Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Annunciation Catholic School

Private | 1-4 | 170 students

ACS is best known for our high academic standards within a faith community
 
 

 

Living in Cave Creek

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2014

I've gone to this school for 4 years and all I see is growth in faith, education, and friends. This school has been awesome to go to. The kids here are amazing and they welcome us all.


Posted July 23, 2014

Many of the children were not kind towards others at this school. A lot of bullying went unnoticed. Your child will be stuck with the same children year after year. The curriculum is worksheet-based. There is no set math nor language arts curriculum. No STEM whatsoever. The administration is focused on growing the school rather than improving its processes. The children are out playing in excessive heat for 30 minutes and eat outside for another 15 minutes - 45 minutes in over 100 degree weather! If you send your child here, please volunteer frequently to keep an eye on things. In the parent versus children soccer game, the parents actually played to win - so sad! One parent ran so fast and knocked my child over! I don't think the good teachers get the support and praise they deserve from administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Just an amazing place where the students are treated with respect and dignity, and are challenged to do the same. They are so happy to be here!


Posted September 29, 2013

My daughter loves going here. She has made a lot of friends. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

Annunciation Catholic school provides exceptional benefits vs other elementary programs, both public and charter. If you really know how academic content should be implemented to ensure student success, you can appreciate the tireless efforts of the teachers and principals of this school. Although still in the growth stage as far as the physical structures on the campus, they've put their student's spiritual and academic needs first. Proof of success is evidenced by high test scores, meaningful internal student assessments, and loving, Christ-filled children. Because of the integral mortal and spiritual faith programming at ACS, I myself have learned to appreciate my faith more because of this school. Parents looking to provide their child with a small, sincere and loving environment that truly brings academic potential forward should take a serious look at this little gem in the North valley. After experiencing larger chaotic schools, it's refreshing to see that they take their mission so seriously. Our child is beyond happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

Mrs Goldberg in 3rd grade is phenomenal! Her manner is focused, loving, engaging and effective. I'm impressed with her calm manner with my child. From Senora Graves in Spanish, Mrs Ross in art, and Mrs Trayer in music, the specials are phenomenal at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

We couldn't be more thrilled that we found the community at ACS. My child struggled a bit at public school, and we felt we could use a bit more of a smaller atmosphere. We stumbled upon ACS, and called for a tour. We were so impressed, and knew immediately this was the right place for our family. ACS is truly a family atmosphere. The teachers and parents are all so caring and involved. Sharon Pristash is involved with everything from top to bottom, and at every event. I know that my children are extremely cared for at school, as much as they would be at home. The teachers always go the extra mile, all the parents donate their time and talents to make sure that ACS is providing the best education, atmosphere and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Annunciation is a wonderful place to learn. The teachers are all committed to the advancement of the students. They are kind, yet firm. The students love school so much they hate to leave at the end of the day. The motto of the school is "All are welcomed". All the kid feel safe and respected here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Annunciation is a wonderful place for children to learn and grow. Not only are the teachers & academics top notch, but children learn how to be good and well rounded people. Moral values, service to the community, sharing, and a variety of after school activities allowing growth in the fine arts help students grow. This is all done without a permanent facility! We look forward to the day we break ground on our permanent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Annunciation Catholic School boast a terrific academic record, provides extracurricular activities including music, PE, art and after school clubs. Spanish is taught in every grade, all taught with the values, morals and ethics of Catholic Faith. All the teachers are practicing Catholics. Most importantly, the children here are loved, each and every day by teachers, the amazing principal Mrs Pristash, and the families who attend and volunteer to make this a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Annunciation Catholic School is a rare place where what's best for the students is foremost in the minds of the administration and parents alike. Parents can have a respectful and open dialog with the principal and pastor while counting on them to provide stellar academic instruction and sound Catholic teachings. They do all of this without being stuffy or placing restrictive rules on every little thing. My child has blossomed at this school; she loves her teachers and principal and has a healthy respect for her classmates and any differences they may have in learning styles. The teaching staff is extremely committed to the well-being of all students and the parent base in incomparable when it comes to supporting this school. We are proud to be a part of it and excited to watch this growing school become one of the greatest schools in the far north valley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

It is such an amazing school, teachers are great friendly, caring compassionate. our principal just awesome. My son is receiving great catholic education which is what we want, academics he is way above other kids, he is now in chess tournamets because of after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

During my long educator career, I've taught in 4 different districts at all grade levels, Annunciation Catholic School shines in the top 5% of those schools. I believe one of the biggest reasons that ACS is outstanding is the leadership of Dr. Pristash. She sets the tone of the school. The teachers whom she has hired have a high academic standards that they hold their students to, the teachers are more than competent and work with each student to find the correct pathway to achieve academic excellence. The school boast specialists in art, music, PE and Spanish knowing that students need a variety of ways to learn. Building lifelong learning traits begins young. The learning team includes specialized teaching aides in reading and math with after school programs in chess, sewing and karate and a counselor. The volunteer parent cadre is the backbone of the school. Parents who have a vested interest in the success of the school create a portion of the advisory council. The notion that it takes a village to raise a child is taken to heart at this school. You know it is working from the smiles on students' faces and the compassion they show each other as you walk through the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 7, 2013

Our son has been at annunciation for two years and at Our Lady of Joy Preschool/ Kindergarten prior. We absolutely love Annunciation, top notch academics, loving and caring staff and the Administration cares %110 about your children and family as a whole. We have met life long friends/ families at ACS and will continue through till graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Annunciation Catholic School is a unique place where visitors see smiling students who are eager and happy to learn in an environment that both cherishes and challenges them, It's not merely an excellent school, but also a faith-based learning community "where all are welcomed" into the loving arms of Christ to grow in wisdom and grace. Characterized by an outstanding leader who has assembled a well-educated and professional staff, Annunciation delivers a challenging Catholic curriculum closely aligned with the Common Core state and diocesan standards.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 7, 2013

We found a school that provides a supportive and loving environment for the children where children learn to respect others and love God. My family and friends have made comments of how respectful and polite my son has become since attending the school. We came from a school where disrespect for others was tolorated or dismissed. He is more settled in who he is because of the constant reinforcement from his teachers and principal at Annunciation regarding the importance of being a person of great charactor. My son needed to be challenged scholastically and the public school could not provide it. The children's test scores prove that the school teaches at least 1 grade above the publci schools. I would highly recommend the school to anyone who is looking for a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

The most wonderful school in the world! There is no other school that "walks the walk" like Annunciation Catholic School. I have three children enrolled there for the last two years. Due to moves from work transfers, this is our third Catholic elementary school. The Principal is unlike any other principal or dedicated educator that we have ever witnessed. Annunciations Catholic School (ACS) is a supportive family, dedicated to teaching stewardship and citizenship, excelling and emphasizing academics while creating a safe, loving and accepting environment for the kids and parents alike. One of my children has some minor special needs and the entire staff is tuned-in and supportive, caring and dedicated to helping and educating all the children without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

Our son has attended Annunciation for the last three years. He has become the polite and caring person he is today largely because of the great balance of a stellar teaching staff, hands-on principal, and superb religious education. Annunciation's academics are comparable to any other top school in the valley without the pricetag. This is a strong blossoming community with dedicated, involved parents. We feel fortunate that our family is a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

Excellent school with highest-quality education in core subject necessary for success and plenty of sizzle with after-school enrichment programs.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 42%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Spelling Bee (2012)
  • Science Fair (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Sharon Pristash
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Clay
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Game club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Running Club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
170
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
200

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32648 North Cave Creek Road
Cave Creek, AZ 85331
Phone: (480) 361-8234

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Dynamite Montessori
Cave Creek, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT