Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shumway Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
The special ed team that worked with our son, is awesome. Thank you to Ms. Lynch especially! She always went above and beyond. We miss you!!

Shumway Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
There is a lot of changeover in the teaching staff, counselor, special Ed Dept. over the last couple of years. Shumway use to have a very strong team. I'm not sure why there is so much change or why staff are leaving in droves.. It is concerning to the community, and me as a parent- as our kids thrive off of structure and consistency. With the changeover if staff comes a lot of problems. People are unclear and things vacillate. Once the staff gets more seasoned, I think things will improve. It will just take some time.


Shumway Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
It's hard to tell. I think once the leadership improves, will see more evidence in this area.

Shumway Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
I don't feel the principal has much empathy towards the students, (in fact, I'm not even sure if she likes children. You never see her around campus) but I do feel a select teachers do care about our kids.

Shumway Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
I believe the tone could be set better - and lead by example. My children often overhear staff talking unkindly about other students and/or other staff. That isn't showing integrity in my opinion.


Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
We have been a part of Shumway for 13 years! The school gets better year after year! The principal and staff are fantastic. The special ed teacher is amazing!

Shumway Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My son has always had an amount of homework that was just enough. He plays competitive football on 2 teams and is busy after school. With the amount of homework given, he is still able to do all his extra curricular activities and get the homework done. My daughter also was able to complete her homework in a timely manner. She is a competitive dancer and dances more than 15 hours a week. She still maintained her grades and got her work done while at Shumway.

Shumway Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Rea, Mrs. Jones, Mrs. Milkovich, Ms. Hamill, Mr. Tuttle & Mrs. Landon are just a few who have made an impact on my kiddos. Thank you for all that you do and have done to help them be successful!


Shumway Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My son LOVES to go to school and a big part of that is because of his teachers! Teachers like Ms. Rea, Mrs. Jones and Mrs. Milkovich and the reason he is improving and loving school!

Shumway Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My kids have attended Shumway since 2013. My son started in 2nd grade and is now in 4th. Every teacher he has had has been amazing! They all have taken the time to really work with him. He does leave class for assisted instruction in certain areas and is getting all the extra help he needs. His reading has improved dramatically! My daughter who is now in Middle School also, enjoyed her time at Shumway. From the wonderful ladies up front in the office, to the librarian, the music teacher, the PE teacher, or any of the other teachers/assistants that we have had over our time at Shumway, I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking to attend. We never lived in the Chandler district and now that we are 20 minutes away, I continue to drive my son to a school where I know he is safe and all of his needs are met. We'll be finishing out his elementary days right here! We are happy to be Shumway Stars!

Nearby schools

Shumway Elementary School
1325 N. Shumway Avenue, Chandler, AZ  85225
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (480) 812-7400
Last modified Shumway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top