Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rainbow Valley Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 667 students

Instructional Leadership and Excellent Teachers

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

My kids go here. Pulled them from another school to attend the leadership academy that Rainbow Valley offers. Amazing school and staff. It feels like a big, wonderful family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

Everyone is kind and helpful. Students open doors for each other and everyone makes eye contact and says hello. The school recently became a Leadership Academy and it shows. Students are making a difference in the community. I am proud to say that I have children attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

Dr. Cagle is an excellent principal!! Also, the teaching staff is kind and works well together as a team! The office staff is calm, sensible, helpful, and kind. The school balances firm, fair, and consistent discipline procedures and expectations with rigorous curriculum and high AIMS expectations. Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

my view and rating of this school has changed dramatically. all 4 of my girls graduated at rainbow however, my girls did not have any disabilities. however my son does and i am shocked/frustrated and saddend at the difference in treatment and assistance between they way the school treated my girls with no disabilities to the way they treat my son with disabilities. we have asked for help and an IEP plan for our son however, they simply do not want to pay the extra money and time to develop the IEP I as a parent feel that the school does not put my sons needs and best interest infront of their finacial status. please if you have a child with disabilities make sure you look deep into what is best for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

both of my kids went to RVE and we moved to Mandan ND. After dealing with the schools here, I regret taking my kids away from the great principal, the teachers. The more you read the smarter you'll get! my kids will never forget that. I am now home schooling my son and am thinking about home schooling my daughter. Wish I could move some of the staff up here so they can show the teachers here in Mandan how it is done :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

My son is currently attending, and my daughter graduated from RVE. WOW! What an outstanding principal, Dr. Cagle, is! He leads by example in every aspect. His interaction with the children, teachers, and staff amazes me. I can't say enough about the wonderful teachers this school has. They truly care and have always welcomed parent involvement. They openly communicate and answer any questions a parent might have. The staff is terrific. They always greet you in a friendly manner and are so helpful. I love this school and what it encompasses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

This is such a great school. The teachers and staff greet the majority of the students by their first names, regardless if the kids are their students. My kids, Gio and Stevan, always have the best to talk about their teachers. They tell me alot of funny stories about the principal, Mr. Cagle, so this lets me know, he makes it a point to interact with the students. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

This is a great school. They have the best staff a parent could ask for. How many principles know each child by first name. Ours does. He is great with the children and they all love him. The teachers care about each student and give each one the care they need. The office staff is outstanding. They know each child, parent and even siblings that do not attend the school just yet. As a parent, when I send my child to school, I know they are safe and well cared for. We are lucky to have such a wonderful school. Thank you Staff at Rainbow Valley Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

The Best Teachers and Staff In Arizona.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 30, 2006

I had 3 children that attended this school. I feel for the most part the teachers are there for the kids, they learn alot and are given the opportunity to learn. I loved the RTC program. The school truely believes in giving the kids a chance to learn. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

I believe that the music, art, PE, Computer and library classes are a great benefit and a necessity to our children. This courses and activities promise a well rounded education. So many of these subjects lead to promising careers that many people never really associate with Art or PE. Careers such as architecture, engineering, drafting and construction trades. Art in various mediums is a terrific outlet for our childrens emotional well being also. These courses are important to a childs well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

Great school with great teachers who care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2004

I like the low teacher/student ratio. The Teachers seem to care for the kids and want them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2003

I think the school is a good one. They just need more extra things for children of all grades to join in, such as more athletics or extracurricular things, field trips, fund raisers, dances even for the young ones to bring more money in for the school also. Invite Radio Disney to come in for the younger crowds. There is no incentive. My child has gone there since the school has opened and there really hasn't been much to give the kids outside the school. There needs to be more excitement. Something that draws the kids to want to come and have a good time. I think the school is really good in teaching respect and discipline and safety. I think they are improving on academics for the children who need that special attention to keep them moving ahead. Overall I like the school. I like the staff and how they greet you in the mornings by waving. The school tries to work with you in any way they can.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 43%
White 38% 42%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Michael Cagle
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 327-2839

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Before and Afterschool care located Estrella Elementary School.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
40
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
40
Students typically come from these schools
Liberty Preschool
Phoenix Children's Academy

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Estrella Foothill High School
Buckeye High School
Youngkers
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19716 W. Narramore Road
Buckeye, AZ 85326
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 327-2830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT