Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Youngker High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1438 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2013

My son Graduated from here and he had the best experience. The teachers are amazing and they really prepared him for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Love the fact this is a new campus. The teacher here are awesome! Principal is very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

this school is amazing, the sports are excellent and the education is magnificent, youngker is the way to go! its much better compared to buckeye union high school because there are many........ classy people at youngker and not so many......troubling children like in buhs.


Posted February 10, 2010

Although this is a title 1 school, the administration do a very effective job of running the school. Many low SES schools suffer from high levels of apathy and horendous discipline issues. Youngker has no such problems. The students are nice and well-behaved, and the admin works to ensure it stays that way. There is a reasonably good cream of the crop, and the school might eventually develop a strong AP program. There are issues, to be sure, but they are dealt with effectively.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2009

Youngker High School is a growing school only consisting grades 9-11 as of the 2009-10 school year. Next year will be our first year to have seniors. Not having the advantage of tradtions, we are challenged to set our own, and we have been quite successful at doing that. We are trying to make our school the best we can be, we just need support from our students, teachers, parents, and community .
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2009

It looks like a prison on the outside, and the classes are long (only four per day). The staff is nice and tries to make it work, but there are few activities and extracurriculars outside of the standard sports and the school feels so isolated from the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

This is an amazing school. The administration, faculty, and staff are wonderful and truly care about the wellbeing of your children, as well as ensuring they recieve a good education. Do not hesitate to send your children to this school, but do not make the mistake of sending them to Buckeye Union High School (that is far from a good idea)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I enjoy going to Youngker, in the class's I learn a lot more than ever in my past schools. The teachers and staff really care about the students, and want us to succed in life. We just lost a fellow student to a natural death, and held a big car wash for money for his family, and the teachers couldnt be more helpful for us at school over this event, they made sure we were alright. Overall everything at this school is awesome! Good people there. The only problem it looks like a jail but they spent all the money on learning tools for us instead of fancy paint for outside, though its starting to look better every day. So if you want your kid to learn and be happy with the teachers that make sure we understand what they teach us, send your kid to Youngker! I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 43%
White 39% 42%
Black 10% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:20am
School end time
  • 2:10pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (623) 386-9705

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 S. Apache Road
Buckeye, AZ 85326
Phone: (623) 474-0100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT