Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Littleton Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 850 students

We believe all children are capable of success... No Exceptions!

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

Another 'C' rating for this school. I really hoped that they would do much better than that!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2014

Increased school year making it easier for children to return to school after summer break as well as helping households that have two working parents.


Posted June 16, 2014

I have been attended this school since I was in kindergarten. I just promoted June 12 I am now a freshman. My years in Littleton were amazing !!! Everybody was just so happy about everything. The teachers wow they are so much fun and each and everyone of them has their own way of teaching . Littleton sports not that great :/ ! But Hey ! We had a ton of fun playing sports This school is just simply amazing trust me your child will love it !!!


Posted June 2, 2014

This school is a great school.I think your just a bitter over weight woman who"s husband cheats with a hot teacher from Littleton lol.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

The dreads of society including the teachers are at this school. You are not a good parent if you enroll your child in this dreadful place. God help this hole!! Moved and got out just in time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2014

Where is zero star? Not a good school at all... please take your children somewhere else if you care about their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

We're considering homeschooling our children if we cannot get them into another district on a variance or sell our house and move to another district. Yes, that's correct- we are willing to move just to avoid sending our children to this awful district. The teachers are apathetic, the curriculum is lacking and the geniuses (note the sarcasm) in administration extended the school year thinking that would actually improve things somehow. The school year starts in JULY. It's ridiculous. Why not take a look at better districts in the valley (such as Peoria or Kyrene or one of the many others which are WAY ahead of Littleton) and model changes after those obviously successful programs?! I also suspect that one of the positive reviews here was written by teacher at Littleton. A neighbor who's had more experience with this teacher thought the same. It's sad that the teachers and administration have to stoop so low to try to save the school's reputation. Get off GreatSchools.org and try to be BETTER at your jobs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

In reviewing AIMS scores from 2012 to 2013, students grew in 8 out of 12 areas in 3rd - 8th grade reading and math. The average scores are below state averages, but have steadily caught up the last 5 years. Our kids are making excellent progress and we are so proud of them!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 7, 2013

My child has attended this school since second grade, upon entering the 6th grade this year we had the option to move him to another school in the district and he wanted to stay here! I truly believe this is due in part because of the new administration and how awesome they are! The PTA is also rocking it this year, from a fun fall festival to fundraising to help the students, this has been a great year! The 6th grade team of teachers is awesome! My child has never shown such a high interest in school, all 3 ladies are fabulous! We do need more parent support, so hopefully with the leaps and bounds in changes more will get involved! Keep up the great work LE teachers, admins, PTA and students! I love all the opportunity the school presents to encourage the parents to be involved in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

As a parent, I m excited about the new school year at LES! I know the teachers are wonderful and they will help my son succeed academically. I also believe in the new administration because they are caring individuals who love students and will definitely make this a great year for everyone! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

The school has made great growth over the last year. I am excited for the new principal to take over! Parents need to get more involved. Our kids deserve it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

this school is bad! My 2 kids go there now and have always been straight A students and love to go to school but this year was their first year there and they both hate school. There is a lot of bullying there and even though they say they are against it nothing is ever done about it. The front office staff there is a joke no one knows what to do. I will say however that my son goes to the pre k there and they are great with that part of it or maybe it's just because he has a great teacher! Ms. Harrington is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

My daughter attends Littleton Elementary and has been there for almost one year. So far it has been very disappointing to see how far behind kids are academically. We come from another state where kids are better taught and challeneged everyday at school. This school really needs to start challenging all of their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

My granddaughter was helped greatly by the school counselor. She was fiendly and took our concerns seriously. We appreciate that the school works hard to keep the kids safe.


Posted August 26, 2010

Way to go Littleton. So glad that your hard work last year paid off and your test scores are climbing!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 13, 2010

This is easily the worst school any of my kids have attended. My son who was honor roll since he was in Kindergarten really lost all interest in school in the 6th grade and now that his 8th grade school year is about to start I'm glad he won't be enrolled here. The staff is a complete trainwreck from top to bottom. I must say Ms Kurpiewski who taught my 1st grader last year was the only silver lining from the 4 year experience I had here. TGI is finally over!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I have a Preschool kid that attends to Ms. Suns class, I am very please with the development and knowlwdge of my daughter. She is happy to go to school everyday. She learns a lot of stuff everyday. I think Littleton elementary is a great school, and Ms. Sun's a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

I am extremely disappointed with this school especially with my sixth grader. My first grader is fine, love her teacher but counting the days to end of school. They will not be returning to Littleton and my sixth grader is very excited. I agree with the parent who says its 1950s style drill, drill, drill. Moved here from out of state and disappointed with the city will be moving further East. Principal first day was very rude but was apologetic later which I am not accepting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

I have found Littleton Elementary School to be one that stand out as exceptional. The school administration and teachers focus on providing great programs to help students who are not on grade level. They offer programs for students who are average and above through new programs such as exploring potential, journalism, presentations, and more. They have this program called Walk to Read where all the students in a grade level move to a different classroom so they can work with students with similar abilities to improve their learning. It is great! I also appreciate the many ways parents can be involved at Littleton Elementary School. They have a Come Read to Your Child program, parent training classes, parent meetings, and more. My daughter's grade has been selected to participate in the Rodel Foundation's MacRo program. As a parent new to the area, I am very pleased with my child's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

This school has a hard working staff, great to see their interaction among each other, but specially with students. Can wait to see what the new year brings.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Underperforming".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 72% 43%
Black 11% 5%
White 10% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
School Leader's name
  • Chance Whiteman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (623) 478-5620

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Wrestling
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
La Joya Community High School
University High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1252 S. Avondale Blvd.
Avondale, AZ 85323
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 478-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT