Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westpark Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 685 students

We are a school community passionate about student success.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Es una escuela muy trankila y ordenada el principal tiene buena comunicaci n con los estudiantes, mis hijos estan ay desde kinder, y ya una salio dela escuela y los otros dos estan en 2 y 6grado estoy muy contenta deke mis hijos asistan a westpark school buckeye az.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

I attended Westpark from 2007 to 2011. It was an good experience overall. Teachers were nice and helpful. Sometimes they've been rude, but that was occasional. I liked the administration. Overall a good experience.


Posted September 28, 2013

Best elementary school in Buckeye! Teachers are amazing and Mr. Forgette the principal is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

The school overall is a safe learning enviroment. However,the fun has been taken out of learning. The students are constantly being tested. The teachers look as if they're stressed out and overwhelmed. At times I feel all they care about is making the school look good. All that matters are ratings and aims scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Love this school! My concerns and questions have all been met with care, and positivity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

I love this school!! Everything about is fantastic!! My kids love going everyday! The staff is hands down amazing!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

My Daughter started as a kinder. student last year. Her teacher was Ms.Miller. She had an awsome expierience thoughout the whole year. Ms. Miller is a teacher that really cares about her students. My Daughter is doing well this year as well with Ms. Moreno as her first grade teacher. I highly recomend this school. Keep up the great work being done at West Park Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2010

I am very happy with WestPark and my child is very excited to start first grade. I noticed that the rating for parent involvement is low and there are some complaints about the PTA. This will be my second year in the PTA and I am excited to start another great year as an involved parent. Parents... your children need you to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

My 1st grader can't wait to start back at WestPark. He had a fantastic kindergarten year thanks to Miss Sundling! My family and I are very proud to be a part of the WestPark community. The teachers are awesome and I think they deserve a lot more credit and support then they get!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

I love our school!! My kids have been attending since the school opened. The principal does care and the teachers rock!! Parent involvement is minimal, but it's hard to get all the paperwork filled out to be a certified volunteer, though I say it's worth it to know safe people are dealing with our precious children. The accelerated math classes are wonderful, too. It helps the kids reach their potential and be challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I agree with what most parents and or teachers say about the school. It is overall a great school with an awesome principal. I do agree with the previous review that the PTA seems a little dead; you seem to see the same parents helping out. If they do not try to motivate the parents to get involved I'm afraid it will not reach it's full potential. This school has the potential of reaching highly performing or even excelling if and only, the parents find it in there hearts to dedicate at least two hours a month to help out in our childrens education. Who knows what is to be of the next school year with all the budget cuts. I can only hope that we work together as parents and teachers to make the best of our childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

WestPark is an awesome school with awesome students! Some advice to parents...keep it positive, your child's teacher knows what he/she is doing- they went to many years of school for a reason- trust them to do their job. If there is a problem with your child, start by looking at what your child could be doing wrong before you blame the teacher. Mr. Ruiz only hires the best teachers, if he trusts that they are doing a good job you should too.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2009

Westpark Elementary is a wonderful school. It has a great Principal Mr. Ruben Ruiz who seems to truly care about the students. My son is in 3rd grade and so far his teacher has been great. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

I am a teacher at this wonderful school. It has an amazing principal that truly cares about the students and the staff. Mr. Ruiz is by far the best Principal I have worked with in my 7 years teaching. The staff is highly qualified and are compassionate about their students success. I think more POSITIVE parent involvment and less hostility with the parents, feeling like they have to criticize but don't help or volunteer would greatly help their children in the long run!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2009

I love Westpark!! My kids have lucked out and had the Best Teachers. They love going to school. Ms. Rock, Mrs. Cooper, Mrs. Lawson, Mrs. Redfern are just a couple of the awesome teachers at Westpark. Thanks for doing such a great job!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I a not impressed. Some other parent and I are pulling our kids out and moving them to different schools. I think the problem are not just with the teachers. There is almost NO parent involvement. There is no support to the programs that the school could offer. I think the teachers turn a blind eye to may issues because they know that the parents don't care, so the kids don't either. There are very little consequences for poor work habits or turning in assignments late. My child was not performing to her best abilities an I didn't have a clue until grades ame out and even still I had to force the teacher to allow for a conference to get to the root o the problem. I just think the teachers and staff try so hard, but just have too much on their plates. This school is falling apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Just a great overall place! The staff is fantastic and the parent involvement is great. The have a great technology learning center
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

West Park is truly the best school in Buckeye! The word professionalism comes to mind in regards to both Mrs. Joseph and Mr. Lugo. The curriculum is also far superior to the other schools in Buckeye and Mrs. Tomczyk is a superb 4th grade teacher. The Nurse is great and the front office staff is pleasant and professional as well. This school should be the model for the rest! I saw a gym full of parents last week enjoy a show put on by Mrs. Maeding, the music teacher and the band teacher. Outstanding and fun to say the least! I look forward to the start of Jan. 2008 and my childs continued success here at West Park Educational Excellence. Thank you for really caring about education and safety! 5 stars to the person in charge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

West Park is great! My children feel at home there. The climate amongst the teachers and staff is caring, friendly, and positive. It is demonstrated daily as they welcome the kids on campus. My oldest was an average student. This year, she received a 4.0! I do have reservations about no textbooks, but I can clearly see that there is more interactive learning in the classroom. The curriculum has been very successfull towards my children's educational growth. As a parent, I appreciate the zero tolerance on drugs and inappropriate behavior. My children are safe and I thank Mrs. Joseph and Mr. Lugo for implementing safety skills amongst their staff. It's nice to always see Mrs. Joseph or Mr. Lugo at parent events, games, etc. It shows that they really do care for kids! Keep up the great work and I look forward to another great year. Cecilia Montano
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

West Park is the best school in Buckeye that my children have attended. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My children's teachers have made a tremendous positive impact in their lives. I have witnessed incredible growth in their academics. I am impressed at how the teachers have actually taken the time to get to know my children and nurture them in a loving and safe environment. I also like the way I am greeted when I enter the school. The front office staff have always welcomed me in a fun-loving and friendly way. My children and I have always been made to feel that we are welcome and an important part of the school. Thank you West Park staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 43%
White 41% 42%
Black 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • A performance grade of an "A" for student achievement (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Nick Forgette
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 386-3398

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Youngker High School
Buckeye Union
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 South 257th Drive
Buckeye, AZ 85326
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 435-3282

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT