Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
We have been a part of Shumway for 13 years! The school gets better year after year! The principal and staff are fantastic. The special ed teacher is amazing!

Shumway Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My son has always had an amount of homework that was just enough. He plays competitive football on 2 teams and is busy after school. With the amount of homework given, he is still able to do all his extra curricular activities and get the homework done. My daughter also was able to complete her homework in a timely manner. She is a competitive dancer and dances more than 15 hours a week. She still maintained her grades and got her work done while at Shumway.


Shumway Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Rea, Mrs. Jones, Mrs. Milkovich, Ms. Hamill, Mr. Tuttle & Mrs. Landon are just a few who have made an impact on my kiddos. Thank you for all that you do and have done to help them be successful!

Shumway Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My son LOVES to go to school and a big part of that is because of his teachers! Teachers like Ms. Rea, Mrs. Jones and Mrs. Milkovich and the reason he is improving and loving school!

Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My kids have attended Shumway since 2013. My son started in 2nd grade and is now in 4th. Every teacher he has had has been amazing! They all have taken the time to really work with him. He does leave class for assisted instruction in certain areas and is getting all the extra help he needs. His reading has improved dramatically! My daughter who is now in Middle School also, enjoyed her time at Shumway. From the wonderful ladies up front in the office, to the librarian, the music teacher, the PE teacher, or any of the other teachers/assistants that we have had over our time at Shumway, I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking to attend. We never lived in the Chandler district and now that we are 20 minutes away, I continue to drive my son to a school where I know he is safe and all of his needs are met. We'll be finishing out his elementary days right here! We are happy to be Shumway Stars!


Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
We love Shumway. The teachers are wonderful!! This year, they are offering a Sports League, a free Sports League!! We signed up right away and cannot wait for the season to start. Both of my children doing very well academically and socially. And while no child is perfect, I believe that the punishments/consequences given fit the crime. Another big change this this year is the implementation of the 7 Habits of Highly Successful People philosophy with the students. My children are coming home talking about being "Proactive" and KNOWING what that means. Such a great idea!! Building CEOs from the ground up. Keep it up Shumway!!

Shumway Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
I removed my sons from Shumway at the end of last school year and moved them to Finley Farms Elementary School in Gilbert this school year. I couldn't be happier with our new school. Shumway has LOTS of behavioral issues with students. So many bullies and physical altercations and very little punishment given. Academically, the school is not challenging. While they focus on reading and writing, I don't feel they push the students enough in math. I had to do a lot of extra math practice with my kids this summer, in order to make sure they were ready for the next school year. Finally, the new principal is more concerned about micromanaging the student drop off in the morning instead of addressing the behavioral issues at the school or trying to get to know the students.

Shumway Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Shumway has endured a complete change, I often wonder if I am dropping my kids off to the correct school. Many good things, though many are not so good. Dr. Brenner seems to have to have a hand on everything, and everything she touches does not turn out well. She doesn't seem to be aware though, as she isn't visable any longer. Except at parent pick up and drop off, which changes constantly, yet nothing was really wrong with the old way. Everything is a production with this micromanager. I am just glad I would never have to work for her. I feel bad for the teachers and see another huge turn over coming at the end of the year. The teachers are constantly on edge, feeling like everything has to be ran past her before they can confirm anything. She has no faith or trust in her very wise staff. Its sad because they will leave.


Shumway Elementary School 2

Posted July 10, 2013
- a community member
I am a student that was there for 8 years and now I'm going to junior high, but I'm not very impressed about this school. For one thing, our former principal wasn't very nice. But luckily, a new principle is coming to the school, but I know nothing about her. Most teachers are nice but only one teacher that I've ever had had stayed with the school. Because none of the teachers really liked that school. The staff is really nice, in fact I became good friends with the consular. She helped me when I got bullied. And that wasn't to bad. But the environment of the school is terrible. First, there is a huge open park that a lot of times we had gangs coming to the school. Another thing is there is vandalizing. The parks are trashed with bear cans, graffiti's with swear words where marked on the school, and fire ants around the school. And the portables are just always to hot or to cold and there is a huge bug problem at the school. Also there is a lot fights and bullys at there. But the former principle has tried to stop this. Overall, I suggest this school for little kids. Please explore your alternatives before placing a child in this environment.

Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
Shumway is great. I feel that it is a very safe school focused on education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shumway Elementary School
1325 N. Shumway Avenue, Chandler, AZ  85225
(480) 812-7400
Last modified Shumway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shumway Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top