Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Evergreen Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

The principal and the assistance principal(teacher of record) are very unprofessional ! They show disrespect toward their teachers and parents. The principal do not hire minorities teachers... They like to stereotype minorities...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

The teachers at this school are great, but the administrators are not. The principal is very argumentative and does not follow through when it comes to school programs. My son has been going to this school for the last two years (kinder & 1st) but I am looking for a better school to enroll him and his brother who will be attending kinder this year. If you do not want to get involved much with the school and can supplement teachings you want to give your children, then go for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

Evergreen is a awsome school.I went to Evergreen school almost all my life.I went to Evergreen 1st through 5th grade.I am in fifth grade now i am in fifth grade now and i am sad i have to go to sixth grade.My years at Evergreen have been the best years of my life.I hope i can go and visit Evergreen agian when my little Baby Nicie goes there.I just hope my favorite teacher is still there when i go back.y favorite teacher is Ms.Macauly.If you are reading this Ms.Macauly I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted July 21, 2010

We went to Evergreen for Kindergarten and moved which put us in a different school zone (Ironwood) which was not a good experience. We then went back to Evergreen for second grade and kindergarten of another child and had a wonderful experience. Awesome principal, great staff, all around great. Definitely a positive environment which is hard to find in CG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

I have had a wonderful experience at this school. When I first entered this school I felt like I was at a whole nother home. The staff was always friendly and the school was great at teaching us. They always had a life lesson every week. I now have a huge character wall that was created by Evergreen. Thank you, Your 2008-2009 student body president!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2008

I think this school is so great! Ms.Linch was a great principal but she left for a job,and now we have Mrs.Debbie John and shes great too! We love that school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

I am very happy with this school. My son's teacher is Ms. Baker and she is absolutely great! She is very fair and my son learned a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I am so pleased with this school. Evergreen has the highest marks for acadimic in the district. My child too has benefitted from the structure, and level of care from staff and learning enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

An awesome school. I had a situation with another student bothering my son. The principal took care of it immediately. Staff has always been friendly and helpful to our family. Education is one of the best in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

The staff at this school is not very friendly to parents. They do not make you feel welcome at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

My daughter has been at Evergreen for 3 years (first grade through third grade). Moving here from California I was worried about the level of academic programs. There was really no cause to worry. Evergreen is unique in Casa Grande as it is the school with the most after school academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

I love that my kids attend this school the teachers are excellent and the school is safe, unlike others in the district. My children are learning so much now and enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

I love that my kids attend this school the teachers are excellent and the school is safe, unlike others in the district. My children are learning so much now and enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2003

My son has been going to Evergreen for the last three years. I feel that the teachers attention to the students is wonderful. My son is not self motivated, so the teachers have really put out the effort to get him envolved. One teacher Ms. Tinnin has really made a difference with both of my childern. I am really glad that we were lucky enough to have her teach both of my kids.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 43%
White 23% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 421-0423

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 N Amarillo
Casa Grande, AZ 85222
Phone: (520) 836-2111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Palo Verde School
Casa Grande, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT