Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Steven R. Jasinski Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 2 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

My kids have attended this school for 5 years now. I think the teachers there are great, every teacher my child has had, have always been available to provide extra help if my child was struggling with a subject. I'm not saying this school is perfect but I love the fact that staff members are always outside greeting students and parents In the mornings. That way if there's ever a safety issues students know where they can go for help. The front office has had a few changes that I don't quite understand, like the nurse/attendance position. The school Secretary is very caring with the students and polite and helpful to parents. When I have had to speak to the principal, she's always been available. The only thing I would change about this school would be the food, Kids should have more choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Tomorrow will be the end of our second full year with Jasinski and we have been nothing but pleased with it. The teachers, staff, and other parents have all been wonderful. We are losing quite a few teachers before next year, but there are several new schools opening (possibly closer to their HOMES) which is a completely valid reason to move on. We haven't had any negative experiences and the library is HUGE so I'm not sure where the other posters are getting that from. The library room itself is massive and constantly updated and upgraded by an incredible librarian and the PTSA earning TONS of credits for books. There are some other school options close by -which I have considered, but ultimately Jasinski has given us a "home" - my kids love their teachers and I have the freedom to be VERY involved with the school. This school is GREAT, my kids are excelling and I credit that to the amazing teachers they have at Jasinski!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Many of the teachers are amazing and really care about the kids, but unfortunately due to the management of the school, many of those teachers are leaving to go elsewhere. The school administration does not care to "deal" with special needs children and has no problem vocalizing this to their staff. The Office staff is a group of angry and bitter ladies who talk behind kids and parents backs, yes I said kid s backs. Often times in Spanish as if they have no idea other people can speak Spanish besides themselves. There is one office staff member who is part nurse and she is phenomenal. Otherwise, they couldn t be more unprofessional if they tried. This school has the worst score in all of Buckeye for a reason. Jasinski has some of the most amazing teachers I have ever met but the administration is joke (principal, office staff, etc.). If your child attends Jasinski, just be sure to develop a good relationship with their teacher and you should be ok. Just be aware that the administration there rarely has your child s needs as a priority over their own. Can you blame so many teachers for leaving? Too bad I have to rate this school so poorly when there are so many great teachers there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Jasinski is great! I can't believe people reviewed this school on one incident? Wow. Well my Kindergartener will be graduating from this school next month and it has been very pleasant. He is reading and writing and doing really good in school. He loves it. He loves his teacher Ms. Wallace and his classmates. He also really enjoys his bus ride home. Mr. Jim is very attentive to kids getting out of their seats and not behaving on his bus. School recently has a new principal and I immediately received a notice about the change prior to this happening. She seems to be on top of things. Staff when I drop off my kid in the morning is very friendly and monitoring the safety of the children. Meals are decent and my child enjoys the taste. He loves his other teachers and I am very happy with this school. I did have one concern months back that was immediately addressed (that same night) by the previous principal at the time and was resolved. I don't think any school is perfect - we all need to do our part but I think this school is worth 5 stars. GOD bless the teachers and ALL the school staff for taking care of our kids and providing them with a fun and safe education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

All you people below really need to get a fing life. Just because you had a bad expiriance with this school DOES NOT mean its a bad school I know several parents who have brought their children here an have loved it.. If you think its a bad school maybe you should second guess your parenting! Alot of the way your children are in school depends on how you raise them every think of that ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

horrible school first off they have no security you can pick up any kid outside without id or name first week of school my kids got off at 1:45 they did not get home till 2:30 2nd day they where also late my child is in special ed she still has not been placed in a class it is the second week of school.i just found out they have a c rating
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I cannot believe that your school allowed a football practice today in 115 degree heat. No schools were letting the kids out for recess because of the heat and you have football practice.I know someones son who participated and was throwing up after the practice and was totally red faced. His mother never should have let him participate. But you are to blame for even having practice. Your school should be reported.


Posted August 12, 2012

Awful staff High turn over rate Title 1 school Low test scores Principal inexperienced Limited Library Unprofessional front office personnel PTSA ladies gossip about parents they don't like to office staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

Worst school, my kids go here they have been bullied and the teacher Mrs. Lopez is never in class. I dont understand how they can punish the kids for missing school and yet the teacher is constantly out and my daughter has a sub which has them color on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

High teacher/ staff turn over rate. PTSA does not take suggestions from parents. Library is limited. Art/PE teachers talk down to kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 30, 2011

This school is excellent my Daughter went here for two year and now is going off to highschool. My son has gone her for 2 years, the teachers are excellent and the school involvment is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

I am very pleased with the school my daughter started k-g and she received honor roll the first and second quarter, she was reading before winter break! The teachers are great they care alot for the students, im sad that we have to move so she will be going to a diffrent school next year hopefully we have the same luck and she gets a great 1st grade teacher..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I really think this school has been great for my children. My son's have both had great teachers. However this school lost an outstanding kindergarten teacher at the end of the 2008 year due to contract issues. The children's loss for sure. The ptsa in this school does a extremely good job creating fun activites for the kids and truely care and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

Jasinski has a great staff, and caring teachers. A great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I think this school is a big improvement from the last school my son went to. His 1st grade teacher was awesome he seemed to really enjoy his class. Not sure how the other teachers are yet I guess I will just have to cross my fingers and hope for the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

This is the first year this school has been open and I have been very pleased with the principals Mr Christiansen and Mr Smith and my son's teacher. I'm just concerned about the future with the high teacher turn-over rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 43%
White 31% 42%
Black 11% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4280 S. 246th Ave
Buckeye, AZ 85326
Phone: (623) 925-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Desert Moon School
Surprise, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT