Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Marcos Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 522 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, April 19, 2014

This school is excellent, the principle holds the teachers accountable and the teachers really care about the kids. Our kids love the school and the teachers, I swear my son gets more gifts for his teacher on valentines day then my wife. Some people post reviews about their kids being "rejected" I saw below, and they are not posting the entire story. We had another family at the school whos child has ADD and he is on his meds...the staff has always been very supportive of him. Now when he isnt on his meds, they will separate him out and ask home to bring meds. He becomes a distraction to the other students and it isnt fair to them. So the parent below, most likely was the later circumstance. The school will work with you to get you the support you need, but if you are not a RESPONSIBLE parent, and expect the school to be the parent of your kid for you...you shouldnt expect all of the other children to suffer. One thing to be warned about, a lot of parents in this part of town, do not care about their kids education. However as long as you are a responsible parent, these teachers will improve your kids abilities drastically, our 1st grader now reads at a 4th grade level
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

I don't like the kindergarten teachers here. They are expecting too much from the new kindergarteners. For a moment I thought are they in First grade already or what. There's this very short haired teacher who loves to complain about her/his students if asked. Don't like this this district at all. It's true the kids have to place their backpacks on the floor to wait for their teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

My kids have gone to San Marcos since Pre-school. They teachers were great to my kids but the office staff could care less about the kids. My son was rejected and discriminated there because he has ADD and they didn't want to deal with him there so they used the best tool they had to get rid of him. They rejected his out of boundary application for next year because they stated he was getting in trouble. They overlooked the documentation saying he needs and IEP. They preferred to look the other way and it meant nothing to them that he had been there since pre-school. The younger grades are great, but watch out for 5th and 6th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

We have had a very positive experience at this school. I was nervous for my daughter to attend after seeing the low score it received here, but we were pleasantly surprised. My daughter is in special education at San Marcos. The teacher and class aides are phenomenal. I don't have any significant interaction with the rest of the school staff, but I can say I am very happy with the education my child has received this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

My children attend San Marcos and all them have been in honor roll since they have been there. The teachers are great and they go out of their way to make sure every child gets the opportunity to succeed! San Marcos has a great reading block program that benefits each child. Although, it is very hard to have any parent support or have any parents volunteer for events. I believe this is because most of the childrens' parents are spanish speaking only or they simply don't have the time to do it. But staff does a great job in fullfilling this duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

My daughter did well at San Marcos. We just don't care for the uniforms and moved to a different school in Chandler. All the teachers I've worked with over the last 6 years have been inspirational to my dughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

I found that I liked the teachers, but I dont feel as if they had a strong grasp of the academics that needed to be taught- many kids could barely speak english. I dont recall any art being taught maybe a 30 min a week music class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2003

Excellent school with excellent staff. Students learn at this school!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 42%
White 7% 42%
Black 6% 5%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 883-4220

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

451 West Frye Road
Chandler, AZ 85225
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 883-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT