Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bisbee High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

I am a parent and a BHS alumni. The major problems at Bisbee are related mostly to poverty and lack of financial support from the State of Arizona. Bisbee has always supported our schools even as other nearby communities much wealthier did not. It is hard to find great high school teachers in Arizona and BHS reflects that issue. Also many parents are not concerned with their children's attendance, behavior, and academic achievement and this pulls down the results of testing and the classroom experience. In spite of those challenges BHS has terrific administrators and more good teachers than in recent years. It is orderly, peaceful, and has many outstanding students. When many other Arizona schools were ending arts programs, Bisbee did not. BHS makes it possible for any student to play sports even if they can not afford the fees. The students, for the most part, respect each others differences and hostilities between groups are minimal. It is a beautiful, spacious campus in a quiet setting that could never be built with today's financial restrictions. It's improving every year but needs money to recruit and hire quality teachers as does the rest of Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Going downhill in every way. Leadership cares more about their image than substance. Many if the teachers care more about local politics than teaching. There is also a massive drug problem that administration goes to great lengths to cover up. I have kids in this district but I will pull them before they go to this high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

I both graduated from the school and am now a parent in the district. I found I was prepared well and thoroughly by my teachers. Classes are small and the faculty very accessible and caring. The principal is engaged and innovative. It is a great school getting better each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

I continue to be very pleased with both the personalized education and the small school atmosphere that allows my children to be part of a community and not just a number . The teachers care and the administrators work hard to make the school both safe and positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

A school that strives and succeeds on a very limited budget. It is improving and growing better each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2010

I graduated from Bisbee High School and I believe that this school seems to have no interest in challenging students or preparing them for continuing education after graduation. As a student, I was not required to take physics, chemistry, calculus, or biology. I was able to graduate on time and even have a free period my senior year although I had failed Algebra three times and received a D in my Earth Science class. Upon going to the University of Arizona, I realized how severely disadvantaged and unprepared I was to compete with other students. This school is more concerned with handing out diplomas to the maximum amount of students rather than truly providing an education. Math and Science requirements have decreased since my time there, and the school week has been cut down to 4 days only.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2009

Bisbee High School lacks leadership and teachers who are more inclined to raise the bar for the students. The students from Bisbee are not challenged. It is evidenced by the number of students who have to enroll in the reading classes at the next level. The principal and his assistant are oblivious to the instruction going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

For a small town school, they strive to provide the best for all their students on a very limited budget.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers and staff, lot of heart in the kids.


Posted July 29, 2009

My kids attend BHS and I was also a graduate of BHS. I was pleased with my experiences there and continue to be very pleased with both the personalized education they receive and the small school atmosphere that allows my children to be part of a community and not just a number (like at larger schools). The teachers care and the administrators work their tails off to make the school safe and positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

BHS is a small school in a small and tightly knit community. Being small students can get the help and attention they need but discipline is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 43%
White 27% 42%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 432-6105

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

675 School Terrace Rd.
Bisbee, AZ 85603
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 432-5381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT