Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corte Sierra Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

We sent two children to Corte Sierra for a total of 10 years. One of our kids had physical disabilities, the other one had learning difficulties. Both of our children received an excellent education, and were treated wonderfully. Mr. Barnes and his staff were always willing to meet and discuss our kids' special needs. It helped that we were able to respect their expertise and experience in devising special education programs. Some parents on here may think that they always know best, and they won't listen to someone with a different opinion. We did not always agree with the school district, but we were always able to work together for the best interest of our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2014

Our son is starting his third year at Corte Sierra and we have had nothing but positive experiences. We emphasize the importance of education and stress hard work to achieve your goals and these are supported by the school. We live out of district and choose to drive a good distance each day to provide this positive learning experience for him. There is nothing more important than his education and it takes cooperation and team work between the school, parents and students for success to occur. The learning environment is very important and that starts with strong leadership. The principal is organized, innovative and cares about his students and staff. He works well with his staff and hires educators who are postive, encouraging and work hard to provide a safe and positive learning environment. The school has high standards and expectations for academics and behavior and holds students and parents accountable. Our son enjoys school, respects his teachers and feels safe. It takes more than good programs to make an excellent school, it takes a caring staff. That is why Corte Sierra has been recognized twice as an A+ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

Not happy. My child went to a charter school K-3rd grade. She received a great education there but the director was abusive to the students and staff so I put her in Corte. She really likes it but unfortunately 4th grade was a waste because she didn't learn anything. There were at least five extremely disruptive kids in her class, her teacher was out of the classroom preparing herself for her new position for the next school year and I rarely received any class work, tests or anything in her take home folder. There are a lot of students who are disrespectful and use foul language. This school is more interested in their image than anything else. If things are the same in 5th this year, we'll be leaving Corte. It's a shame the school you pay taxes for is incompetent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

My daughter went to this school from K-5. The kinder teacher is amazing!! Miss Paulson is one of the best!! The school also have other amazing teachers as well. As far as the principal goes though he needs to retire!!! Over the years, I have to say that he has never shown up for any of the events that show that he supports the school. It's like it's a 8 to 3 job to him and then he is finished. see . He likes to be in control and it shows. In my son's new school the principal is very involved and even walks the kids across the cross walk when the crossing guard is out.. You would nevner see Mr. Barnes do that. If your child starts to have disicpline problems. He rather ship them out to a new school then to figure out why there is a problem with behavior. If you want a a principal that cares about his school and your child then this is not the school. Don't believe the hype!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

As the parent of a special needs child, I am completely qualified to speak about the treatment of my special needs child by Mr. Barnes and others at Corte Sierra. Corte Sierra is NOT capable of providing an adequate education for special needs children. My son must repeat both kindergarten and first grade. Mr. Barnes and his staff fought with me tooth and nail, they refused to provide adequate support for my child. If you have a special needs child DO NOT send your child to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

My daughter attended here - 2nd - 5th grade. We really liked the school and most teachers. I don't agree with the reviews about Mr. Barnes. Some parents think they know everything...they don't. I do wish the school took actual field trip and did something special for 5th graders. PTSA raises a lot of money and is very active - but students would benefit from getting OFF the school grounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

Corte Sierra is an A++ school and is fantastic. You won't be disappointed in the quality of teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

Corte is AWESOME! My oldest went there from K-5 and I have 3 other children that currently attend. Mr. Barnes is AMAZING with the staff and with parents. Corte is so amazing that we have over 100 children attending on variances! That speaks volumes to me. There is NO BETTER school in the West Valley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL. Mr. Barnes is incompetent, arrogant, hostile and combative. He does not care about your child, especially those with special needs. He was advised (by a school psychologist) that my child needed a new teacher and refused the class transfer. Mr. Barnes is a liability to the district and a disgrace to the teaching profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Don't believe the hype. This school might have an A+ rating but all they're teaching is how to be great test takers. The school lacks leadership and Mr. Barnes (the principal) doesn't repond to suggestions to improve the school. Very disappointed; glad my children are no longer there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

I ove the school it my child . The teachers and staff are very good.


Posted May 27, 2012

I did have some communications issues but were resolved quickly. My daughter had a variance for 2011-2012 (2nd Grade) and is going back this new year. Ms. Landon, a first year teacher, is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

All of my children have attended Corte Sierra and we love it. They just started Rosetta Stone and are teaching the kids Mandarin. The PTA is awesome and it is a A + school. !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

I was VERY disappointed with this school. Mind you, I brought my kids over from Alhambra Traditional School knowing it wouldn't compare, but I didn't expect such poor communication from the teachers and such a bad attitude from the principal. I went in to speak with the principal about trying to get some input about HOW to get my children to succeed at this school, since the teachers would not keep me informed about anything....his response was to take my kids back to their old school. My oldest son I am doing just that....my younger son will be going to Palm Valley, where I hear it is much better as far as parent/teacher involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

I had three children that attended this school (one from 1st grade to 5th grade) and you will not find a better public school than this. Unfortunately I had to move and my youngest will no longer be able to attend. He was in Mrs. Booras kindergarten class and she superb! 100% dedicated to her class in every way possible. There were so many activities and class celebrations throughout the year and the parents were very involved in making each one a success. Corte has serious school spirit and professional staff and principal. My kids thrived at this school. I did however have some issues with my son's 5th grade teacher but those issues were quickly handled by the principal. Compared to most schools in the Phoenix area, the school is racially diverse. I would highly recommend Corte Sierra. Woohaa Falcons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I would highly recommend Corte Sierra!! I currently have a 3rd grade daughter and she has academically grown so much over the last few months. The teachers are wonderful as well as the principal. Everyone keeps you very well informed and as a parent you can become as active as you'd like in your child's education. Technology and Reading are a huge part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

I am a teacher at Corte and I love the school. I have worked at other school districts but nothing compairs to the wonderful staff at Corte. Mr. Barnes is an awesome principal, PTSA is evnvoled in many activities, and I have the best parents. I give it a thumbs up!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2008

Would highly recommend Corte Sierra to all families! The environment is very welcoming and the staff truly cares about your sons/daughters academic, social and emotional needs. The principal is highly involved and stives each day to make everything run smoothly. The children are part of a huge family when they enter the Corte doors!


Posted December 30, 2007

Corte is an amazing school. I taught there the first two years it was opened, and it keeps getting better. Go Falcons-keep up the great work!


Posted August 6, 2007

I like the school, i think that parents should have a little more involvement, but the teachers and assistants are great about giving information about your childs progress!! The open door policy of the teachers works great for parents that want to know whats going on!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 43%
White 40% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 935-2108

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 N. Sante Fe Trail
Avondale, AZ 85323
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 535-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity Lutheran School
Litchfield Park, AZ





Litchfield Elementary School
Litchfield Park, AZ


St. Peter's Montessori School
Litchfield Park, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT