Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Traditional School - Casa Grande

Charter | K-8 | 845 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

I love this school. My daughter is about to go in to first grade and in the past year has learned all the letter, sounds, and letter groupings and sounds. She has been doing spelling tests and gets 100% on all. She does book reports and recites poems in front of the classroom. She has done excellent. I love her teacher and all the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS SCHOOL....LANGUAGE FROM STUDENTS, TEACHERS & PARENTS IS HORRIBLY INAPPROPRIATE....NO FAMILY ATMOSPHERE...YOU ARE A NUMBER HERE...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

My son has been going to Legacy for 4 years and it has been a great experience. Though taught at an accelerated level any struggles he has had has been helped with the free tutoring program they have. With this his grades and self confidence has improved greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

I love this school, my boys enjoy going to school. That makes me very happy!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

I love legacy traditional school and I highly recommend it to others! This will be my children's fourth year attending there. I will agree that there is a lot of homework assigned daily but I am in favor of it. It is not the teacher's sole responsibilty to ensure that my children get an education. I like being involved in there learning process. I do have a complaint about classroom sizes and agree that over the last two years they have accepted too many new students into the school. I hope in the future that they take into consideration the size of the parking lot and classroom sizes and do not allow for open enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

My son has gone to kindergarten and first at legacy and I don't love it. I think the back to basics idea works great in the upper grades, but I don't think it should be the same in K-2. The curriculum is not very balanced. Yes, your child will be able to do multiplication in first grade, but in order to achieve that there is a LOT of drill and kill. If I had a sixth grader, I would love legacy. But when you have a kindergartener who don't want to go to school because they are nervous about tests and school work, who are devastated by an 'S' instead of an 'O', it becomes a little much (I don't put this because i have a slow kid- he gets all 'O's). Don't expect smaller classes just because it is a charter. Before it opened, they told us 20-22 kids per class. My son had 30 in his kindergarten class- more than the public school has in their kindergarten. I think if you are going to have such a rigorous curriculum, you need smaller classes. Also, they have mostly young teachers, which isn't in itself a problem, but there is a lot of teacher turnover. I swear half the teachers marry or move each year. I would like a few more seasoned teachers who are going to stick around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

LTS is a WONDERFUL school! We love the advanced, back-to-basics curriculum and the teachers are AWESOME! Most parents do not understand the homework policy (I did not either at first) and therefore they feel like their child/children are completely overwhelmed. If they knew the policy, they wouldn't feel this way (I completely blame this on the school not explaining it further) but I do agree that there is still too much homework. I LOVE that parents are REQUIRED to put in volunteer hours and sign off on their child's homework every night so that parents have to be involved. For Casa Grande, this is definitely the best option for education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

We had our child in this school for 2 years. Originally we were pleased with the school, but it became clear that the student body & parents alike are very 'clique-ish' making it difficult for children outside the predominant faith to make any friends. Although this is a public school, about 85% of the student body is of one particular belief system & it is hard for children on the outside to make friends. As for academics, the phonogram-based language arts curriculum is difficult for children who are not highly academically driven. Saxon Math is a good curriculum but the school s claim to advanced curriculum is nothing more than teaching one grade level ahead & only in Math. The classrooms are extremely structured; too much so. Teachers DO communicate very well with parents, but the school doesn t have the parent involvement or caring leadership that they boast about. Finally, there is an enormous burden of homework on students; more than what is necessary as our 2nd grader approached 60 minutes of homework per day. We gave Legacy a real chance but ultimately we felt it was not the best fit for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

My son just finished Kindergarten at legacy. I loved that it required parent involvement and he had a fantastic teacher, however I felt that the curriculum was not extremely balanced. Maybe it was just that because kindergarten was half day there wasn't a lot of time, but there was almost no art, science, social studies, etc. It was all reading and math. I know that is important, but I remember kindergarten being playdough and art projects. The kindergarteners would be comparing grades and saying how they didn't get all O's and my son would get upset. I would just think, "this is kindergarten! Why in the world are we SO concerned with grades!" I am glad that there is another option out here in casa grande, but I wish there was a school with a more balanced curriculum. Art, music, and group projects do have a place in education. Don't expect a lot of that here. But I do like the environment and the emphasis on character. I just wish there was more balance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

I have two children who attend LTS. I have a friend who is a teacher at a differnt school in the area and he highly recomended LTS to us. This school is advanced and moves at a very fast pace. My daughter was a bit behind at her previous public school and has had a very hard time keeping up with the work here. The school does offer some after school tutoring for children who are struggling with there grades. My son on the other hand has done wonderful and thrives on the challenging work. There is very structured homework assigned each day. Phonograhm review, math worksheets reviewing what they learned in school that day, 30 spelling words to learn each week and 30 minutes of reading per night for every grade. They offer "club" sports for the k-5 grades and team sports for the 6-8 graders. They also do have a strict uniform policy. Being this is a charter school there is not bus service provided, but they do have a great parent pick up procedure. Also, parents are required to volunteer 12 hours per year. Overall all of the teachers are very friendly and do work hard to provide a great learning enviroment for the students. I do recoment this school to friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

Even though my 3 rd grader says there is alot of work at this school, she loves it. There are 6 grading periods so you never go too long without knowing how your child is doing. I love that the staff takes pride in the school, teaches the kids to do the same & that the parents are required to stay involved by vlolenteering a certian number of hours each school year. My kids feel safe here & are encouraged to succeed by the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

We love Legacy! My son is enjoying his learning at Legacy. They have a great structure. All the information a parent needs to stay involved with their child, and teacher throughout the year is all available through the computer. There is never a time when we feel left out as parents. My son says this is a much better school than his old public school. He is excited about how much he has learned there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

I absolutely love working at Legacy. They are all about the kids and making sure that high standards are upheld for academics and behavior. Kids are safe at Legacy and they are greatly valued. The teachers are wonderful and they make parents feel welcome. It is amazing how much the students are learning each day. I am so glad that there is a school like Legacy for students in our area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 9, 2010

LTS is the best thing that has happened to our children. Everyone in the school is so caring and willing ot go out of their way to help the children. LTS encourages parent involvement which I love. The school is challanging to the children enough so that they excell but not so much that they are overwhelmed. I am super impressed with LTS and reccomend it to all! Thank you LTS for being so awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My children have been going to Legacy Tradtional School this school year. I abousolutly love it for them. They tell me that this is there favorate school. I think this school gives my children something that a public school can't.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Hispanic 39% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1274 E. O'Neil Drive
Casa Grande, AZ 85222
Phone: (520) 423-9999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cholla Elementary School
Casa Grande, AZ


Ironwood School
Casa Grande, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT