Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Legacy Traditional School-Avondale 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
I had a 2nd grader for the 2012-2013 school year at Legacy. I LOVE this school. When me daughter was in the 1st grade she attended public school in the Glendale School District. She got into a lot of trouble because the curriculum wasn't challenging enough for her, she was to advance. I had no problems with her behavioral last year. Legacy gave her a challenge in every subject. She even said out of her mouth that she had no time at Legacy to be bored. Her teacher was the GREATEST. To me it seem the teachers care alot more about their students. The students are taught math and reading a level above their current grade. I really don't know what else to say but my daughter will attend Legacy for the 2013-2014 school year. I'm very happy I decided to enroll my child in this school.

Legacy Traditional School-Avondale
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Everyone had been helpful. I just want to say thank you to them all. Thank you!


Legacy Traditional School-Avondale
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Never had a problem with them and everyone of them that was my child's teacher had a degree in education

Legacy Traditional School-Avondale
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
It only takes my child maybe 1 hour a day to do homework. What else do your child have to do for 1 hour.

Legacy Traditional School-Avondale 1

Posted September 02, 2015
- a community member
I was very disappointed in this school. The class sizes are huge, over 30 students to one teacher, with very little supervision. Kids are given so much homework without instruction, students are left on their own to figure it out. They ask for parent involvement, only so they can keep a limited staff and not pay for additional help. With the amount of money they are making with an over crowded school they should have plenty of funds. They are so concerned about adding and paying for new buildings little is left to really address kids needs. They are not aware of no child left behind. If you child requires any special attention they would prefer the child not attend their school. If you child is doing well it is because of the parent teaching not the teacher. And most teachers at this school can not teach at a public school because they don't have the credentials to do so. Just ask.


Legacy Traditional School-Avondale
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Not enough of the correct type of homework. The teachers lecture and the parents do the actual teaching.

Legacy Traditional School-Avondale
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Of course without grit how could these kids survive the mental demands and severe culture shock.

Legacy Traditional School-Avondale 1

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The whole thing is a farce! They bring your kid into an overcrowded classroom with a student to teacher ratio of 30/1. The teachers act like they are college professors standing on their soapboxes and lecturing to the kids, yes even the little kids. Then they demand behavioral perfection and have zero tolerance of any child-like behavior. It starts with taking away recess time and progresses to expulsion. The child is expected to sink or swim in the overly aggressive curriculum and all the while the school is hoping and planning for your child to fail. Why you ask? Because it is in their corporate charter to secure a certain percentage of government funding for the tutoring of all the failing students under the Title 1/No child left behind act. Yes just attend the schools curriculum night and they will tell you all about how the school teaches specifically to the top of the class but don't fret.. good old title 1 is waiting in the wings to prop up your failing children! In short the only thing this school has to offer is the safety from the gang banger mentality among the students. In this school you don't have to fear your child being picked on by the other kids, no they are too concerned with being targeted by the teachers and the principal...


Legacy Traditional School-Avondale
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Yes, it's respect the staff or pay the consequences. The kids dare not be respectful.

Legacy Traditional School-Avondale
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Plain and simple, it's all a numbers game. They could care less if your kid is failing. They take NO responsibility for the child's failure but are quick to accept all the credit when they succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Legacy Traditional School-Avondale
12320 W Van Buren St, Avondale, AZ  85323
(623) 344-0330
Last modified Legacy Traditional School-Avondale is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Legacy Traditional School-Avondale Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top