Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Weinberg Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 745 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2009

I really appreciate the teachers and the principle, Mr. Walters, at Weinberg Elementary. Both of my sons have excelled because of the teachers and principle going out of their way to make sure my sons succeed. They truly care and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

Mr. Walters has been a great principal. He has taken time to talk to me on several occasions about the kids and teacher choices. He is very caring and constantly around. I see him on campus walking and visiting with teachers or students. He really cares for the staff, students and parents in his school. Thank you Mr Walters. We really appreciate you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

Weinberg is a great school! The teachers and principal really care the children and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

My daughter loves this school. She has been here since kindergarten. She loves the principle Mr. Joe Walter. Her first grade teacher was creative and wonderful (Mrs. Van De Beuken). However, I will pull her out because her learning level is going backward. She is learning the same thing (in Math) as last year.... too bad their learning standard isn't high enough..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2008

My son is in his second year at this school. When I first moved into the area so many people started off talking about the school by saying...'It's so old.' Then they continued to tell me all the bad things they'd heard. It seemed to me a very superficial way to choose a school. No one who disliked the school had actually sent their children there. We have had nothing but wonderful things to say about Mr. Walters and Weinberg. The two teachers we have dealt with are loving and attentive to my son and they have both been phenomenal about communicating with parents. Mrs. Smoot and Miss Delahaut deserve raises! The fact that this school is older makes it so much better in my mind. They have their act together... they've weeded out the bad teachers... they aren't constantly asking for money to support the PTO. Way to go Weinberg!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

As my son's first year of school ends, I must say that Weinberg and the Kindergarten teachers(especially Mrs. Douglas) are exceptional. I, myself, am a teacher and I have been overly impressed with the staff, the school itself, and the parental involvement. We have been redistricted but I am doing open-enrollment so that my son can stay at this stellar school! By the way, the principal is regularly out and about mingling with the students and supporting the teachers. This is truly a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

Weinberg is a adequate school overall but some of the teachers seem disengaged with the students as well as the parents. I also didn't feel the inviting warm feeling you would expect at an elementary school. Finally I am from the Midwest and the grade level education is different(behind- Midwest/ East Coast is doing much more at earlier ages) from the west coast which i expected based on everything i heard prior to moving here. I selected Weinberg because i was told their curriculum was more advanced- it's not!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

I pulled my son out of this school because my son went from loving school to hating every morning I dropped him off. He would beg me not to take him there. I decided to go and volunteer only to be turned away by his teacher saying 'it was disrupting to the other students.' I have also had another neighbor who needed the IEP program for her child and that was a joke, they rather hold kids back and suggest that they need medications than actually help them to learn and achieve. My son is now in a charter school and once again loves school and is a straight A student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2007

Weinberg has been our school for 3 years and I have been very pleased with this school. Mr. Walters has done a phenomenal job improving the schools environment, educationally as well as aesthetically. He has gone well beyond the 'normal' expectations of a school principal. The office staff is fantastic and all my children's teachers have been great. Yes, it is a crowded school, but again, Mr. Walters has done many things to correct that and the class sizes have been reduced. This is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

Our son attended Weinberg for Kindergarten 2005-2006. The school was not so impressive. The communication between teacher and parent is lacking. We actually missed his Kindergarten program that was held on the last day of school due to the wrong info being sent out. Apparently another notice was sent home, but we never received it. This is coming from parents who check the backpack every day. I was also displeased at the report card sent home with him on the last day of school. Under teacher comments it read 'He has improved in his math and readin skills. He needs to learn to be a better listener and show respect for his classmates.' We HAVE NEVER heard from that teacher that our son did not show respect for classmates. WE would be all over that. What a nice thing to put on his final report. Would not recommend Weinberg!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Too crowded.... With the class size at this school it's amazing the kids learn anything at all. Fabulous teachers, but their classes are so huge, it's hard for them to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

My son is in the all day kindergarten with Mrs. Steingraber. This teacher has a great way of working with all of her students.She is strong on reading and encourages the students with a positive reward system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Weinburg has been great to my son and daughter. My son went into 1st grade not being able to read. Weinburg implemented reading programs during school and after school to assist childeren like my son. My son is in 2nd grade and reads everything he gets his hands on. The teachers are very dedicated to the students, the office staff and nurse go out of the way to make things happen for the childeren. And well the new principal is exposing Weinburg to new and fresh ideas and seems committed to working with the district to meet and exceed the current needs and challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Excellent staff that have been there for 20+ years and care about the quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Good school needs more actvivites for students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

Moving from the East Coast I was really worried about all the schools in Arizona, after seeing some of the test scores and testing averages. My son is very bright and is doing wonderful at Weinberg. He loves his class and teacher. His teacher keeps in touch with me about his progress and ways she and I can better challenge him in class and at home. He will soon be tested for the Talented and Gifted Program. Also, I was looking at the test scores for the schools in our area and Weinberg is well over the 50% average. Some schools in Chandler are not. I believe working closely with our children and their teachers is the key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2003

This is the second school my children have attended in the Chandler school district. I thought Chandler school district was doing a great job in providing my children a quality education in a positive atmosphere. When my children started at Weinberg this year my opinion changed. Weinberg has not been a positive experience for us. The prinicpal lacks professionalism. Although there are some quality teachers at this school, my child's teacher is uncaring and unrealistic in her expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 15% 42%
Asian 6% 3%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5245 South Val Vista Drive
Chandler, AZ 85249
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT