Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Prep Superstition

Charter | 7-12 | 280 students

College Preparation and S.T.E.M Program

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2014

The school bills itself as college prep, actually only in name. My child's textbooks are antiquated, the teachers and administration are unapproachable and rude. The e text books rarely work and my child often has to take pictures of the assignment with the cell phone. We will be looking for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Both my son and husband agree with me that we made the right decision last fall in sending our son to Imagine Prep. What a dedicated and caring staff and administration!! I've never seen my son so focused on his studies and involvement in activities. Thank you Imagine Prep!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Well, I've seen the reviews on the academics on Imagine Prep and couldn't agree more. Since this new administration has taken over I've seen tremendous growth and commitment, I know I made the right choice for my kids. I also want to comment on the growing Athletic Department; I was told there would be changes and additional opportunities and they weren't just talking. Last year I believe there was only varsity volleyball, soccer and basketball, this year they added varsity and junior high football, the cheerleading team, junior high basketball. I'm told they'll be adding a golf team and weight training club for the spring. This is a well rounded school and I'm elated my kids attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My daughter is attending Imagine Prep again this year and we are both very excited about it. This year I have noticed some positive changes such as increased parent/teacher communication, more clubs and sports teams, as well as AP classes and Project Lead the Way. I really appreciate that the front office staff, administrators, and teachers are welcoming and supportive of my daughter. I would recommend this school for many reasons, but I would have to say that individualized attention is at the top of my list!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

My children have been attending Imagine Prep for a ccouple of years and it gets betterr each year. They love going to school and the admistration quickly and effectively addresses concerrns. I am proud to be associated with Imagine Schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

I'm impressed with this school's determination to be a real STEM school. The robotics programs are wonderful, the technology and science labs seem to fit together. I look forward to seeing this school continue to grow. I would recommend this school to any parent who wants their child to experience an education that prepares them for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

You know what they say.... It starts from the TOP and this is oh so true at Imagine Prep Superstition! There is a great open door policy with the Principal, Academic Dean and Teachers. If you need help or simply need a question answered stop and talk to anyone at Imagine. They always make time for you and they value any time that you can give to the school. I would highly recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

Most people think foster parents don't care about the children in their care, but that is not so. So with that stated. We placed two of our children in Imagine Prep hoping to give them a jump at life. Last year had some serious bumps both on the schools end and our childrens. During the summer we discussed how we should proceed; stay or go. Ofter much consideration and a few meetings with the new staff and principal Mr. Clark we opted to stay. For the record, we are well pleased. The school has provided an safe and nurturing environment for our children to excel. Thank you administration and staff. Posted again, I think my email with was wrong or not working correctly.


Posted May 24, 2013

Interesting to read the last few recent comments from "parents." Honestly, they seem a little fake. Anyone can come on here and create a review so take it all with a grain of salt. (Including staff/administration.) Its all in the deatials... The following is 100% We have attended Imagine Prep for 3 years and each year have witnessed many changes. This past school year has welcomed all new staff as well as administration. Promises at the beginning were not met fully and next year there are again "new promises." Overall I was disappointed. I feel that teacher communication was poor and needs improvement. Example: All year I'd only received 2 emails from same teacher, letting me know how well my child was doing in his class, thats it out of all the teachers. Lets face it, as a parent we want the best for our kids which is why we choose charter schools, many times we believe smaller overall class size will mean a better education & communication, not true. Bottom line,with all the money put into "new" programs to draw in new students and your student enrollment continues to drop....MESSAGE! Something is lacking. Best find out what it is and fix it or the school will have to close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

I am very pleased with the progress of my child-she is exceeding in all of her classes and after school activities are exciting to participate in. Looking forward to enrolling my other children in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

Very happy with my daughter coming here. They do a really great job making sure that their students are taken care of and the staff is very good at communicating with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

My granddaughter attends school at Imagine Prep and she seems to enjoy it. There is always something going on to participate in and always feel welcome when on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

I am very pleased with the college prep environment that Imagine Prep is providing for my student. I am encouraged that my son will be successful in college and in his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

My daughter has been going to this school for two years. The first year went great. This school year is great as well. The project based learning is wonderful. It is very challenging and is exactly what my daughter needs to make it in the world today. The faculty and staff are amazing. I always know what is going on with my daughter. The teachers keep parents well informed. I am a very involved parent and cannot think of a reason not to send my daughter there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

This is our first year at Imagine Prep. My daughter is in 7th grade. She has never been a really strong student, but with all the support she is now an A student. She truly enjoys Imagine Prep, I do as well. The teachers and staff do a great job making the kids feel like enpowered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

I am so happy to have my kids go here. They really are learning on such a broad spectrum - I am very pleased. The curriculum is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

Great staff! The teachers are very hands on in making sure that they kids are excelling everyday & I love the early college program. the difficulty and homework given is very manageable. We are both very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

Imagine Prep Has gone down hill without breaks. There are few teachers that are good but the administration does not encourage real growth for the students. The classes are limited I would not recommend this school to anyone
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2012

When i first started going to the prep i was very amazed at the curriculum and the teachers that were present at the school. But when i came back my second year everything had changed. The beginning of the 2011-2012 went pretty smoothly but with change of administration A lot of things when downhill. Some very uncalled for things were happening At the school and made going there very miserable. It was allegedly a "college Prep" school but because of me going there i am not on track to graduate. I was denied essential classes and with no elective classes you where very limited to the choices you have. I also found out that they were not giving me credit for the a class that i passed. But might i say the teachers that were there gave 110% to making sure that the students would pass their classes. Without them i wouldn't have passed a single class. Sadly the teachers will not be returning next year so i would really advise not sending your children to this school. Its downgrading to more of an alternative school instead of preparing you for college.


Posted May 30, 2012

I appreciate the parent outreach at this school, I like that I can stay involved in my son's education. Also, the discipline policies are handled very professionally by the faculty and staff. My son had a problem with another student and not only did they talk with the boys, but they also brought both sets of parents in to ensure that everyone was on the same page. They kept me informed and updated even after the conference and everything went very smoothly because of the way they handled it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 24% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 75% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University
Northern Arizona University
University of Arizona
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • High Performing Title I Reward School (2012)
  • AZ Learns - "A" (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Frank Stirpe
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • website
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Special education
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Online Study Island
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheer
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Booster Club
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Imagine Prep is a safe and nurturing College Preparatory S.T.E.M academy.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
280
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
280

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University
Northern Arizona University
University of Arizona
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 24%
4 year college - 75%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1843 W. 16th Avenue
Apache Junction, AZ 85220
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 355-0530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Avalon Elementary School
Apache Junction, AZ


East Valley Christian Academ
Apache Junction, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT