Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fox Creek Jr High School

Public | 6-8 | 552 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2011

Hi, i was just graduated fom Fox Creek Jr. High and it was the saddest moments of my life. It was an exciting 3 years of school. I loved Fox Creek and the staff members were great and got along well with every teacher,but my favorite was Mr.Lindemanis. He was amazing and even the school.


Posted October 11, 2010

hi, i go to fox creak and obvisly im not a parent, this is my first year at fox c.but i think u would like a review from someone whos there 40 hours a week, kinda like a job. in my opinion its a awesome school the kids who go there are the ones from mountian view , sunrise, and diamond back elem. the teachers are great and really care about the students they teach.how ever no school is perfect,i add-met it , we have are share of obnoxious and somewhat perverted kids (mostly the 8th graders) like any other jr. high.the sport clubs take place about 1 semester each . its 20$ to join. the gym uniform is 15$ and the planner is 5$.school colors are dark blue and baby blue. theres also band, chorus, art and library classes. over all its a 5 star! and the principle is great.


Posted August 12, 2009

This is my sons 3rd year attending fox creek jr high and i wouldnt send my son to another jr high. the staff is wonderful. the care about the students and their learning needs. ill miss this school next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I have attended fox creek for 2 years and i have to say, its been a blast. this year i will be graduating and going on to highschool. Fox creek has everything you could ask for-great teachers, excellent learning and a amazing administation. The principle treated everyone like a family but my favorite was Gloria: she works in the office and she really helped when i was confused about something. I highly recommend this school for your kids
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

I belive this school is great for your children. I , being a student, know what the teachers and staff is like. They are excellent in trying to help a student with work. I enjoy going to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

My son has only gone to private schools in Las Vegas until now. I was nervous sending him to a public school, but since there aren't any private schools in the area, I had little choice. I am very impressed with the school, teachers and the curriculum. He is in mostly honors classes, but the curriculum is on par with the private schools. The kids are all friendly and the atmosphere is nurturing. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

This school is a really excellent school i have been attending Fox Creek for two in a half years now. i love it here. it's very safe and i feel like it is my second home. I actually look forward o going to schools everyday! I also love the teachers and how they teach us. it makes it very fun to learn and makes us want to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2008

I love this school! I've been going here for two years. It's the best junior high for your kid. You make great friends, and the teachers are fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

My granddaughter attended Fox Creek last year. I find the teachers very good and they are excellent at keeping the parents in the loop in regards to their child. The principal is another story. I find her very unprofessional and a very bod role model.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

My daughter is a 7th grader at Fox Creek she loves it and we as parents are very pleased with the school. The teachers are very good about keeping us informed through emails about grades, up comming tests,up coming school events,missing assinments ect... Her last school was suppose to have the same program but they never up dated the information. Over all very pleased with the school and there staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

Fox Creek has the worst teachers ever. There are teachers there that DONT CARE if you dont understand what youre doing or ever the minor things like going to the bathroom. Think twice before enrolling your student in the school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2005

Fox Creek represents what a middle school should be: The school is focused on teaching; teachers and the principals act as though they like the students - and enjoy helping them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 704-2504

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3101 Desert Sky Boulevard
Bullhead City, AZ 86442
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 758-3961

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Young Scholars Academy
Bullhead City, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT