Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shumway Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 4 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2013

Shumway has endured a complete change, I often wonder if I am dropping my kids off to the correct school. Many good things, though many are not so good. Dr. Brenner seems to have to have a hand on everything, and everything she touches does not turn out well. She doesn't seem to be aware though, as she isn't visable any longer. Except at parent pick up and drop off, which changes constantly, yet nothing was really wrong with the old way. Everything is a production with this micromanager. I am just glad I would never have to work for her. I feel bad for the teachers and see another huge turn over coming at the end of the year. The teachers are constantly on edge, feeling like everything has to be ran past her before they can confirm anything. She has no faith or trust in her very wise staff. Its sad because they will leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

I am a student that was there for 8 years and now I'm going to junior high, but I'm not very impressed about this school. For one thing, our former principal wasn't very nice. But luckily, a new principle is coming to the school, but I know nothing about her. Most teachers are nice but only one teacher that I've ever had had stayed with the school. Because none of the teachers really liked that school. The staff is really nice, in fact I became good friends with the consular. She helped me when I got bullied. And that wasn't to bad. But the environment of the school is terrible. First, there is a huge open park that a lot of times we had gangs coming to the school. Another thing is there is vandalizing. The parks are trashed with bear cans, graffiti's with swear words where marked on the school, and fire ants around the school. And the portables are just always to hot or to cold and there is a huge bug problem at the school. Also there is a lot fights and bullys at there. But the former principle has tried to stop this. Overall, I suggest this school for little kids. Please explore your alternatives before placing a child in this environment.


Posted May 12, 2013

Shumway is great. I feel that it is a very safe school focused on education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

This school has declined horribly and with redistricting is full of children who curse at staff, beat up classmates, exchange pornographic websites and definitely don't focus on schoolwork. The principal is more concerned with low performers and coddling bullies. Please explore your alternatives before placing a child in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2011

We Love Shumway! Great teachers and staff, Wonderful music and band programs, Positive learning environment. My kids love their school. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

I have 7 year old twins at this school and they love it as do I. The teachers at the lower grades are loving and caring and it shows in my childrens positive attitudes. My children are excited everyday about going to school, so as a parent I'm also excited to have them enrolled in this fine school. Excellent job to all the staff at Shumway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

I have recently decided to take my child out of this school for a number of reasons. First, the principal is not interested in concerns of the parents. Yes, he is visible at the school, but he does not communicate effectively with the parents or address their concerns. Second, the test scores have dropped over the past two years. Third, the bullies at this school are handled with kid gloves while children that strive to do their best are treated like second rate. It has become a huge disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

This school has great teachers but the school has a bully problem that is not adequately addressed. While the princiapl may walk around campus, he is very hard to reach and does not return phone calls promptly. In 2007 , the school did not meet district standards in writing on the AIMS testing. The school needs to make a committment to our children and address current bullying issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

My son has been at Shumway for 3 years now. We have had wonderful, smart, enthusiastic teachers every year! The music teacher is funny, the PE teacher is great at making sure that the kids have fun, and the principal is very accessible (he is always walking around the school and pops into the classrooms). The computer mediation in the classrooms are outstanding! Every classroom has a computer projector, which allows the teacher to surf the web and show DVDs. Plus, they are getting smart boards so the teachers can write things down and they will appear on the screen. The morning announcements are 'televised' and the principal keeps everyone up to date via e-newsletters. This school is wonderful! My second son starts in the fall and he can't wait. Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

We've been at Shumway Elementary now for almost a year. We have no complaints about either leadership or staff or educational excellence. We especially love the many extracurricular activities like Drama Club and Choir that are above and beyond anything offered at our former school which is rated a 9 in Great Schools' system. We are very satisfied with Shumway. Thanks for doing such a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

I love Shumway! Our boundary is for another Chandler school, but I chose Shumway for it's wonderful staff and teachers! The environment is full of love and nurturing to that of the students and the community overall. The music department is outstanding, and the extras, like running club, offer something for all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

My child was at another chandler elementary school for kindergarten. Per his teacher there, he had difficulty making friends, was physically aggressive, and was always in trouble. This year he's been at shumway and what a difference. He is exceeding in all subjects and teacher has not had any problems with him. Just goes to show you what a difference a great teacher and great school can make!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

We have been very fortunate to have been a part of the Shumway community for six years. The teachers have always been well qualified and professional. When diffcult situations have happened - all questions were answered and the resolution very useful. The parent organization is very involved and there is a terrific support staff as well. There is also an excellent music and physical education program. The 'art masterpiece' and ceramics are good programs that teache many different styles of art. This school also has exceptional special educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

I have had no real problems with the school, and have had a good experience with the all day kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Wow! What a great school! We have had very good luck with teachers each year challenging our children. This year we are particularly pleased with the number of extracurricular activities planned for the year because it's these things that truely make school fun. This year the kids can take part in chorus, running club, math club, drama club, stock market club, band, sports, and drama club. They're eager to do it all! Our principal has the highest standards for the kids and we love the Character Counts program to help instill good character traits in our children while at school. The PTO is busy, not pushy, gets the job done and has helped provide many additional programs and extra's in addition to planning family fun events. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

We love Shumway. My daughter attended kindergarten at Shumway and then we moved to Maryland for three years. When we decided to move back to Arizona, we only wanted to go back to Shumway Elementary. My daughter is now in the CATS program (and loves it) and my son is in Grade 4. They both love their school. The teachers are excellent and the principal is caring. Special classes include: music, band, orchestra, library, and PE. The school also offers art masterpiece, ceramics, running club, and much more. The PTO organize lots of great family events -- all in all -- a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

We are new to Shumway. Overall I am content. The only concern I have is in my child's classroom, all the students were given exactly the same coursework and instruction. That may be the way it is done in this school district but in the school my child attended previously, each student progressed at his/her own rate. My child is not gifted and doesn't need to be in an accelerated program, but my child was quite bored in class. There was a great discrepency in student abilities in that classroom. The homework was a incredibly easy, as well. On several occasions I asked the teacher to guide me in giving my child more challenging work at home but she was not able to find the time. I wonder if my child is attending the right school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Special needs parents - my son is a high functioning autistic. The special needs program and teacher are fantastic. However, when he was mainstreamed into a regular classroom he failed horribly. The teacher in the regular classroom always sent him to the principals office whom sugguested medication. Shumway didn't provide the aide he needed to function in the regular classroom, nor did they follow his iep. They wanted to transfer him to an ed (emotional disturbance)classroom at another school. Two other parents told me to move out of the chandler district before our son was enrolled.We moved two years later and now our son is excelling in a regular classroom with an aide to assist him when needed. If your child will always be in a self-contained classroom the chandler district will work for you. If your child can be mainstreamed expect problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

I am not at all impressed with Shumway. It's very poor music and PE classes really need to be made over. I didn't include Art because there isn't one. The teachers are really good, but they are all leaving to go to better schools now. They have several empty classrooms. The school looks like a huge mess. The principal is very good, but definantly has her work cut out for her. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone. Definantly go to the Kyrene district if your moving to the Chandler area. I feel sad for my child that they are going to a school that in the end limits his learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

School programs are adequate, but not excellent. Extracurricular activities are very basic. Good quality teachers, but inadequate recess equipment and often removed (but not replaced) for disrepair. Cafeteria staff inadequate, harse with students verbally. Music department very good, but only available to upper grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 36% 43%
Black 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1325 N. Shumway Avenue
Chandler, AZ 85225
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Basis Chandler
Chandler, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT