Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Willow Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2005

What can I say? Great school with lots of parental involvement. Many good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Excellent school if you have the right teachers for your student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

The teachers are very attentive to the student needs. They offer music programs as well as sports. And, there are multiple areas of parental involvement which are highly encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

We just moved to the area over the summer and have been very pleased with the staff, teachers, children, and families at DWES. It is a family oriented community and the school is very community centered. We love our son's 3rd grade teacher Mrs. Hatcher! We are looking forward to the continued development of the Gifted Program that was recently put into place. It definitely needs to expand to meet the needs of these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

As a parent of a kindergartener, I think that Desert Willow is great. My son's teacher Mrs. Skalski is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2004

I am new to the Desert Willow area and I must say that I am extremely satisfied with the school. In particular, I am very pleased with Mrs. Carol Tully. Mrs. Tully is an excellent teacher who cares about each and every child in the school and is dedicated to providing them with the best oppurtunities in their educations. Kudos to Mrs. Tully and Desert Willow Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

I have 2 children who have attended Desert Willow. I am so pleased with all the teachers and staff, and Mrs. Woodward (the principle) I can't say enough about her. She loves the kids and they love her. She is a great role model and leader. We will miss Desert Willow greatly as we move onto middle school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2003

We are new to AZ. Coming from a privite school in the midwest to a large public school was a change,but I am very pleased with Mrs. Tully, one of the fourth grade teachers. She makes the time to call and talk about our kids,special attention to every aspect of learning. My daughter and I just love her,and are very thankful her first experence with public is a good one. Nancy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Great group of teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2003

Desert Willow is truly a community school. The teachers and staff are A+ quality. The staff development provided by Ms. Woodward, is exceptional. The PTO and parent involvment is out of this world. Now with the new Spanish Emersion program, Desert Willow will be a model school for all elementaries.


Posted April 4, 2003

Our son just started at Desert Willow this year in 1st Grade and we love the school. We can't say enough about his teacher, Mrs. Tibbits!! Ms. Woodward, the principal is very involved and the teachers seem to respect her and trust her leadership.


Posted October 15, 2002

Desert Willow elementary is a wonderful school for children. Ms. Woodward, the principal, has incredible leadership skills. The teachers and students recieve unconditional support from her knowledge and educational skills.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 419-7265

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4322 E Desert Willow Parkway
Cave Creek, AZ 85331
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 575-2021

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Dynamite Montessori
Cave Creek, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT