Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert and Danell Tarwater Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 803 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2008

'08 is my son's second year at Tarwater. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful, experienced teaching staff, most with 10+ years of experience. We couldn't ask for a better school in our neighborhood. Principal Hensley is very friendly and involved. He recongnizes nearly every student by name. And he even ate a fried worm- how cool is that?! And where was he on the first day of school?? He was greeting kids at the drop-off drive thru! Art Masterpiece is a fun, diverse program for the students & teachers. The staff is focused on involving every student and bringing out their individuality. They have excellent tutoring for students who need a lil extra help. The teachers are great at communicating. Tarwater Toros Rule!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

My child has attented Tarwater for 5 years. If your child fits into the 'perfect' mold of how a child should perform academically and socially you will likely be happy with this school. If your child presents with classroom or social challenges that do not fit into the special needs criteria, I am not sure that you will happy. I have found very few teachers willing to communicate with me regularly so I am able to 'Stay on top' of my child's learning. I have seen the teachers and principal show definate favoritism to the 'popular' kids crowd, rather than giving extra positive kudos to all kids who need them. There us a lot of time spent teaching toward 'testing' success on 'Standardized' testing, and not a lot of time spent teaching success in academics. Testing results do not show the big picture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

I would rate Tarwater Elementary School an A+. It is an Excelling school in AZ for 3 years in a row and we are very fortunate and proud to have this school in our neighborhood. Great principal, teachers and staff! We love Tarwater Elementary! We could never ask for anything more because we have it all in Tarwater Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

I am very happy with Tarwater Elementary. The principle is great, very involved! The parent involvement is great and the opprotunities to be involved is good as well. Children have music, art, computer, and PE once a week. I wish they had PE more fequently. They have a running club (inthe winter) that is very well attended by all grade levels. We are very happy at Tarwater.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

The school appears to have the best intentions of every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

Tarwater offers after school tutoring programs for challenged students. I dont believe that they focus on sports as much as the do arts. The parent involvement is there. Noone seems to question the way Tarwater is ran because it gives a great impression.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

The quality of education at Tarwater is excellent. The principal runs a very organized institution, and makes a pleasant environment for both staff and students. I have been extremely pleased with all of my child's teachers. They have all created a pleasant and structured learning environment. They all encourage parent participation and involvement. The only minor complaint I have is that there are not enough afterschool sports for the children under 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

Great special education programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

My two sons attend Tarwater Elementary. I have watched it grow into an excellent school. Jeff Hensley cares about his students and his staff. He has high standards and makes sure every child does not get left behind. Tarwater teachers back him and are wonderful. The Art Masterpiece program this year is also excelling. They have new directors and it has been great so far. Tarwater has plenty of extracurricular activities and as part of the PTO at Tarwater, we have excellent parent participation for all of our events. Tarwater is a top elemenatary school, no doubt about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

Tarwater Elem has been a very good school for my children. It gives the children a 'community feel' experience. On any given day you will find the principal greeting students as they arrive, calling most of them by their first name. The teachers 'care' about the students' overall welfare. I believe they do everything possible to help the children succeed in life. I have two children that have attended or are still attending Tarwater Elem. in the last three years and they are average to above average students. In both children's case, the teachers have been able to bring out the best in my children's abilities while helping them achieve the next level of their capabilities. The down side to the school district is in their lack of a weekly art program and in the lunches served. Overall, I don't sit at work and worry about them at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2004

My child has gone to ANLC since they were 5 years old. It is a school where I feel that the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their own personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2003

This is our first year at Tarwater and we are very pleased with the quality of the teachers as well as the involvement of the principal in all aspects of the school. It is obvious to us that the reason for the high scores at this school rest very much with the quality of instruction and leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2003

Tarwater is an outstanding school! After 2 mediocre principals, we have finally found an excellent leader in Jeff Hensley. Overall, the teachers are very good, and always willing to communicate with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2300 South Gardner Drive
Chandler, AZ 85286
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Casa del Nino
Chandler, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT