Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pomeroy Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I would like to say a big Thank you to Mrs. Flanary and Ms. Pam. Also, Ms. Misty and Ms. Anne. The SPED and speech team: Mrs. Kroll, Mrs. Moreno, and Ms. Rice. They are so supportive and always willing to help. A Big Thank you to the principal, Dr. Driscoll, for listening to the needs of my children.

Pomeroy Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Students practice subjects everyday. They help each other understand and are encouraged to not give up.


Pomeroy Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Students help in the cafeteria and in their classrooms. They understand if they make a mess they clean it. They are responsible for they actions.

Pomeroy Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Students reflect on their actions and how they fit in to the school. Teachers care about students and guide the students in effective problem solving.

Pomeroy Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The principal always makes sure to get all sides of the story and has the students fill in reports to make sure students are treated fairly. They also have a buddy program where students help other students solve problems on the playground.


Pomeroy Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
My sons are in the Montessori program at Pomeroy and we absolutely love the program and the school. The minute you walk on campus there is a sense of community and positive energy. The staff is wonderful and very supportive. The communication is great and both my sons love their teachers. The office staff always takes care of anything I need and are willing to help. I love this school.

Pomeroy Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
We have truly enjoyed our experience at Pomeroy! Our teachers have been wonderful additions to our family! We have had Mrs Cullymore for both of our kids' kindergarten and we absolutely adore her! She goes above and beyond for every student in her class, as evident from the long hours and weekends she spends at school. She truly has each child in mind when she creates her activities and lessons. She takes the time to work with each child individually, whether they are at, above, or below grade level. Mrs Cullymore, Mrs Downey, and Mrs Childs have been such welcoming and enthusiastic players in our learning environment. Even though she was retiring after this year, Mrs Downey still brought fun activities like hatching chicks and watching caterpillars turn into butterflies! We will miss her! We have been happy to participate each year in such memorable activities at Pomeroy like: Fall Festival, the Halloween costume parade, the Kindergarten holiday program, and the end of the year water day!

Pomeroy Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a community member
This is our 3rd year at Pomeroy, with 2 at the school. We have many children and dealt with many elementary schools Principal's and teachers. This school, by far, has been the best. Dr Driscoll is excellent and knows each student by name! He takes your concerns seriously and when deemed appropriate, makes and takes administrative action to see the children are safe and succeed. Paula Cullymore has been the best Traditional Kindergarten teacher! We will continue to request her for our younger children. She loves her job, the kids and the school. She puts in countless hours before/after school and on the weekend. She is very active in keeping the parents informed with emails and notes home. You will always know what is going on. By far the best traditional public school we have been apart of. Look forward to many years with Pomeroy.


Pomeroy Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter and son both attend Pomeroy Montessori. They have had great teachers and Principal Dr. Driscol is a great with the kids and informative with parents. He knows the students by name. I would highly recommend Pomeroy Montessori. The teachers we had that were great are Jenny Shope, Jane Lemon, Betty Roth. Ms. Erickson the Speech therapist is amazing.

Pomeroy Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
This school is very well made, except for the fact they make VERY gross lunches that made me vomit, and their playground aids would put you in time out just for running. And the filthy bathrooms!!! This school for the most part is pretty good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pomeroy Elementary School
1507 West Shawnee Dr., Chandler, AZ  85224
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (480) 472-3700
Last modified Pomeroy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top