Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freedom Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 876 students

Science, Technology, Engineering & Math Focus

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

This is the rudest school I have ever walked into! The principles are ver rude, and with the front desk staff! My daughter is not happy at this school although she does enjoy her third grade teacher! My children will not be attending this school next year because of the unwelcomed feeling we have got each time we have entered into the school. I went to the front desk and waited what seemed like an eternity waiting to be acknowledged from the staff. I was ignored each time I tried to speak to the front desk staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

Well, where should I begin. All of my kids have attended this school for the last 6 or so years. About 90 percent of the teachers are awesome! The principal on the other hand is horrible. I have had several teachers make inappropriate comments to my children and she always defends them, even when they admit it. Everyone is on this bully kick lately, maybe they should teach the teachers/administrators not to bully kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

This school has some amazing teachers that is the only reason why my kids attend this school. The administration on the other hand completely stinks! The administration does not respect nor care about parent involvement. Parents only seem to be a burden. This school has the potential of being a 5 star school if it were run by different administrators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

My son attends kindergarten and I love his teacher she is awesome at what she does. All staff is amazing thank you guys all for all your hard work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

I have been sending my children to this school for two years now, and I am very happy with Freedom. My children enjoy going to school. Some parents tend to blame the school for their child's failures. Parents need to take an active role in their child's education. For the ones who think they can drop off their kids for 7 hours a day and expect miracles to happen is going to be disappointed. Stop bashing the school, it's a great one. And FYI,to a previous poster, you don't spell principal "principle". That is a word with a different meaning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I love this school! Being military we have lived everywhere and I know a great school when I see one! This is it! I have a child in the 6th grade with an IEP & speech therapy & I have a child in 8th grade. They are both really happy. I feel a part of a team with the teachers and the staff. You can trully see at Freedom that every child's success is important. All are very friendly and supportive. The best activity was when they invited about 8 astronomers with their huge telescopes to the school for a stargazing night it was incredible! I would recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

I am very disappointed with Freedom Elementary School thus far. The principal is unreceptive to concerns. Parents are not welcomed on the campus. I have received dirty looks from administration when on campus with a visitor badge. Opportunities for parent involvement have been offered for afterschool activities but I am not inclined to attend because of the negative atmostphere on this campus. My child's teacher does not seem to want me in the classroom ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

Out of all the years that my kids have been in school, I have had by far the worst experince here. If you dont want your child to to be4 successful and just put into a class thats over crowded, Freedom is the place to be. Some of the teachers had no problems with updating me with my kids grades and others where very rude. Even the principle can be a little nasty. There needs to be some changes with this school starting with the principle. This will be my 3rd post for this school. It keeps getting deleted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

my daughter has been in this school since second grade and now she is in sixth grade.. she really loves it and so do i.. the only thing i don't like is that they will be charging for full day kindergarden this year...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

This is my second year teaching at Freedom. I came from a great school district in the Midwest. When I decided to move to AZ and got a job interview here, I looked on this website. There were not very good reviews. I almost didn't accept the job offer. I am very glad I did now! This district is great! They are incorporating great programs that are proven to work in other school districts. The administration is very involved and respects the opinions of the teaching staff. I feel very supported and love the environment at Freedom. I do not know how the school was over two years ago. So any old reviews should be ignored, because this school is great!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 7, 2010

We moved here and I was so disappointed with this school. The staff at the school is very unprofessional. They have no organization and they do not communicate with the parents at all. My daughter has missed out on several opportunities with sports because the school does not provided handouts and instead relies on the children to relay the info they get from announcements. My daughter tells me she cannot even hear the announcements because the kids are not under control. The school is extremely over populated with 35+ per classroom. The education here is well below par. My daughter has learned the material being taught years ago in another school. I recommend not sending your child to this school. I am trying to get my daughter into a better one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

My son has been at Freedom since the Spring of 2009 and he is learning a lot. His teacher at the end of last year and his teacher this school year are very talented. They communicate well with parents and provide many opportunities for students to excell. The PTO at the school is very involved and I really appreciate all of their efforts. The leadership at the school is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Not cohesive learning taking place from year to year. Lack of discipline and vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My daughter is learning far beyond the requirements of her grade. Aside from her scholastic achievement, she has become extremely well mannered and respects others. While we reinforce this behavior at home, she has learned most of it from her wonderful teacher ms. ptek as well as the many other supervisors that know her by name. I think it is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

I am extremely dissatisfied with this school. We got a note home from my daughters teacher saying we were being notified by the state she didnt have her teaching license yet. This is the first time ever he has gotten such poor grades and constant detention. The only thing consistant with this school is its lack for following procedures, lack of good communication with parents and sub-par teachers. I had to change teachers, and now have decided to move him schools altogether. M son gets hurt, they dont call, my son gets detention, they dont call. I have to call multiple times before I finally just go down there to get answers. It seems to me this school needs some serious help, stay away, far away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

My daughters attended Freedom Elementary last school year and learned nothing. They now attend a catholic school in Goodyear and are having a wonderful experience. I also taught at Freedom and miss it at all. I currently teach at a charter school in Surprise and the children say please and thank you. That didn't happen at Freedom. Thank you, A parent and a teacher!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

I am very unhappy with this school. My son has attended for 2 years. He is way above average as the school has tested him repeatedly and told us. They let a whole year pass and did nothing to challenge him. It has been almost a wasted two years for him. He is very bored at school and wants to learn new things. They just focus so much on the below average kids with the 'no child left behind' law that they could care less about the above average kids. Doesn't make sense. We chose to send our son to a charter school this next year. Stay clear from Freedom if you want your child to be challenged!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

This school lacks professional and an overall understanding of the quality of education a child truly deserves to receive. Most of the teachers are average, with a few outstanding ones who usually leave after just one year. The administration is way below par and handles issues in an inappropriate and untimely manner. If there was another option for you, I would choose to enroll your students in another school. If you are a teacher reading this, then perhaps you are one that will help the school become better but, from what I have seen on this campus, no one person can make a difference.


Posted March 28, 2008

My children and I have had nothing but good experiences at Freedom. Its tough being in a neighborhood growing as fast it is. Teachers and staff have done a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This is the first year my son has attended Freedom and so we are very happy with this school. The teachers that I have met and worked with have been awesome. My son is very happy with the the learning environment that this school has provided him. Things will only get better from here. This school has been able to 'keep it together' during it growing pains. I think that this school will just get better and better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 43%
White 32% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cynthia Robinson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 327-2859

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Gifted Programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Youngkers High School
Buckeye Union High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22150 W. Sundance Parkway
Buckeye, AZ 85326
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 327-2850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT