Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seton Catholic Prepatory

Private | 9-12 | 578 students

Our school is best known for academic excellence and a wealth of opportunities.
 
 

 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

We've had one child graduate and another in 10th grade. The teachers are tough and the homework is bountiful, but I can say that our college student is MUCH better prepared for the college workload that others. Our current student is very involved in both their fine arts program and robotics. It is a well rounded school with focus on Faith, Education, Arts and so much more. Highly recommend the investment and to look into tuition assistance programs from both the church and state funds if needed. One great thing I love about Setons process for continual improvement is to encourage students to be the first point of communication. In college, they will not have mom and dad to step in and fix everything, so they start here to have the student practice this. There are secondary ways to bring in parents and administration as may be appropriate. I've worked for public schools and have a great understanding where funds go to. Private schools don't receive capital improvement funds, salary, transportation, prof. development and other state/federal funding benefits, yet will need to be competitive to keep the best staff. They can only do this with volunteers and fundraising ~Micki
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

Seton was a fantastic school for my two children. It is demanding academically, but has a very close knit and supportive community feel. Both of my students enjoyed attending Seton and felt that they received an outstanding preparation for college and that they had a great experience at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

As a parent of 3 children who have attended Seton, two having graduated and one about to graduate this year, we have found Seton to be an excellent and caring Community that has taught our children to be responsible and caring Catholic Christians. The Academics were challenging, but the most important thing they gained was what it meant to be a contributing part of a community outside of just their family, and to build life long relationships with other members of that community. Our youngest is about to graduate from Seton, and we have seen such growth in her academically as well as spiritually. She has enjoyed sports, an excellent Fine arts program, and a deep involvement spiritually in the Seton community. Seton is not for everyone if one cannot accept discipline, accountability and involvement, but if you are looking for a chance to learn how to make a difference in the world, then Seton will prepare you for life long success. Seton is no slouch academically. Our 2 Seton graduates graduated with honors from Notre Dame and Arizona State respectively, and are both in excellent career positions. Seton prepares you for a life well lived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

Our oldest is a senior at Seton Catholic Prep HS, and has had one of the best high school experiences that we could have ever hoped for, academically, socially and spiritually. Four years ago we had much to consider with all the good strong choices in the south east valley, and other Catholic high schools in Phoenix, however, we found that in this Christian environment our daughter has thrived. She has been challenged academically, and has had teachers and administrators that went out of their way to make sure she is succeeding, The cost of tuition was a definite factor in the decision process, and it was a hardship, The best thing I can say about SCP is that there is a love and leadership from the older students that is priceless. I have to say also, the school has grown with my child and we will do it all over again and hope to soon with a son in elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

Seton has been a fantastic school for our children. The administration and teachers are outstanding. We love the community of parents/teachers/coaches. The academics are definitely more strenous and demanding, but we feel confident that our children will be more than prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

If you want your child to be ready for college and not go bankrupt, send them to Horizon Honors Highschool. Excellent "private" highschool with public school funding.Their counselors and teachers are dedicated and not preoccupied with fund raising. I have three kids, two went to seton and the last went to H.H. Complete waste of money for the first two, the third is at Gonzaga on scholarship due to Horizon Honors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

My daughter goes to school here and I won't be sending either of my younger children. I agree with previous commenters who said its not worth the money.i would describe the atmosphere less as Christian and more as competitive, with a bit of elitism thrown in. It seems only a relatively small handful of kids really excel, and the rest of the kids are just there to pay the bills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

Seton Catholic Preparatory school excels in academics. My son has been challenged, and he will be fully prepared for college. The sports programs are very competitive. Seton's small school setting offers an intimate community feel. We plan to send out two other younger children to Seton, since our oldest had an excellent experience there. Yes, the tuition is expensive, but Seton's cost is comparable to other private schools in Phoenix. It was well worth the expense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

My daughter attended a local public high school before we enrolled her at Seton. While attending public high school, her curriculum was about three miles wide and an inch deep! At Seton, the information in her text books is better organized, and the material covered is more focused, beginning with the fundamentals, and extending logically through the full range of established facts and knowledge of the subject matter. We don't think she is getting a superior education at Seton, we know she is. At night, she typically has two and-a-half to four hours of homework. When she is having difficulty understanding what is being taught, she goes to eighth hour and her instructor actually takes the time to review her work, and show her where she is getting lost or making mistakes! I'm not suggesting that this kind of personal attention doesn't exist in public schools, it's just rare!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I think Seton is a good school for a certain type of student. Sports are well organized and coached. There is a lack of a healthy and supportive community feeling while the school markets 'community' as a strength. Given the expense of this school, I think there should be a greater involvement and caring of the students by teachers and staff than I have experienced. Seton is currently going through growing pains both financially and administratively given that they are building a new and larger school (which has been very very slow)and I believe the students are suffering because of it. The advantages of Seton is that it is a small school and a Christian/Catholic environment. There are some excellent teachers and some very poor teachers. Not worth the money. It is very expensive and continues to grow in cost to offset the expense of the new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

I am currently a student at Seton and I love it. If I have a question, the teacher will help me. There are honors and AP classes also available. It is a college prep school, meaning it prepares its students for college. Seton, overall, is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2006

Academics are pretty good, but if you're struggling you're pretty much on your own. Lack of security is a big problem. Religion is a plus, but the skirts worn by girls are way to short for a public school let alone a Catholic one. What are these parents thinking? A lack of many electives is another drawback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2006

Although the tuiton is high, the children here are well brought up and involved as are the teachers. A+ School!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 23, 2004

I have had 2 sons graduate from Seton in '01 and '03. They both went on to 4 year universities and say they were better prepared than their classmates. They both had a blast being part of the sports program. As a parent, I enjoyed getting to know the other parents. I can understand what the one reviewer meant when they felt the tuition was too high, it was certainly a struggle, but I also have seen the annual reports, and I don't think, for a Catholic School, or a private school in the area, they are out of line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2004

I have had three children attend Seton Catholic High School. The caliber of educational and personal growth that Seton offers is outstanding. Seton provides a safe environment in a small school setting. There is a great relationship among the students. It is not your typical high school setting. Seton offers a variety of 3A level sports, and most of the students are involved in at least one sport. Over 95% of the students at Seton go on to attend college. It is offers a wonderful Christian atmosphere for your student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

Very, very expensive and not sure it's worth it. The advantages, small school therefore greater student accountability. good teachers. but so expensive it's unreal. they continually ask for more and more money, they want your time to volunteer. it's incredible how much money. their academic advising is not good. they may have a college curriculum but they don't give good guidance. I wouldn't send my second child, it's just not worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Seton is a great school! As a student, they provide me with many oppertunities. I hope to be a success knowing I went to a great, well-prepared school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 30% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 69% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University
University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • University Cup Award (2012)
  • National Catholic Honor Roll (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French, Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Dual enrollment
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Pat Collins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 480-963-1900
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (480) 963-1974

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Dual enrollment
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Bible Study Club
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Disney Movie Club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French, Latin
  • Game club
  • Guitar Club
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
165
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
220

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University
University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Dual enrollment
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 30%
4 year college - 69%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1150 N Dobson Rd
Chandler, AZ 85224
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 963-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT