Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Quentin Elementary School

Public | K-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2012

It's true that the expectations for both teachers and students are higher than ever, but the students are producing and their scores prove it! This school has come a long way since I started here over 5 years ago. Administration cares very much about the staff and students. The students here at Quentin are the best!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2012

I am and have had 4 children attend this school and have seen changes of many sorts. If I may say so the current Principal MS. Couret is trying to improve the school and enviroment so that the final outcome may be that of a pleasant experience. Yes I have read some of the comments that other parents have as issues and concerns, & to some extent I agree it may come accross as very Zero tolerant but to some degree the children are there to learn ALTHOUGH enjoy the time they are there as well. With that we need to be involved as parents to make a difference and voice our concerns so that the principal has an idea in which direction the schools needs to go in. I for one am really pressed for time but I am welcomed for even 15 minutes of my presence in anything I can help. I am expecting to see some positive growth moving forward, as my hope is to make it a fun, pleasant learing enviroment my children are at.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

teachers are often moved around. attendance is a complete mess. pickup and drop off is not consistent. teacher or staff does not care enough to stay with kids who are lost and don't know what to do. Too many adults around that are not really doing anything. Kindergarten is not well structured. This school is the first that I've seen for being so unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

My kids are very happy at Quentin. I have read the comments on this site, and I want to contribute to the positive remarks. The administrators are very friendly and quick to help parents. They have the best office staf, who are always friendly and smiling. Yes, they have improved in many areas since the school opened. There is a lot of communication that goes home, including phone messages with reminders. They have sports that my kids participate in. I am very happy with my students attending Quentin, and hope that everyone has the same experience that my family is having.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

Quentin is rate as NON-PERFORMING High teacher turnover I think the other schools in the district all made it past this label according to the paper.


Posted July 13, 2010

I want to comment on the review in April regarding the principal, I am a former teacher and know first hand that the comment about communciation is not true. This principal is dedicated and well liked by her staff. An insider would really know the truth.


Posted May 19, 2010

My 2 children have attended for the past two years. My children have been blessed with high quality teachers. They had previously attended a charter school that will remain nameless. I was nervous about the transition but this year Quentin was 1 student away from being performing plus. I am confident that under the current leadership at the school level and district level Quentin will become excelling. Dr. Freeman, Superintendent, and his executive team have been very hands on with making all of the schools in the district following a consistent curriculum and citizenship program with Make Your Day. I could go on forever about all the positive changes I have seen in this short amount of time. I invite you to experience it for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

The teachers are great but the leadership of Ms Pacheco the schools principal needs major work. She is unprofessional and does not communicate well with parents. However the assistant principal and the other administrative staff are wonderful which may offset their leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

It is a safe environment and everyone is eager to learn in their own unique way!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2010

My daughter was been attending this school since it opened 6school years ago. My son is in Kindergarten. I have seen this school go through many growing pains. Since Mrs. Pacheco became the school Principal this school has improved tremendously. The office staff are always helpful and welcome you with a smile. Ms. Hanson, Ms Wawryzk, Mr Parisot and the entire 6th grade team deserve to be recognized as outstanding teachers. Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

I am a parent of 3 boys who attended Quentin, and just moved out of the district. Two of my boys excel easily and are above grade level, but my oldest boy has a harder time. He was blessed with Mr. Parisot as a 4th grade teacher. Surprised by his bad progress report, I met with his teacher & we devised a plan to bring his grades up. He went from a low 70% overall the first quarter, to almost making the honor roll the next! He made it fun for his students to learn, and was always available. His 5th grade teacher Mrs. Petkus worked extremely hard with him as well, and he acheived the honor roll by the end of the year! I think parent involvement helps to determine a childs success not just the teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

My two boys are new to Avondale this year and I think this school needs to be better staffed. This school has 1000 students attending. So there needs to be more teachers. I receive lots of communication from staff and teachers. Overall I forsee no big problems in the near future. This school seems to have improved since opening and I think things will continue this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

My daughter was in the 2nd grade at Quentin and had a great teacher Mrs. Cevantes,But the staff was not so great when my daughter got her bike stolen in the schools bike rack the staff didnt do anything about it no letter to the students nothing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

I think the teachers are doing a great job! The principle and vice principle could do much better. They say bulling is not a big issue at the school then why did I have to take my kids out, instead of them dealing with the problem child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

It appears the school has improved significantly since it opened a few years ago. I am receiving much better communication from the school and classroom teachers. More activities are being offered after school. However, the school is still very short handed! This school, with 1,000 students, needs more than one art and one music teacher. It also needs to remodel the cafeteria serving line. My child eats 'lunch' at 10:15 and will now be getting out at 3:15. I am concerned about this schedule but understand that the cafeteria needs to start this early in order to serve all students. I think this school will continue to improve becuase it has a lot of hard-working teachers. Unfortunately, there are only two or three parents attending the PTA meetings. The school hosted 7 or 8 family events this year, yet very few parents helped out. We all need to get on board!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

Teachers and staff do not care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Very understaffed. Teachers have a difficult time teaching English speaking students because they are spending most of their time working with the students that speak only Spanish or limited English in order to get them up to the No Child Left Behind orders. No recess because it was not used properly by former years instructors so now they have had that privilege removed for 4th grade and up. I believe these kids need to have the opportunity to expend energy throughout the day still at this age. They do not control the language and name calling that is done to other students and because they are so understaffed when a student does have a problem the most common answer is 'well, I didn't hear it, tell him to knock it off' Not the best school, yet, not the worst either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

This is a new school and was happy to see in the neighborhood however, am very unhappy that the school seems to have horrible communication and not as many programs that other schools have available and the ones they do have seem not as challenging. There seems not to be enough teachers and too many kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

My son went to quentin for a couple of month were i saw he's academic level, drop, since he need it special ed, and was not been challenge enough, i try to talk to several sources to request his especial education EIP to be evaluated with out result, i understand that some of the problem couldn't be fix with in the school, but i felt that i was not given enough information o direction in how to channel my request i finally change my son to a charter school where he's doing extremley well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

I feel that Quentin has a communication problem. When a child is failing, the parent should be notified & not just notified when the report cards are sent home. If a child is absent for whatever reason the parent should be notified as well. Overall I think some of the teachers, just don't care enough. Just because of a learning or behavorial disability, it is not okay to tell a child to settle for average, you don't need to strive for better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 77% 43%
White 10% 42%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 478-6020

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11050 W. Whyman Avenue
Avondale, AZ 85323
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 478-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT