Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Verrado Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 799 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2014

"Pep rally's & Jamba Juice isn't going to get my children to college". .. Perfect sentiment! While Verrado was a great temp alternative to other, less than desirable schools in Buckeye, the fact that my kids came home complaining about bullies, singing radio hits & counting all the candy they were rewarded with throughout their day just wasn't cutting it for me. I was looking for teachers/staff capable of demonstrating excellent character - not engaging in whispers, dirty looks & popularity contests like stuck-up brats in the 13th grade Grow up, guys! With all of the resources & seasoned teachers available to such a well-funded school, they should be doing more than offering "traditional" or "gifted" options (really just more homework) in attempt to rival the charter schools that concerned parents are LEAVING Verrado for. In short, this is the perfect school for parents who are intentionally avoiding other public schools in the area, are okay with such mediocre standards & are willing to stick out like a sore thumb every time someone insists on asking if you LIVE in Verrado *Rolls Eyes* After an experience like THIS, there's no wonder why everyone is running toward charters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

There are many happy children in a high income neighborhood that attend this school. Mrs. Evans made many poor decisions as a principal and perpetuated the continuance of poor decisions as assistant superintendent. There is no after school tutoring or focus on meeting the needs of all children. The teachers work bell to bell and there is no going above and beyond other than xeroxing homework packets and planning fun activities that do not align to standards. This is a social club and you either embrace it or you are on the outs. Shame on relying on your demographic to remain in the Stone Age. Bigger packets and harder books do not equate to rigorous instruction. Pep rally's and Jamba Juice isn't going to get my children to college. A dedication to academic excellence and a willingness to persevere for every child will.


Posted June 19, 2014

This school is amazing! When my daughter and I first came to VES we were welcomed very warmly! In normal schools you don't get your kids happy to do homework! But at VES they beg to do it! If you are looking for a great school where you and your child is happy verrado elementary school is the way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

The local schools in my area are not very good. I drive my child to Verrado Elementary instead and it is a wonderful school. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. The teachers are amazing!!! They truly care about my child and send home challenge work and praise. They are also very honest about any issues that I need to address with my child. The parents are really involved and I think that is part of the reason that the students are doing so well. I feel blessed that Verrado allows us to send our child there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

Ever since my 4 kids came to the verrado schools ( elementry, middle and high school ) they have improved 100%. I have 2 kids with staight A's and 2 with A's and B's... I really dont care about personal lives of the teachers ( not in a bad way, just not my business ), what I care about is my childrens education and they are doing great that even their self esteem has gotten better. They feel better everyday cause the teachers let them know how good they are doing and encourage them to keep going.... They went from D's and F's to A's and B's!!!!! They are all about the kids... We like it so much we want to move into Verrado!!! Very happy camper :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

This is a highly over-rated school. This is driven by parents who think Verrado is such an "amazing" place and by extension, that everything there is "amazing". First the good...The parent involvement is very high. This is because it's a wealthy community where one or both parents can afford to either not work, or take time off of work whenever they feel like it. Though I live here, I am one of those who have to work, as does my girlfriend, leading to the main issue. ALL school activities are held during the work day (8-5) so that those like me must miss work constantly, so that the teachers can preserve THEIR free time. They lost track of both of my kids (1st & 2nd grade) in the first week, and they missed their buses. My first graders teacher was rather upset that my little boy is a bit behind and needed extra help. I had to put the hammer down on her and INSIST that she HELP, and actually TEACH. They are ALWAYS begging for money in some form, every week, constantly, and every event charges outrageous ticket / entrance fees. In general, it's a snootey snob school, though they do a decent job of educating kids for the most part, though sometimes with prodding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

I can only hope to God that my son gets into a local charter school next year. SO UNPROFESSIONAL. You can not only hear gossip, all the time, but see the teachers in the community drinking, smoking, and cheating on their spouses. What is this?? A school or a frat house?? Come on Mrs. Evans... DO YOUR JOB!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

All I can say is WOW, very impressed with Mrs. Evans and the entire Verrado staff! Both of my children's teacher have a strong understanding of the state standards and strive daily to see that all students meet those standards. I could not be more proud of the leaps & bounds both of my children have taken. Sadly they went to a school last year that ended with a wasted year and I was very concerned at the beginning of this year, but both Verrado teachers have set my mind at ease! Thank you Miss Putz & Mrs. Erdelji!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

I feel so fortunate that my son was able to get into this school. The principal and teachers are amazing. The community support is great as well. It is nice seeing my son so happy to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

This school is wonderful. My son has Mrs. Abramson and she is an amazing caring, gentle and intelligent teacher. She truly makes learning fun. My child is always ready to attend school. Mrs. Abramson is a true leader and I feel so very blessed. She is a wonderful role model for our young children and for our educational leaders! VES also has the support of DMB and offers MacRo math and it has been such a wonderful educational tool. Thank goodness for Verrado and the wonderful parent involvement. We are very happy and pleased! For this exact reason, we moved to Verrado to be within a wonderful educational school system. Way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

I absolutely love this school and the staff. My children have been attending for 3 years, and they just love it. Ms. Evans is incredible as well. I love that they are able to get the parents involved and excited about everything going on in school and the community. I am very thankful for their contributions, and I know my kids are blessed to be part of this wonderful environment. Thank you Super Stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

I am a parent of a 5th grader that has been apart of Verrado since 1st grade. I have to say I am very immpressed with every teacher my child has had through the years. Everyone of them has taken a great interest in my child and has challenged him wear he excells. I have had two incidents come up were Mrs. Evans has had to call me and I think that she handled them both with a firm, no tollerance aproach....but somehow with grace :). We will miss this elementary school when we move to middle school, good thing is it's right next door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

This is an amazing school. I enjoy the open feel eventhough it is completely gated and secure. The teachers keep the children engaged and the parents are always welcome to the classroom. My daughter has thrived since attending this school, and that is due in part to the unique ability of the teachers and staff to attend to each child in their own special manner. Highly desireable area, like it's own island, Verrado has afforded us a fresh start and a happy beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

Verrado Elementary School is amazing! The teachers are happy and engaged. Many of them live in the Verrado community or want to move there. They enjoy strong social networks outside of school, and that really strengthens our school community. They clearly enjoy coming to work and take tremendous pride in the school! The students are polite and confident. They love the 'Character Counts!' programming and their test scores are impressive. Parents are very involved. There are numerous and varied ways to support the school. The actual facility is top notch, with high-end technology, gorgeous mountain views, and award-winning architecture. Verrado Elementary School is situated right off of our town's Main Street, a clear symbol of how highly we value kids and education. It's a special place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I love this school. Principal Molly Evans is the the best. She shows such enthusiasm and genuine love for each of the children. Every teacher my child has had has been wonderful. The school really tries to get families involved in their childs education which is much too rare these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Molly Evans is a great principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

I am not at all impressed with the principal as I feel she does not have any leadership skills and does not know how to address issues but instead sweeps things under the rug. Many issues that have been brought to her attention I know to never have been addressed at all. The teachers however are very good and in general, I am pleased with the school b/c we didn't have any major issues. If you are considering this school, know that many parents did pull their children last year as issues simply do not get addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

An absolute amazing school. Incredible principal and high quality teachers who love being there! You can feel it the second you walk into the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20873 W. Sunrise Lane
Buckeye, AZ 85326
Phone: (623) 547-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



West Valley Adventist School
Litchfield Park, AZ


White Tanks Learning Center
Litchfield Park, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT