help guide them. I couldn't ask for more as a parent!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

We are excited about the Core Knowledge curriculum -- in the preschool and the elementary school. This school understands preparing well rounded children - from the education program to relationship building to strong family values. Thank you NVCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Our preschooler goes here and absolutely loves it! The nurturing environment and caring, competent staff are beyond our expectations. And perhaps the best thing, especially with the young ones, is that when we leave her there, we know she is learning in a safe, structured place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

This school is amazing- it continues to grow and provide a well-balanced solid education along with the fact that parents are highly involved in the school- making it a very unique and exceptional school. 10 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Nationally Ranked Test Scores - Top 15% (2013)
  • Nationally Ranked Test Scores - Top 15% (2012)
  • Nationally Ranked Test Scores - Top 15% (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Orchard Africa - Service Award (2014)
  • Arizona CAPE - Service Award - Project Liquid Hope (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Nate Kretzmann, M.Ed., CFRE
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Part-time study
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (623) 551-4067

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • hockey
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • hockey

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$1000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

42101 N. 41st Drive
Anthem, AZ 85086
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 551-3454

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Desert Academy
Anthem, AZ



Canyon Springs
Anthem, AZ


Anthem School
Anthem, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT