Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
313 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Thomas Aquinas Grade School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers at STA have advanced degrees and could make much more in a public school setting. Each of the staff have made a commitment and sacrifice to teach at this great school.

St Thomas Aquinas Grade School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Yes, the students that attend STA are very well prepared for the rigors of High School. It develops tremendous persistence and determination in a compassionate setting.


St Thomas Aquinas Grade School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
This is very evident. The children start each day by reciting the all school rules: “RESPECT yourself, others and things, contribute to the learning environment and follow all school and classroom procedures.” (I am a parent and know this by heart…)

St Thomas Aquinas Grade School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
The children care for each other and this is modeled by the outstanding teachers, administrators and parish staff at STA.

St Thomas Aquinas Grade School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
This is seen in the children of STA and evident in the stated Schoolwide Learning Expectations: “A St. Thomas Aquinas Student Is A Self-Disciplined Learner, Total Person, Active Catholic, Goal-Oriented Student and Successful Communicator."


St Thomas Aquinas Grade School 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
St. Thomas Aquinas is an outstanding school with excellent teachers and administration. Almost all of the teachers have advanced degrees and genuinely care for their students. I have 2 children that have attended pre-kindergarten all the way to 8th grade and two children getting close to graduation. STA does a great job preparing a child educationally, spiritually and emotionally for high school. Keep up the great work STA!

St Thomas Aquinas Grade School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a community member
I went to St. Thomas Aquinas from kindergarten all the way to 8th grade, and I can tell you right now that I had an absolutely incredible and one-of-a-kind experience. The teaching staff is ridiculously amazing - I learned so much in every subject and was so well-prepared for high school that I started off my freshman year taking all honors and Advanced Placement courses. Throughout my nine years at St. Thomas, I was blessed with the constant encouragement and positive reinforcement provided by my teachers every year. They always pushed me to be the best that I could be. I formed close relationships with every teacher, particularly my junior high instructors. The class sizes are small, and it was always so comforting to know that, to your teachers, you are not just another familiar face, but rather someone that they know intimately and well enough that I literally could turn to them for anything at all. I was provided with such an incredible academic, spiritual, and moral foundation that I honestly do not think that any other school could match.

St Thomas Aquinas Grade School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
I have found the academic load to be a bit rigorous, but the results, fantastic!


St Thomas Aquinas Grade School 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
I have been in Arizona for 4 years. It took 3.5 yrs to find a school which offered quality education, reasonable classroom sizes (24 students on average), educators who are teachers - not just doing their job. We have 2 children in school currently - 5th and 1st. They are doing well and my husband and I are extremely happy with the eduction. My 5th graders has some holes in his learning so this school has taken the time to assess him, identify those areas and develop a plan with us to work on those areas. His progress is noticeable. This school is definitely taking the time to identify problem areas for children and working on them. If you are looking for a great school - this is it!

St Thomas Aquinas Grade School 3

Posted March 03, 2012
- a parent
Maybe a notch below average here or there. Students get basics but do not have access to art or music room or labs. Some classrooms have older computers that may limit media options. Integration of technology into learning is limited. Additional programming is all pay to play. You pay for premium but get basic. Teachers are fundamentally strong and caring;many go above and beyond.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Thomas Aquinas Grade School
13720 West Thomas Road, Avondale, AZ  85392
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (623) 935-0945
Last modified St Thomas Aquinas Grade School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top