Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Villago Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

This is one of the worst schools I have ever had to attend. The staff is disrespectful and looks down on the students. They don't care if the students are learning the material that is being taught. I have struggled with math a lot this year and I think it is because one of our math teachers quit mid-year and the staff couldn't be bothered to find a replacement. During the year we had people come in to grade our school and the teachers were told to be on their "best behavior". The staff doesn't care about the students and I am glad to be going to high school finally.


Posted April 24, 2013

As a teacher at Villago, we have an outstanding team of educators who are each passionate and progressive in our teaching styles. Most schools are struggling to embrace the Common Core guidelines, while we have teachers who have already implemented them into our classrooms. As with all schools, there are weaknesses but overall our programming before, during and after school encourages student leadership and exploration . We have an outstanding Student Council, Band, NJHS, drama, robotics, science olympiad and journalism program. We have high expectations for both academics and behavior. Our staff doesn't solely believe in a punishment based system. We work with each child to develop a relationship first, and use referrals as a final resource. Your child's experience at Villago would be a strong one.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2013

Villago Middle School is great.....if you would settle for mediocrity. I am in all the top classes and am still not challenged. The teachers are great but they are not able to give us all of their knowledge due to what the school board has said. Even the gym classes are bad, we can't even play dodgeball with real dodge balls. The only thing I must say is that if you are forced to move here go to Villago, it's the best you can do for now. After you get out of middle school though, LEAVE, the high schools have nothing to offer. Move the Chandler area and go there, again LEAVE after middle school.


Posted March 23, 2011

There has been quite a turnover in staff this year. The people in charge are creating a lot of stress in the school. They are worried the kids won't pass the aims test. Shouldn't they be concerned that the kids aren't learning how to reason out things? There are many great teachers there but they are not treated with respect by the admin. Of course there are some who get better treatment than others. The students are not treated equally either-- some are allowed to act up & don't get in trouble. Something is wrong there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2011

this is by far the best school i have ever been in! in has awesome teachers and there is no question at all the best band and drum-line not only in the state but in the country! all tough by the best band teacher ever Mr. H


Posted January 12, 2011

In my opinion villago middle school is a school of punishment consequences, and discipline. I have a child with special needs and every time I turn around they are belittling her putting her down giving her Zap and ASD I am so tired of them. You went to school to be a teacher to care for these kids is this how you would want your children treated by other teachers at there schools. This is a job teaching so then teach them the Math the reading the science the social studies and we the (PARENTS) will do our job of raising and discipline to make them responsible mature individuals when they become adults. You have your place as a teacher and we have our place as the parents let's not step over our boundaries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

My daughter is new to the school and so far she likes it very much! I am very impressed with the band teacher as my daughter was thinking of quiting before she started at Villago. My daughter has only good things to say about all of her teachers and I am pleased so far with the level of challenging assignments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

I'm very impressed by the standards the children are held to in both education and life. I would give it a 5 star rating, but i do disagree with the athletics department of not having 6th graders play certain sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

hello, im a student at villago middle school. i must say that i am very pleased. the teachers are very strict but effective. the teachers care about our learning. overall villago is a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2008

Hi, I am a student at vms and I am very pleased. Some teachers are the best and some aren't . Yet the school has an excellent band program along with a great band teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2008

My daughter goes to Villago. I must say that I am very dissapointed. I thought that it being a new school, that it would be rather ..... excelling. But, to my surprise it is actually barely in the average. If your child or if you are a student you will undrstand my concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

I am a parent of a student who attends Villago and have been extremely pleased with the school during it's first year. The administration are strict but effective, the teachers care a lot about the students and the band program is very strong. Villago is a step in the right direction for the CGESD.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 43%
White 27% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 423-0177

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

574 E. Lakeside Parkway
Casa Grande, AZ 85222
Phone: (520) 423-0176

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Logos Christian Academy
Casa Grande, AZ


Cactus Middle School
Casa Grande, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT