Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willis Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2005

Very impressed with the Band department. That seemed to be a strong point of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Willis Jr. High moves its students forward by teaching them to think critically and act on those thoughts. The teachers in general work hard to ensure student understanding and student success. There are numerous after-school programs, such as a reading club and community-sponsored activities. The band is excellent and has earned high ratings in competitions, as well as has the choir.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 6, 2005

My daughter attended the 7th grade last year and will be attending 8th grade this year. She likes her teachers and her fellow students. She is involved in the music program and plays soccer. I attended every parent teacher meeting and found the teachers to be informative, knowledgeable, competent and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

I had heard that Willis had improved, so we gave it a try. I am active in PTO (as are all the half-dozen or so parents involved in PTO - does that tell you something?)The school has been a disappointment. The Principal cares a lot. Some of the teachers do also. Others are completely burned out and should quit. The calibre of learning will not prepare students for high school. The teachers have no choice but to lower their curriculum to the level of the lower-performing students, as there are many low performers. The daily ASP list is usually two pages long. The most disturbing thing for me has been that my child has lowered his level of work to match his classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

Willis Jr. High has good and bad qualities. The good quality is the band. The band is awesome and that is the only reason my son attends Willis. The problems include bullying by students and a few teachers. I am a concerned parent. I may not send my son to Willis next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

We have been pleasantly surprised by Willis. We were very skeptical at first because it didn't seem like there was much positive feedback available when our child started here. However, we've found the teachers to be very caring and available to the kids and parents, the communication we've received has been timely and useful, and the staff is helpful. We've enjoyed the junior high experience at Willis and feel well prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

My daughter was recently pulled out of this school, due to her teachers lack of respect and due to Willis kids. There are many bullying cases and the teachers take no action. The teachers at Willis, are irrisponsible. I tried calling 3 times to one teacher and she didn't have the respect to call me back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2003

We have recently enrolled our fourth child at Willis. Every year this school gets better and better. The band program is second to none, with a teacher who truly inspires. I have seen my junior high students commitment to learning and motivation improve. Our high school children are both motivated honor students, in part because of the commitment of the staff at Willis. It's a fine school, with a no nonsense principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 43%
White 34% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 883-5720

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 S. McQueen Road
Chandler, AZ 85225
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Basis Chandler
Chandler, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT