Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garden Lakes Elementary School 1

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Hope the new Principal improves the situation. She has made a few changes with pick up and drop offs but I don't think the teachers who conduct this exercise have a clue. They keep running back and forth and hardly know how to use the radio. One teacher sends the kid to the back then the teacher forgets about the kid and walk up to the first car in line to ask them to move forward. For God's sake pay attention to the kids not the car! I pray to God that they get their act together (soon). There are fine teachers in this school but the administrative staff is not all there (to say the least). I will write a better review if they change (hoping against hope).

Garden Lakes Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
They are more prone to discourage students because they're hurt for the student is not where it should be for educators


Garden Lakes Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
Staff make it difficult for both parents and students to respect them because Iif their own poor behavior and poor judgment.

Garden Lakes Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
The children do not come first and I have not seen any compassion toward students especially with the principal assistant principal and others who operate that school

Garden Lakes Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
I have raised 7 children and have had to deal with several schools over the last 30 years and this by far is the worst. The principal targets children and her and other staff have absolutely no skills whenIit comes to dealing with children in conflict or conflict between children. Her skill level and ability to operate the school is questionable because of her perceived bias and inability to do what is in a child's best interest.


Garden Lakes Elementary School 4

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in 2nd grade and has been attending GL since Kindergarten. The teachers and staff are wonderful and extremely friendly, and you can tell that they genuinely care about the kids. I do have several complaints about areas that could be improved. First, I do not feel the kids are challenged enough. My daughter has never brought home much homework at all, and when she does, it takes her less than five minutes to complete. I feel that when a child is advanced for their age, they should be given assignments that challenge them. Second, it seemed like any papers my daughter brought home were just shoved in her backpack. There was a lack of organization when it came to bringing home important notes, homework, etc. However, my biggest complaint is when picking up my child after school. All of the age groups are released at same time and it is absolute chaos. Daily, I encounter inconsiderate parents who short-cut in line or park in the no-parking zone and completely exit their vehicle, holding up the entire line for everyone else. I feel the school would benefit if different grades released at varying times, and also enforced the no-parking rule.

Garden Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been attending this school since 1st grade. We really enjoy the staff and the level of expertise the teachers offer to the students regarding their education. My daughter has had some amazing teachers namely Mrs. Kuglar and Mrs. McNamara among the others that have made such a positive impact on her social and academic life. I do get a bit concerned with the rally song being McDonald's, McDonald s, Kentucky Fried Chicken and a Pizza Hut, but it gets the children s attention and that is the goal. I would appreciate an affordable before and after school program to offer more structure for my student (Desiree Morrison) and believe it would be a benefit to our community overall in the long run for parents to utilize such services. Best regards, Amanda N. Baird

Garden Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
Garden Lakes Elementary is an excellent school, I've had multiple family members and now my own children go to that school. I've always had such a great experience with the school, administration staff and school aides. Each teacher my child has had were very creative and patient. I'm very pleased and will keep my child in this school


Garden Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2012
- a parent
Excellent teachers but they should cut out most of the Wednesday half-days and study. Too many teacher breaks.

Garden Lakes Elementary School 2

Posted January 13, 2012
- a parent
Why is my child coming home singing songs about Mc Donald's, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Taco bell and so on, and raving about Ronald Mc Donald visiting the school. Do these companies pay the PESD for covert marketing techniques? Uh...hello! This is a school, they should be teaching our kids...yes YOUR kids...about staying healthy and eating healthily, not how great it is to eat cheap and poor quality food!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garden Lakes Elementary School
10825 W. Garden Lakes Parkway, Avondale, AZ  85323
Last modified Garden Lakes Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garden Lakes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. Top