Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 440 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2013

The website says 15 kids per teacher ,unless your counting every teacher including pe special Ed art music etc and dividing that is not correct there is about 25 to 30 kids per classroom . Especially sense they combined the schools in the area. With very few aids . There is a few very good teachers but if you don't know who they are be careful and keep a close eye on your child . If your child tells you something don't brush it under the rug ,listen and look into it. If there is a problem it's very hard to get anyone to do anything about it , unless you happen to be lucky enough to get one of the few great teachers they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

I love this school my daughters teacher personalizes her homework to her needs. He keeps me informed and stays on top of her work best school she has been in by far
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

I could not be more happy with a school than I am with Sunrise. The principle, Ms. Flatten is wonderful. My son is only in 1st grade, so I can't say with too too much experience, but he loves the school. He had a problem with another child picking on him and the principle and his teacher Ms. Lawrence were so quick to take care of it and make sure it would not happen again. Great parent and family involvement and activities outside of class hours. We have to move and I can truly and honestly say I am so sad to be taking my son out of this school. I wish I could take this entire staff with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

We are new to the area.... well we lived here 15 years ago and now we are back...my great granddaughter goes here and seems to be doing very good, she is a little behind from her school in phoenix...so they want to hold her back... so we will be doing 1st grade over again. But I guess if she needs it then that will just benefit the growth she will make in the future year. But we have no complants so far... seems to be a good scholl.


Posted May 9, 2010

I just had my chidren finish their third year at Sunrise. I have never experienced the variety of teachers. I pull up in the morning or after school and my child is placed in my car. My children have enjoyed the talents of the art teacher Ms. Stubblefield. She has dedicated her talents to the dance program, art club, student council and when she taught music the programs were wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Sunrise Elementary is a newer school. It's teachers attend weekly professional development meeting in order to ensure a quality education for all students. The principal is very professional as is the staff. Students genuinely seem happy and on task. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone with elementary age.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 12, 2009

My experience with this school is not very good the teachers are not teaching anything my son is about to start third grade here which is not good he has been one to two grades ahead of his class from being taught at home! I am thinking about moving to Las Vegas for better education for my son because this school district is pathetic. Teachers are nice but either incompetant or lazy or both
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

currently the school has no active principal or assistant principal ... lacking leadership is an understatement . Parental observation of their child in the classroom / playground environment - is something the school admin. should consider. Morale is low with both personnel & students - some staff members lack professionalism and proper bus. etiquette. Frankly, a team effort is needed in the issues described - but if the school is unwilling for parental participation in important matters - the school is bound to fail . Respectfully , A citizen that endorses above-Quality education -


Posted June 7, 2008

It is unfortunate that the parents on this site do not see what the teachers and staff here have to offer and are willing to do for our students. There has never been a time when I have felt ignored nor have I have ever been greeted with anything other than a smile and a welcoming face. The staff here is wonderful and they go above and beyond their duties, it is obvious Sunrise teachers care about their school and students and would do anything for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

Sunrise Elementary has very poor leadership and unfortunately it shows. The school is very negative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I'm very pleased with the way this school year has started! It is apparent all the staff is at the school for the right reasons! Way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My daughters were new this year to AZ and Sunrise Elementary, they liked it but I didn't notice as much participation from the schools teachers and parents as from our previous schools in another state. Hope 2007-2008 is a better and more active eyar for all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Sunrise has a seroius issue with campus bullies. My child has been harassed on numeruous occasions throughout 2006-2007 school year. I am appalled that no action has been taken to resolve this matter. The principal disregards the parents concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

This school is in trouble. Poor leadership, and too little support. Parents are not welcome in the classroom as helpers, or at the very least are not acknowledged for their efforts. I believe the lack of principal support has caused many of the experienced teachers to go somewhere where they feel more valued. This school has a very good extracurricular program with many dedicated teachers helping out. My child was involved with afterschool basketball, a current events activity called newsbowl, and student council. They allso have dance team for the little ones. I know these activities would not be available if the teachers did not volunteer to help. The feeling I get on the campass is one of watch your back. This is not good for kids. If they could keep teachers there long enough, things might improve some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

I believe that because this is a new school it has it's share of problems still. I hope to see more consistency in the school work. Math especially. Also the art is very poor especially to take home for the holidays for parents. No themes for holidays. Not too creative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

My only problem is that they teach my kindergartener memory instead of phonics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 754-1820

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2645 West Landon Drive
Bullhead City, AZ 86429
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 758-3961

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Maria Montessori School
Bullhead City, AZ


Coyote Canyon School
Bullhead City, AZ


Desert Valley School
Bullhead City, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT