Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 591 students

World Class Education Since 1910

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2013

Liberty has been a wonderful school for my child! The principal, teachers, counselor, and support staff give this school a warm atmosphere to go along with its beautiful old charm. My son tells me that he loves school since starting at Liberty! This puts a smile on my face! I am so glad we have found the positive, supportive atmosphere we so desperately needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

We've only been here 5 months but the curriculum seems to be about a year behind what they should be learning. My 4th graders class is working on things she mastered before the end of 3rd grade at her previous school. The principal and teachers don't seem to want parent involvement. I've witnessed very little disipline of misbehaving students by the staff and no real structure. Unfortunately we do not have a choice in what public school our children are allowed to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

Both of my daughters attend Liberty and are excelling academically which is our priority. Both have had quality teachers that bring their own unique style to the classroom. In 6 years at Liberty, I have never had to complain about a teacher. The communication between the teachers and the parents continues to improve each year. I find Liberty to be a quality school with quality teachers lead by a caring and involved Principal. The school and community embraced our family during (and since) a tragic family loss by doing so much more than necessary. With the talent shows, holiday performances, Fall festivals and community involvement 'family nights', the school maintains the small town feel that we love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

My son has special needs and is in the special needs program at Liberty, I am very pleased with the special attention the school has accommodated my son with. He has improved drastically since he has been a student at Liberty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I am shocked at the reviews this school has got so far. My children have been attending this school for 6 years and like any school, there have been some minor issues, but nothing that would make for a bad review. Both of my children excell every year and always have. I would recommend this school to anyone. If you take the time to be a part of your childs education instead of critisizing every one else for not raising your child right, then you would have no problems. Also, if you ask the teachers, they are great at putting the children in the best class to fit each individual childs needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

My two sons have been going to this school for two years but yet to see them progressing. one is ADHD but yet he has been struggling in having one on one that is needed. How? If no speech teacher available for 3 months!yet not told of the matter until a month after the fact. over all there are no after school programs or enough support in tutors available which concerns me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

I agree with most of the reviews ahead. The staff is a little different. I love this school and so do my kids because of a very select few teachers along the way some who are no longer there. I have a comfy feeling around this school and most people are down to earth. We need more parental involvement and more extra curicular activities for these kids. The teachers have their little groupies and that just how it is if you don't fit watch out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

Liberty was said to be one of the better schools and unfortunately we were sadly mistaken. There are very few extracurricular activities, no band/choir/music available. Academically they are behind, and they have not succeeded very well in providing a safe learning environment. Several teachers have left due to the high amount of 'gang-related' activity at the elementary level and the lack of support provided by the school district in the discipline. There was not much emphasis placed on parental involvment and overall communication was poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I feel the academic programs at Liberty are below par. When my children transfered here from another school they had already been taught things that Liberty didn't teach until one or two years later. There is a very limited selection of extracurricular activities. I would really like to see more usage of computers. The school has just purchased new computers, I was excited unitl I found that the computers are old technology. I have found that most of the teachers are genuine and my children have enjoyed being in their classrooms. Some staff members including bus drivers, teachers and the principal leave alot to be desired. Perhaps they have been sheltered in this rural area for so long they have forgotten their professionalism and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

The teachers at Liberty are wonderful and really seem to care about the students. I think that the academics are a little behind. They have no music program and a very limited computer program. There is very little parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

The parent involvement at Liberty is great, one gets a feelin of community. I feel some of the teachers at Liberty are uncaring about the achievement and feeling of worthiness for the children. There are however a few excellent teachers I feel go above and beyond their duties. I feel the leadership is lacking in quality. The current principal has been a poor and inadequate decision maker in all fields of her duties. Also, one gets the feeling that the pricpal and a few employees are confidents and look down upon the children and parents who are not in their group. I feel uncomfortable around them. The school bus drivers have been unproffesional. The other children at Liberty are great. The children, parents and the few great techers are what make this school a great one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Both my girls go to this school. My 6th grader has made straight A's so far all of this year. My 3rd grader has ADHD issues and even though the school seemed ready to jump in a perpare a plan for her, it has taken most of this year to implement and smooth out the edges, she is doing great though, and I would recommend this school over most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

My son attended the eighth grade here and I am pleased with the school. The academic portion has kept my child challenged, yet motivated. One of the teachers keeps parents involved with weekly emails informing what assignments are missing and what has been received and current grade. Parent/teacher conferences are also a part of the involvement. The eighth graders travel to Disneyland which keeps the students inspired to do well in class. The school is also good about sending information via mail concerning funding issues, such as money was voted by voters to be used for upgrades. The school sent out a questionaire as what parents felt was needed. The only sport here is volleyball which did not interest my son. School dances were held which my son enjoyed attending. Office staff are friendly and helpful even when one knew they were busy. A good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 43%
White 36% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Gray
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 327-2819

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Jerry's Heroes
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Extended day program is provided to Liberty students. However, they must be bussed to one cooperating schools in our district. For more information, contact the Liberty School Office.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
120
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
120
Students typically come from these schools
Liberty KIDS Preschool

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Estrella Foothills
Youngkers High School
Buckeye High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19818 W Hwy 85
Buckeye, AZ 85326
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 327-2810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT