Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corte Sierra Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 869 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

Corte is AWESOME! My oldest went there from K-5 and I have 3 other children that currently attend. Mr. Barnes is AMAZING with the staff and with parents. Corte is so amazing that we have over 100 children attending on variances! That speaks volumes to me. There is NO BETTER school in the West Valley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL. Mr. Barnes is incompetent, arrogant, hostile and combative. He does not care about your child, especially those with special needs. He was advised (by a school psychologist) that my child needed a new teacher and refused the class transfer. Mr. Barnes is a liability to the district and a disgrace to the teaching profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Don't believe the hype. This school might have an A+ rating but all they're teaching is how to be great test takers. The school lacks leadership and Mr. Barnes (the principal) doesn't repond to suggestions to improve the school. Very disappointed; glad my children are no longer there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

I ove the school it my child . The teachers and staff are very good.


Posted May 27, 2012

I did have some communications issues but were resolved quickly. My daughter had a variance for 2011-2012 (2nd Grade) and is going back this new year. Ms. Landon, a first year teacher, is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

All of my children have attended Corte Sierra and we love it. They just started Rosetta Stone and are teaching the kids Mandarin. The PTA is awesome and it is a A + school. !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

I was VERY disappointed with this school. Mind you, I brought my kids over from Alhambra Traditional School knowing it wouldn't compare, but I didn't expect such poor communication from the teachers and such a bad attitude from the principal. I went in to speak with the principal about trying to get some input about HOW to get my children to succeed at this school, since the teachers would not keep me informed about anything....his response was to take my kids back to their old school. My oldest son I am doing just that....my younger son will be going to Palm Valley, where I hear it is much better as far as parent/teacher involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

I had three children that attended this school (one from 1st grade to 5th grade) and you will not find a better public school than this. Unfortunately I had to move and my youngest will no longer be able to attend. He was in Mrs. Booras kindergarten class and she superb! 100% dedicated to her class in every way possible. There were so many activities and class celebrations throughout the year and the parents were very involved in making each one a success. Corte has serious school spirit and professional staff and principal. My kids thrived at this school. I did however have some issues with my son's 5th grade teacher but those issues were quickly handled by the principal. Compared to most schools in the Phoenix area, the school is racially diverse. I would highly recommend Corte Sierra. Woohaa Falcons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I would highly recommend Corte Sierra!! I currently have a 3rd grade daughter and she has academically grown so much over the last few months. The teachers are wonderful as well as the principal. Everyone keeps you very well informed and as a parent you can become as active as you'd like in your child's education. Technology and Reading are a huge part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

I am a teacher at Corte and I love the school. I have worked at other school districts but nothing compairs to the wonderful staff at Corte. Mr. Barnes is an awesome principal, PTSA is evnvoled in many activities, and I have the best parents. I give it a thumbs up!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2008

Would highly recommend Corte Sierra to all families! The environment is very welcoming and the staff truly cares about your sons/daughters academic, social and emotional needs. The principal is highly involved and stives each day to make everything run smoothly. The children are part of a huge family when they enter the Corte doors!


Posted December 30, 2007

Corte is an amazing school. I taught there the first two years it was opened, and it keeps getting better. Go Falcons-keep up the great work!


Posted August 6, 2007

I like the school, i think that parents should have a little more involvement, but the teachers and assistants are great about giving information about your childs progress!! The open door policy of the teachers works great for parents that want to know whats going on!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

The reason for such a low score is due to the over crowding of this school. Almost 900 students is way to many. Not really great for the young ones. They need lots of one on one. I feel sorry for the teachers, they do their best but with that kind of crowd children have fallen behind. The office staff could be a little more helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

I have had two children at Corte. Academically they are excelling, as they are socially. The character counts attitude has developed across the campus. Mr. Barnes and the other faculty members will have this an A+ school in no time. Standards are high, but kids always rise to expectations. I like the way technology is added into the learning process. My 4th grader shows me how to do powerpoint. I'm one of these people that believe the key to everything else is reading. I think the school is on the right tract in developing new ways for kids to read at higher levels while enjoying it at the same time. My one complaint is there doesn't seem to be enough history and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

My son attended Corte Sierra Elementary School from grades 3 to 5. His teachers were always very helpful and were always available to discuss any areas in which he needed assistance. The adminstrators constantly promoted school/team spirit with rallys and family/student activity events. I was very pleased in all aspects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

My son is in Kindergarten and I am very impressed with his teacher. She is very caring and involved with her class. I have been volunteering for his classroom and there is some parent involvement.With the working parent atmosphere today it is difficult for lots of parents. No field trips scheduled yet but with only half a day to to work with it is very limiting. Excellent communication from his teacher Mrs Marcos she does an outstanding job of letting each parent know what is happening in the classroom and how the child is progressing. My only concern is the parking lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

I think they should make more available classes for pre-K and kindegarten. Parking needs some serious adjusting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

So far I liked this school, The staff have been friendly and helpful. When i went to register her for kindergarten they made it very easy to do. I am impressed so far and i heard great things about the kindergarten teacher ms. paulson so that helps as a parent to know that. Kelly Gibson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

School is not good at all. PTSA is a joke it is a puppet of the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 42%
Hispanic 40% 42%
Black 11% 5%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 935-2108

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 N. Sante Fe Trail
Avondale, AZ 85323
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 547-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity Lutheran School
Litchfield Park, AZ





Litchfield Elementary School
Litchfield Park, AZ


St. Peter's Montessori School
Litchfield Park, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT