Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Casa Grande Union High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

I have had 3 of my children go here, and I need to say that the past year has been the worst. The new admin. is not in touch with the schools, teachers, students, or anyone. He is ready to cast blame on anyone and everyone but himself. Hiring and firing at his will without reason or a word. It has become the good boys club, if you are his friend, you stay, if not you go. Teachers and students afraid to come school. My student has a 4.0, and always followed the rules, yet was still yelled at, along with the student body. Now I don't feel it is a safe learning environment for my children, and we are out! Enough is enough, and I can't believe the school board is putting up with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

CGUHS is really a decent school--there are plenty of awesome teachers there, and ALL of the AP teachers are the best, and really try their best to make sure the students understand all of the material. A few of the guidance counselors need some improvement there, and sometimes I feel as though the administration and the teachers are on two different pages all of the time, like the administration has no idea about what is really going on or how to handle it. Just like anything in life, what you put into it is what you get out of it--this school has sent kids to Yale, Notre Dame, George Washington, Parsons--and yet, at the same time, there are kids that graduate that stil can't write or do basic algebra, and girls that get pregnant and drop out.Parents are just as important as the teachers and students, and the school shouldnt be to blame for the lack of success of the sudents.Plenty of students are involved with drugs and alcohol, which also plays a role in success of the sudents.This is really a great school, just as long as the parents care as much as the students,and the students care a much as the teachers. If this school had better funding, great things could happen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2010

Great learning programs and good staff for the students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

I love Casa Grande Union High school because of the teachers. They really care about their students and would go above and beyond to help them in any way they can. One teacher in particular really made a difference for me. Her name is Ms. Boenzi-Reed. If it was not for her helping me I would not have graduated,and I am very thankful for that school, and for her.


Posted October 12, 2010

I love CGUHS because they have an awesome group of SADD students who are excited and determined to make a positive difference in the life of their school and community!!!


Posted October 9, 2010

The students are excellent. They want to learn and love their school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

I am the SADD sponsor and the kids are great. I have not had one bad year teaching at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Great spirit...and they have awesome clubs like SADD!


Posted September 29, 2008

I'm sorry but I can't give this school a good rating- maybe it's just because I'm biased, but my son was continually passed from class to class without really being held accountable for studies or even showing up for class! Allbeit, a student must take reponsibility for his or her own actions, the school must as well. If a student is not applying oneself in a study then they have no business being passed to the next level or the next grade. It's time the schools quit 'leaving children behind' and actually raise the bar for a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

We relocated from an area where the school averaged 98% in standardized testing. I was concerned that my son would not receive a 'good' education but, I was pleasantly surprised when we chose his classes and he brought home some of the work. It was alot more challenging than I would have thought. It is a nice school and everyone that I have spoken with has been extremely helpful. I know it will be a '10' school in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

I'm a 2003 graduate of Casa Grande union high school! I enjoyed my time there, there was great faculty, staff and administration, the people who educate there really care about us and want to see all of us do our best! I felt that Casa Grande u.h.s. helped me become a better person and prepare me for the 'real world' and also it was a great place to go thanks!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2006

Great school very good staff and Students! Casa grande,a fast growing city deserves a great high school like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2006

I am a new teacher at the high school and I have been very happy to know that my colleagues are interested in teaching. Everyone I have met has a passion for teaching and a commitment to each individual student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 1, 2006

This school is a good school, but there are a few teachers that are not very helpful. But the overall is ok. The students are nice and the teachers are too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

This school is very low on safety, more security guards or new ones would really be more strict on the school. Other than that this is a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2006

I attended CGUHS, & found little academic support. Excellent teachers: Mr. Linley, Mr. Hassler, Mr. Kissleburg, Mr. Finley ...also the band teacher and Mr. Leybas excelled in the fine arts. Thank goodness for these & my mother who was an educator! BTW, I placed as 1999 All-Academic team in Arizona, even though one teacher at CGUHS told me not to bother with college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 9, 2004

I think this school was not built to the students ability. I go to this school and the administration is not doing there best. They need to act like teachers and not just give students a book to read and answer questions. Most of us dont learn that way. Some teachers are really good geating to know the students and teaching them hands on. Yet othere teachers think that a pile if note taking and reading teaches student . It dosent! They need better administration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2004

Great leadership have helped bring this school's standards up to acceptable levels.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2004

The Pricipal at this school does not communicate well with the parents and does not give you an opportunity to express your concerns. I left a message for the principal to call me regarding an issue with my son and he did not return my phone calls. My husband also called him and he did not return his calls either. When I was at the office asking for clarification on a matter with my son he abrublty told me it's the policy and then walked away from me as if I were not even in the office. In addition the school puts all of their money into the football team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

The unproffesionalism of the instructors at this school is unbelievable. This school should be shutdown, until some professional teachers can be found to replace the questionable current faculty.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 43%
White 33% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 5%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 316-3353

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2730 North Trekell Road
Casa Grande, AZ 85222
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 836-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Vista Grande
Casa Grande, AZ


Desert Winds High School
Casa Grande, AZ



Casa Verde High School
Casa Grande, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT