Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Apache Trail High School

Charter | 9-12 | 164 students

We are best known for commitment to student success!

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

This school has a great group of teachers, compared to larger schools, that really don't teach individually, I have a GRADUATE from here and another in 2015, Both have shown a huge improvement since attending the school. I'm also very impressed with the school involvement with the community,and getting the kids involved too. It was nice to hear my student tell me he couldn't wait to start school . The football program is an excellent way for the students to get guided in a path to success plus get rid of some frustration. I as a parent give a great amout of credit to the Coaches because they do such a wonderful job shaping these kids from kids to adults. I am a proud parent of 2 Wolfpack students Thank You Apache Trail...Go Wolfpack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

aths is a great school my students were not the greatest but aths still took them and now I have a graduate and another about to because of the one on one and the best teachers it the state
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

This is a great school with top notch teachers. My children are very happy and having fun while learning at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

Apache Trail Has an A! Check out the Press Release 08/08/12: Apache Trail High School Earns an A First year that alternative schools receive a grade under the new A-F accountability model. Apache Junction, Ariz., August 8, 2012 Apache Trail High School (ATHS), located at 945 W. Apache Trail, received an A-Alt grade from the Arizona Department of Education (ADE). The designation A-Alt is the letter grade of A earned by an alternative school. The ADE published the grades for all Arizona schools on August 2. This year there are three additional letter grade models designed for small, K-2 and alternative schools, The new system for alternative schools takes into consideration relevant student growth data for schools that often must help their students raise their academic performance by two-to-three grade levels. ATHS has earned the Alt-A designation by working with their students to identify learning gaps through regular classroom instruction, benchmark testing and other means. .... ....For the rest of the PRESS RELEASE, cut and paste the following address in your browser: http://www.apachetrailhs.com/1/post/2012/08/august-06th-2012.html
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 26, 2012

I used to go to AJ, then I went to Imagine -- Now I go to ATHS. The people they have at this school are awesome. The teachers are so cool and they help no matter what. It may not look like much from the outside, but its so awesome on inside. I can't wait to get my classes done and graduate early. I tell all my friends about the Wolfpack
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2011

Apache Trail is by far the BEST high school I've been to. I transferred from Apache Junction High School because I didn't feel I was getting the amount of attention I needed to complete my classes. I enrolled into Apache Trail in October of 2010. Since being at Apache Trail, I've earned straight A's all the way through, with the amazing help from Mr.Harris, Coach Howe, and Mr.Brown. I'm honored to be a member of the Wolfpack. I highly reccomend this school for anybody who wants the best education in Apache Junction.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2009

I have to say, without Apache Trail High School I never would have graduated at sixteen. The small class sizes allow excellent instruction and help, the students can really relate to teachers, and the principal is by far the best I've had. This school doesn't get the credit it deserves. Thank you Coach Howe, Ms. Blaisdell, Mr. Brown... without you guys I wouldn't be where I am. Trust me, this school is worth it. Every time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2009

This school saved my daughter's life. Without ATHS, I'm not sure she would have made it though to the end. Thank you teachers, staff and especially Mr. G, the principal -- you really do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

My daughter had trouble transitioning from private to public school. I home schooled for a year and then enrolled her in apex academy. she is doing great-she is getting a's and b's, the teachers give her the attention she requires due to extremely small class size, and she has made a few friends. My daughter's self confidence is soaring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I love the school, the teacher, the other students are great. Apache Trail High School rocks! I am really looking forward to our new football team. Goooooooooo Wolfpack! Peace out...
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2007

Apache Trail HS has undergone some drastic change over the past 3 years. The teaching staff has mostly been replaced, the leadership is new and program has grown. All I have to say is bravo. The teachers at ATHS have always cared for their students, but it has gotten so much easier to communicate with them now. My children would not have excelled as they have done at ATHS if they were enrolled at a larger school. The teachers and staff truly care for the well-being of their students. I couldn t be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

I may not be a parent, nor am I a teacher, but as a student of ATHS I am completely sastified. The teachers actually care; to them, we're not just another statistic. To them, we are living, breathing human beings. Unfortunately, most of us have had 'bad things' happen to us in our pasts, things I won't dwell on, and regrettably do have behavioral problems, but nothing that cannot be dwelt with with the minimal amount of discourse. Excuse me if I do not fit the stereotypical poor student image, but I love this school, because it's the first place I belonged, and could make friends I knew I could trust.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2006

As far as the teachers go they are decent when they want but they often play favoritism. I do not recommend this 'school' to anyone!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 15, 2003

My daughter was a student @ A.T.H.S.last year.We moved 16 miles away late last year.It was a very difficult decision,but we decided that the drive would be too much for her. We recently enrolled her into another school.The praise for apache trail was unending.The new school stated that apache trail had been great with transferring records and that our daughter was right on schedule with her credits.I will miss the staff @ apache trail.I felt that they were more than willing to openly communicate with me concerning my daughters grades and performance.I hope that we have the same open communication with the new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2003

Only want to help students if they live up to the teacher spectrum of 'perfection'. Teachers have been known to tell a student 'they can help other students if they are done with their work' one day and the next day jump down the students throat for doing so... Teachers definitely need to get their act together and the principal needs to realize that it is not always the student who is at fault. Will never recommend to someone if they really want an education.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Apache Junction Unified Schools
Mesa Unified Schools
Imagine Prep of Superstition
Colleges most students attend after graduation Central Arizona College
Northern Arizona University
Maricopa Community Colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Continued NCA Accreditation since 2000 (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Patriotic Citizens Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 1:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Greg Garland
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 288-0340

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Community service
  • Game club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Our school specializes in providing personalized education for all students. Our unique Monday through Friday schedule allows students extra one-on-one time with teachers after school. Our educational staff is certified and Highly Qualified by the State of Arizona and are dedicated to student improvement and achievement.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
275
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
290
Students typically come from these schools
Apache Junction Unified Schools
Mesa Unified Schools
Imagine Prep of Superstition

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Central Arizona College (CAC) Campuses
Maricopa Community Campuses
ASU, U of A
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

945 West Apache Trail
Apache Junction, AZ 85220
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 288-0337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Excalibur Charter School
Apache Junction, AZ


Imagine Prep Superstition
Apache Junction, AZ



Apache Junction High School
Apache Junction, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT