Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Thomas Aquinas Grade School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Avondale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

I have found the academic load to be a bit rigorous, but the results, fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I have been in Arizona for 4 years. It took 3.5 yrs to find a school which offered quality education, reasonable classroom sizes (24 students on average), educators who are teachers - not just doing their job. We have 2 children in school currently - 5th and 1st. They are doing well and my husband and I are extremely happy with the eduction. My 5th graders has some holes in his learning so this school has taken the time to assess him, identify those areas and develop a plan with us to work on those areas. His progress is noticeable. This school is definitely taking the time to identify problem areas for children and working on them. If you are looking for a great school - this is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

Maybe a notch below average here or there. Students get basics but do not have access to art or music room or labs. Some classrooms have older computers that may limit media options. Integration of technology into learning is limited. Additional programming is all pay to play. You pay for premium but get basic. Teachers are fundamentally strong and caring;many go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

This school is average on every account. Nothing out of the ordinary. That is about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

STA is a warm, loving environment, and we are honored and priviledged to have the opportunity to send our children to this school. Excellent teachers from PK-8, working together to provide a safe, nurturing, spiritual, and challenging academic programs. The parents are actively involved in the school, and our active in the church as well. The children in the school are held to high expectations, and the result is polite, engaging students at all levels. We could not be happier to be a part of this wonderful school and church community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

The academics are good, but they are very traditional, inflexible and rigid in thinking and practice. If you're child fits the Catholic school kid mold, and apparently there is such a mold, then this is the place to spend your hard earned money. And keep in mind that the more you contribute financially to the school and parish, the better your experience will be. The teachers and administration have proved untrustworthy and deceiving. It is always clear that there is another agenda. Communication is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

We cannot be more pleased with our school. The principal has this marvelous combination of fun and high expectations! We truly believe that our children are receiving a top-notch education and will be prepared for their high school years. Grades K-8 have experienced teachers with clear expectations. Grades 6-8 have exceptional, professional educators. We love that our children attend a small school where parents are involved and families know each other well! Even our office staff is outstanding...friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

I will forever sing STA's praises to any and all interested parties. Our son is now in first grade and loving every minute of it. Last year his kindegarden teacher was able to uncover his academic strengths and defecits with pin-point accuracy. While the outside tutoring meant more out of pocket my partner and I have geater peace of mind knowing where our child is and what the pre secondary school years will be like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

STA has been a great experience for our children and family. We currently have a child in the 1st grade class and can not be more pleased with the education to this point. The Kindergarten teacher has done a wonderful job preparing these children for the 1st grade. It's truly amazing how children can blossom personally and educationally during each year with the nurturing teaching professionals that this school has at every grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

2009 is a new year and we can't say enough good things about STA. Last year was a frustrating waste of time and money. This year our child is reading, thriving and happy. The 1st grade teacher is amazing! The perfect example of a committed, quality teacher. Her extensive early education background is obvious. STA has many more just like her as the children move up through 8th grade. New homework club, expanding athletics and excellent student govt are the icing on the cake. One suggestion would be that STA make sure that the teacher quality and expectations remain constant from grade to grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

We absolutely love STA! The staff and teachers are highly motivated and always go the extra mile for the kids. We have been here a few years and and any time we have had a concern, it was addressed. The education is well above average and the reinforcing of our Catholic faith is tremendous. As with anything, you get out of it what you put into it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

STA is a great school and will prepare your children for success in high school. The early education teachers are awesome and really care for their students. My child began first grade well prepared and ready to build upon the foundation set in preschool and kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

I have to say that Sister Fran is an excellent 1st grade teacher. What a huge positive change this year. I can't believe how well my child is reading and we just finished the first month of school. The children are making great progress. I am so looking forward to seeing how much the children grow in education and in faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

If you are looking for warm and fuzzy go elsewhere. The administration is very poor at St. Thomas- evident that children are not the priority here. Although the community and parents are great it is not always the best interest of your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Our family has been at St Thomas since the doors opened. There are growing pains here and some very poor decisions being made to satisfy a few . This is true in every new school as it expands. However, 99.9% of our parents do not expect special treatment for themselves or their child. 100% of teachers/staff make themselves available to families at any time for any reason. 100% of fundraising and monetary expectations are spelled out upon registration. The majority of parents work hard daily, on and off campus, to fundraise, volunteer and support this community. There are countless opportunities to help out. 100% of many fundraisers go right back into the classroom. Our front office ladies, support staff and teachers are concerned, caring and superior to other schools. Sadly, I agree, it is going to be a long road to building completion. In the mean time, we will continue to give 110%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

My child has been with STA for 3 years and we are very pleased in his performance and education. All cots are posted and readily available for anyone with questions. Discounted The tuition is discounted for active members and further discounted by scholarships and fund availablity (which all families have received). In the three years that I have been with the school, there are few who ever leave. I would also like to address the posting on 3-14-09. My child is the one this posting addresses. He has many allergies, the most severe is a peanut allergy. I find myself very blessed to be surrounded by such a loving community. The classroom structure was not changed, just a simple request to keep the Classroom a peanut free room, as in the previous years. Sincerely, A most grateful parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

We are so pleased with our experience at this school. We have found that all of the teachers to be friendly and caring no matter who you are. This hasn't been our experience at other schools. We would choose STA again and again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

We have been a St. Thomas Aquinas family for three years and have nothing but wonderful things to say about the pre-k and kindergarten teachers. They are lovely women who care deeply about each individual student. They are hard working and available to address any concerns that parents may have. Although we have not yet worked with any other teachers at STA we are looking forward to first grade and beyond. We are blessed to be able to call St. Thomas Aquinas our family's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

The mission and goal of St. Thomas Aquinas Grade School and its' community is salvation. This is the school's most important purpose and I believe that teachers, staff, and most parents are committed to this. This school is always trying to improve itself. No school or situation is ever perfect, but I have witnessed nothing but dedication and professionalism from the teachers. Several times I have passed the parking lot and have seen the teachers' cars parked early in the morning and late into the evening. Not only are the students given challenging curriculum, but they are all encouraged to be self-disciplined Catholics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

This young school has improved each of the past five years. Our children are learning how to be confident public speakers while understanding the importance of community involvement and spiritual growth. The school wide test scores have improved year after year and so has the staff. The Pre-K, Kinder and First Grade teaches are wonderful, special people who know how to connect with their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 25% 39%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Phoenix
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13720 W Thomas Rd
Avondale, AZ 85392
Phone: (623) 935-0945

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trinity Lutheran School
Litchfield Park, AZ


St. Peter's Montessori School
Litchfield Park, AZ


Litchfield Elementary School
Litchfield Park, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT