Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Young Scholars Academy

Charter | K-8 | 408 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bullhead City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $107,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2014

Young Scholar's Academy is amazing. Great teachers, office staff, aides, and students. I would not place my children in any other school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

This school is totally awesome! They really care about the students and their families! I wouldn't have my kids anywhere else!


Posted June 22, 2014

this school is a joke, the secretary at YSA is very rude, I'm really not happy with the staff or the principal. They seemed to be worried about the 'high income' kids. It seems to be all about how much money is coming. terrible experience w the principal, secretary and staff. they lost my daugther for more then 30 minutes, no comunication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

YSA is no doubt the best choice for any parent looking to obtain a grade A education for their child in the lower Colorado river valley. My child is in kindergarten w/ Mrs. Arnold (she rocks!) and comes home everyday eager to put her new found knowledge to work in real world applications! I do not remember learning to spell words at the level she is able to until at least the end of 1st grade maybe 2nd grade. My daughter is definitely gaining a great education because of the passion that the YSA staff bring to school everyday! Now there are a few fall backs to this school but the education my daughter has obtained makes these issues very minuscule: There is a waiting list, no school transportation and a 9 a.m. start time is difficult for parents with normal business hour jobs. A couple perks that make this school helpful to parents: after school program until 6 p.m. at an extremely affordable rate (I think $20 a week), year round school schedule, YSA provides a day care program during school break periods and this school is extremely close knit, everybody know everybody and parents and children can be dealt with on a personal level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

The school is great for education. The teachers seem to really care about the kids. One problem I do have, however, it's that they don't seem to care about offering proper nutrition. They are always being rewarded with pizza, pop, and junk snacks on top of the weekly pizza parties. They even have a teacher that sells candy, soda, snacks. Ithink they give out way to many homework passes. On top of the normal amount homework passes, my child just got another 115 from a pinata at a haloween party! How are they suppose to learn anything?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

This school has a problem with bullying. They state they have a "no bullying policy", yet each child that has been bullied, nothing has been done to those children doing the bullying. Several parents have removed their children this year because of this reason. They feel like a couple previous posters that the kids get away with bad behavior because of donations to the school that their parent's made, one in particular donated $10,000 dollars and their child is a bully who made another student cry almost daily and the most this bully had to do for a punishment was say "sorry". Bullying aside, my child does receive a good education here. I have to remind my child to ignore the drama, favoritism for those with more money and children of teachers/aides (being in the same class the teacher/aide teaches) and just focus on school work, which isn't always easy but in the end bullying happens everywhere and I think at this time schools just don't know how to handle it properly. I did expect better from this school. Unlike the other parents we won't leave the school, but it is sad that the nothing is done to help protect these kids better. There is athletics, music, drama, sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

There are some really good teachers at Young Scholars, and with the help of their aides, there is no excuse for any child to not do well. My daughter comes home almost every day telling me about the drama, which is not the schools fault, but maybe if they had more work to do, there wouldn't be time for this......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I love the teachers and staff at YSA they seam to care about the children. Excellent programs and activities. They welcome parents involvement. My son is looking forward to first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

This school is all about kid's first! With a 1:12 ratio and additional aides to accommodate students, we could not ask for a more effective way to utilize our public education dollars. As a parent, I would like to say that this school excels in all areas that are of significance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

I'm very happy with Young Scholar's Academy! The staff is very helpful and always puts the childrens' best interests first. This is the greatest school I could every have my children attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

Im really not happy with the staff or the principal. They seemed to be more worried about the 'high income' kids. It seems to be all about status there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

My daughter has been going to Young Scholars since Kindergarten, I would not change schools if they paid me to. They actually care about the children and not about making a quota.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

YSA is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff really do care about your childs education. The student/teacher ratios are great and parents are always welcome to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

This school is great! My children have attended there for several years. YSA is indeed a back-to-basics school. The staff cares about each child regardless of income, race, or status. As all local schools have now gone to, YSA requires that the students wear a uniform. They are quite reasonable in cost at about $20 for an outfit. In response to an earlier review, they indeed do have a PE curriculum, art, and a library. In addition, they also have a well maintained computer technology lab which is used by students on a daily basis. The only drawback to YSA is the lack of a cafeteria. Students must either bring their lunch to school, have the parents bring luck to the school, or order it through the school daily from a set menu from a from a local deli. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided for students to use
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

In response to some of the other reviews, YSA is a back-to-basics school. The focus is on academics and achievement for each student. I have been very pleased with my children's progress there. The teachers are warm, patient, caring and creative. On the other hand, they have standards and expect the children and families to place the same value on education. Needless to say, some people will not rise to these standards. I think it is more important for my daughters to get a great foundation in their education and YSA provides that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Young Scholar's Academy provides an excellent education! The staff cares about my child and I am always welcome to participate in any way I can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

Both of my children attended YSA. I wasnt really happy with the staff or the principal. They seemed to be more worried about the 'high income' kids than the regular ones. It was all about status there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2005

Both of my children have been attending YSA since kindergarden. They have both been giving the special attention that they need to succeed.Starting with only a couple classrooms, YSA today has now expanded to a very prestigis school. The prinapal is warm and caring woman who knows all the students by name along with most of the parents names.Which is partly because the large amount of parental involvement. I am extremely satified w/ the schooling both of my children have recieved from YSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

This school is a joke. They have no phys ed cirriculum, no library, no art program, no music program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2003

I think Young Scholar's Academy is a wonderful school. My daughter loves the pre-school program and can't wait to begin Kindergarten. In our area, this charter school, provides a wonderful alternative to the other public schools. There are many terrific parents and students that attend. The teachers and faculty are great too! Overall, it is a super environment for my daughter.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 704-1177

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 E. Valencia Rd.
Bullhead City, AZ 86426
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 704-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Maria Montessori School
Bullhead City, AZ



Desert Valley School
Bullhead City, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT