Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shumway Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
I removed my sons from Shumway at the end of last school year and moved them to Finley Farms Elementary School in Gilbert this school year. I couldn't be happier with our new school. Shumway has LOTS of behavioral issues with students. So many bullies and physical altercations and very little punishment given. Academically, the school is not challenging. While they focus on reading and writing, I don't feel they push the students enough in math. I had to do a lot of extra math practice with my kids this summer, in order to make sure they were ready for the next school year. Finally, the new principal is more concerned about micromanaging the student drop off in the morning instead of addressing the behavioral issues at the school or trying to get to know the students.

Shumway Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Shumway has endured a complete change, I often wonder if I am dropping my kids off to the correct school. Many good things, though many are not so good. Dr. Brenner seems to have to have a hand on everything, and everything she touches does not turn out well. She doesn't seem to be aware though, as she isn't visable any longer. Except at parent pick up and drop off, which changes constantly, yet nothing was really wrong with the old way. Everything is a production with this micromanager. I am just glad I would never have to work for her. I feel bad for the teachers and see another huge turn over coming at the end of the year. The teachers are constantly on edge, feeling like everything has to be ran past her before they can confirm anything. She has no faith or trust in her very wise staff. Its sad because they will leave.


Shumway Elementary School 2

Posted July 10, 2013
- a community member
I am a student that was there for 8 years and now I'm going to junior high, but I'm not very impressed about this school. For one thing, our former principal wasn't very nice. But luckily, a new principle is coming to the school, but I know nothing about her. Most teachers are nice but only one teacher that I've ever had had stayed with the school. Because none of the teachers really liked that school. The staff is really nice, in fact I became good friends with the consular. She helped me when I got bullied. And that wasn't to bad. But the environment of the school is terrible. First, there is a huge open park that a lot of times we had gangs coming to the school. Another thing is there is vandalizing. The parks are trashed with bear cans, graffiti's with swear words where marked on the school, and fire ants around the school. And the portables are just always to hot or to cold and there is a huge bug problem at the school. Also there is a lot fights and bullys at there. But the former principle has tried to stop this. Overall, I suggest this school for little kids. Please explore your alternatives before placing a child in this environment.

Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
Shumway is great. I feel that it is a very safe school focused on education.

Shumway Elementary School 1

Posted August 03, 2012
- a parent
This school has declined horribly and with redistricting is full of children who curse at staff, beat up classmates, exchange pornographic websites and definitely don't focus on schoolwork. The principal is more concerned with low performers and coddling bullies. Please explore your alternatives before placing a child in this environment.


Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2011
- a parent
We Love Shumway! Great teachers and staff, Wonderful music and band programs, Positive learning environment. My kids love their school. We couldn't be happier.

Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2010
- a parent
I have 7 year old twins at this school and they love it as do I. The teachers at the lower grades are loving and caring and it shows in my childrens positive attitudes. My children are excited everyday about going to school, so as a parent I'm also excited to have them enrolled in this fine school. Excellent job to all the staff at Shumway.

Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Shumway Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 06, 2009
- a parent
I have recently decided to take my child out of this school for a number of reasons. First, the principal is not interested in concerns of the parents. Yes, he is visible at the school, but he does not communicate effectively with the parents or address their concerns. Second, the test scores have dropped over the past two years. Third, the bullies at this school are handled with kid gloves while children that strive to do their best are treated like second rate. It has become a huge disappointment.

Shumway Elementary School 3

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shumway Elementary School
1325 N. Shumway Avenue, Chandler, AZ  85225
(480) 812-7600
Last modified Shumway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shumway Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews.