Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canyon Breeze Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

My daughters have been attending Canyon Breeze for 4 years now and have never been happier. They absolutely love their teachers and their grades are excellent. I would like to see the school offer more sport programs but am happy they started soccer this year. I love the events they have at the school and the outstanding communication from the teachers as well as the principle Jeff Byrnes. The newsletters that are emailed are very informative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Canyon Breeze is such a great school. We live hear with our grandchild and this school is the best. We raised or son in California and the kids were morelike a number than a young person. Keep up the great work A++++++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I had a 6th and 2nd grader at Canyon Breeze. They are both high achievers and their needs were met. The staff and principal at Canyon Breeze work hard to keep kids and parents engaged and involved. The principal is every where- classrooms, lunchroom, sporting events, parent nights, etc. This school's staff is earning its Arizona "A" rating for dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

At first I was hesitant in letting my boys go to a public school as we have very high academic standards in our home. This school has proved to be an exceptional school with great support staff, great teachers, and an amazingly involved principal. Their take on discipline is a bit laid back but their manner of teaching the children new behaviors and great character, balances itself. My boys have been going there for 3 years and my kindergartner just started and loves going every day. They are always welcoming and friendly and have an open door policy. This allows parents like myself to be involved in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I am so happy with Canyon Breeze. The staff truly believes that all students are capable of success, and they seem to work together to make sure that happens. Did you know they provide interventions to try to catch kids up? They have been an A school two years in a row now. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

The Principal knows almost every kid's name, and there are nearly 1,000 kids there. Most of the teachers communicate well with parents and it seems like everyone really wants kids to be successful. The only thing I'm a little disappointed in is the specials classes. The kids don't seem well supervised and learn the same things year after year. Otherwise, it's a great school and I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Canyon Breeze! My daughter is a kindergartner in Ms. Peoples class. I really couldn't have asked for a better kindergarten teacher for my daughter!!!! Ms. Peoples loves, cares and teaches her as if she is one of her own. My only regret is that we have to pay for all-day kindergarten, but we do it because of Ms. Peoples. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

This school has turned into one big mess. Plan on getting my kids out of here as soon as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Canyon Breeze has certainly turned around this year with new leadership. Teachers seem to be happier and morale is increasing. It is amazing what a little structure can do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Canyon Breeze has turned around the atmosphere and culture. Staff turnover has went down dramatically. The kids are happy to come to school and I think the new Principal plays a big part in that. He is very inviting and always has an open door. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

My daughter is in 3rd grade, She has been left behind in all subjects and despite our efforts to get her extra help or even get her tested, the school has let the entire year slip away. She is the youngest one in her class, but is bright and has no behavior problems. I am now paying for the extra help she needs at a local learning center. I am not happy with Canyon Breeze and will switch her before she starts fourth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

We got a new principle this year. He came out strong, but has pittered out. Overall the school is O.K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

my son is in 6th grade and they have all new teachers, they are great and they work together for the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I have had children at this school since 2002. Class size, lack of discipline, and teacher turnover rate were the reasons I finally transferred my children to another school for the 2008 school year. At one point, there were 36 children and 4 different teachers in my daughter's 6th grade class and 32 students in my 1st grader's class - unmanageable for even the most gifted teacher. I know that a new principle took over this year....I wish him luck in repairing the damage done over the last few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My daughter has attended Canyon Breeze since it was built. Initially, the school had teachers who motivated the children and who were interested in teaching. However, during my daughters 4th grade year up until this year (7th grade), I have seen a decline in those two areas. Teachers have come and gone, there is a lot of turnover in this school. The number of substitutes seem to have an impact on the student's learning (as each sub teaches differently). My daughter complains almost on a daily basis of the lack of motivation her Science teacher is giving. He leaves her with an impression that he doesn't want to teach. It's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I have 2 children that have actually started when the school first opened. The staff and teachers have always been excellent with the kids and excelling in learning seems to be a very important priority. They are very willing to work with each child to make sure they exceed in all they can. I will miss the teachers and staff since my last child will be promoting this year. I do have the joy of seeing other family members send their kids there because of all that the teachers and staff do for the students. Keep up the awesome work Canyon Breeze!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

Before my daughter started kindergarden, I researched quite a bit on which school I wanted my daughter to attend. I am very pleased with canyon breeze and most of the staff here. Mr Ramsey is an excellent principal and is very involved with the students and the parents. (the parents that care about education anyway) He always took time with me about anything I was concerned with, and he did it with a smile. Mrs Miller was her kindergarden teacher. She was the best teacher ever! Very patient with the kids, and parents as well. I was a helper once a week and saw this first hand. My daughter learned so much from her, and she made it fun for the kids. My only problem was the nurses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

Excellent & amazing teachers, for the most part. Teachers willing to support students and parents to see children succeed. Kids At Hope school. Good leadership. Some extracurricular activities available, but limited. On a sad note, there is not much parent involvement. The few that are involved are committed & welcome other parents who want to be involved. One other draw back is large class sizes, but that is something the district needs to work on changing. Hopefully we'll see a change. Custodial staff keeps the school grounds looking great. I have children that attend this school and would recommend this school to my family, friends and neighbors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Mr Ramsey (the new principal) has made a huge difference as far as I can tell. My daughter is in a combined first/second grade class taught by Ms. Hildalgo... I can't say enough good things about the way her class is run. She has complete control, respect and anticipation from the kids at all times. Parents in this class are made aware of all that is going on on a weekly basis via a newsletter. This helps us parents that can't volunteer in the classroom know what our children are doing and what is expected. The music, art and PE on a consistent basis is great too! So far - so good!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Administration is truly trying to turn this school around thanks to a new principal and vice principal. My kids have attended Canyon Breeze for 5 years now and I see more improvement this year than ever. Discipline issues are being taken care of, positive reinforcement is becoming routine, and great teachers are all making it work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 43%
White 28% 42%
Black 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (623) 478-9912

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11675 W. Encanto Blvd
Avondale, AZ 85323
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 772-2215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT