Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Traditional School-Avondale

Charter | K-8 | 485 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Avondale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $92,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

This is an accelerated school and my son did great in the beginning, but has recently had difficulty keeping up. That being said, the school has been wonderful in helping him. They have offered tutoring (we accepted) and made accommodations giving him more time to take tests and homework even though they didn't have to so that he would no longer be frustrated. I also began working with him at home taking time to sit with him while he does his homework (which is time consuming as a full-time working mom, but worth it). His grades are now improving and his teacher and I are both certain that his improvement will continue. I feel like this school is making him better prepared for life beyond K-8. At his old school, the work was a lot easier and I was afraid that would leave him behind when it came to high school and beyond. Plus, this school expects me (the parent) to be a partner in his education, which I love. They give me ways to stay informed and to volunteer. I also love the focus on being good citizens and treating others fairly. He was having problems with another student and the teacher and Vice Principal helped to resolve the situation very quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

This is good school if you want your child to be totally overwhelmed and struggle to ever keep up. Challenging is good, but it goes beyond that! It is very apparent that the teachers themselves can;t even keep up! It is about the numbers....and if your child struggles, they are told if they can't keep up...then they are in the wrong school. Wow great way to help them!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

I love this school, it the best in the west.. The staff at Legacy Traditional School is Great...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Legacy Traditional is a school that challenges students on a daily basis. They have an accelerated program and it requires the child to be motivated to learn. I have 6th and 8th grade students and the work is challenging for them. But I am definitely an involved parent and try to support their work on a daily basis. Yes, it's difficult to get dinner on the table and help with homework but the goal is a solid foundation in the basics. On the basis that college has become a privilege instead of a right, this school gives my children the best foundation to move onto high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

I would NEVER recommend Legacy Traditional to anyone. They are all about their numbers and if your child's academics isn't to what they feel is at their level they will push them out of there. I have never been so humilated by anyone. They compared my child's work to another child's work, very un-ethical and un-professional. They will try and sell you on the smaller classes so you child will have more one on one with the teacher, so not true. If they want kids to be at a first grade level when coming into kindergarten they should test the kids before having them start their school, instead of having a child hate school because of the insane stuff they want these 5 year olds to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My daughter and I love the school, the staff and most of all the teachers. Very well rounded school that has a safe and happy environment. We have been here since this campus opened (third year) and would recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My daughter was in 4th grade with Mrs. Atkins last year and my son was in kindergarten with MRs. Newton. They are great, knowledgeable, awesome, very nice teachers. I love both of them. My kids were fresh from the Philippines last year and I thought they would have a hard time adjusting. I owe a lot to both these teachers because they have been very supportive of my kids and they have guided them to become excellent students in their respective grades. Both of them were constantly in the honor roll/principals pride and they couldn't have done it without supportive teachers and the help of the parents as well. There is constant communication with the teachers via email and online with the parent portal and you are informed of your kids status in school all the time. I love all the opportunities given to the kids to learn. The only thing I was not so much excited about are the tons of homework daily except friday and book report and poem recitations every grading period . However, the postiive side to that is that my kids were exposed to a lot of math problems and a lot of reading and I appreciate that part. I have most definitely recommended this school to a lot of my friends. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

I had a 2nd grader for the 2012-2013 school year at Legacy. I LOVE this school. When me daughter was in the 1st grade she attended public school in the Glendale School District. She got into a lot of trouble because the curriculum wasn't challenging enough for her, she was to advance. I had no problems with her behavioral last year. Legacy gave her a challenge in every subject. She even said out of her mouth that she had no time at Legacy to be bored. Her teacher was the GREATEST. To me it seem the teachers care alot more about their students. The students are taught math and reading a level above their current grade. I really don't know what else to say but my daughter will attend Legacy for the 2013-2014 school year. I'm very happy I decided to enroll my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

I had a 2nd and 4th grader at Legacy this year. My husband and I absolutely love the level of rigor and attention that our girls received. Their teachers were warm, loving and extremely professional. I received several emails each week with classroom updates and opportunities to get involved on campus. Since we started bringing the girls here, nearly all of my closest friends have enrolled their children because they saw how happy we are. Thanks Legacy!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

My kids started 5 and 7 grade last year at this school. It was much more challenging than public school, but both are accelling very well. They are now in 5 and 8 grades, and the 8 grader was accepted to University High. We know he will be fully prepared. My only complaint is that our 5 year old was supposed to go there for kindergaten, and after submitting the enrollment papers, we suddenly received an email that we had to find another school because they cancelled early kinder testing. It left us scrambling to find him another school, with the nearest being 8 miles away. He will attend 1 grade next year here, so I hope he transitions smoothly. Other than that, the school is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

This is our first year at this school, and I can't compare to any other as my daughter is only in Kindergarten. Since starting school at Legacy, my once quiet, shy, and soft spoken child has grown to be outgoing, and loud. She's learned so much this year, and loves how fast the curriculum is. Everyday she comes home happy. Her teacher is beyond wonderful and whenever I have a question, I can shoot her an email and get a reply by the end of the day. The school requires each family to volunteer 12 hours a year, which is not unreasonable at all. I love the staff here, and the overall atmosphere. Would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12320 W Van Buren St
Avondale, AZ 85323
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lattie Coor
Avondale, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT