Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
578 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Seton Catholic Prepatory
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Empathy towards those outside by way of compulsory service hours, perhaps. Empathy towards one another, definitely not.

Seton Catholic Prepatory
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Students are disrespectful and the entitlement culture is profound. There are definite barriers within social circles based on parental income that supersede what a Catholic education should instill in children. There is minimal effort to break this cycle by administration, who in fact does seem to cater to those with the largest donations and bank accounts. Seton is not alone in this, it is a prevailing problem at many Catholic schools. Those with the cash to throw around are always heard first and loudest.


Seton Catholic Prepatory
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
I don't think there is an overall initiative to develop these characteristics. It is definitely good lip service for trying to sell a Seton education, but I firmly disagree that this is a priority with the administration.

Seton Catholic Prepatory
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
There is a tendency of a couple instructors to overwhelm at the end of a grading cycle, which has the appearance of making up for time not well spent with the students during the remainder of the academic period.

Seton Catholic Prepatory
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Some of the teachers are caring and exceptional. Others are mediocre. I think there is a significant deficit in the language and literature department and freshman curriculum. Far more emphasis needs placed on development of quality writing skills through repetition and practice.


Seton Catholic Prepatory
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
The students are overall no better here than any public school. There is an obvious entitlement culture with a bulk of the population.

Seton Catholic Prepatory 1

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
If you forget about the exorbitant tuition cost, this is a decent school. Nothing great, nothing awful. Factor in the $11,000 tuition bill (if you are active Catholic, more if not), plus books, uniforms, registration fees, and incidentals, you have a very pricey sub-par college prep experience. If Catholic education is of primary importance, it may be a good fit for your kids. If not, you can get far more bang for the buck elsewhere. Class offerings are limited, facilities are dated, and in some areas of campus extremely neglected, student body tends to be snobby and over privileged, with parents who clearly are paying for kids with low academic initiative to have the words "college prep" on a transcript. There is nothing exciting or enticing about the program that would convince me it's worthy of the price tag.

Seton Catholic Prepatory 5

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year here at Seton and it has exceeded our high expectations. The curriculum, teachers, administration, staff and students are outstanding. My daughter says she loves her school, something she has never said in the past. The school is not easy, but they set it up to help the kids succeed. We are very impressed and pleased.


Seton Catholic Prepatory 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
We've had one child graduate and another in 10th grade. The teachers are tough and the homework is bountiful, but I can say that our college student is MUCH better prepared for the college workload that others. Our current student is very involved in both their fine arts program and robotics. It is a well rounded school with focus on Faith, Education, Arts and so much more. Highly recommend the investment and to look into tuition assistance programs from both the church and state funds if needed. One great thing I love about Setons process for continual improvement is to encourage students to be the first point of communication. In college, they will not have mom and dad to step in and fix everything, so they start here to have the student practice this. There are secondary ways to bring in parents and administration as may be appropriate. I've worked for public schools and have a great understanding where funds go to. Private schools don't receive capital improvement funds, salary, transportation, prof. development and other state/federal funding benefits, yet will need to be competitive to keep the best staff. They can only do this with volunteers and fundraising ~Micki

Seton Catholic Prepatory 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
Seton was a fantastic school for my two children. It is demanding academically, but has a very close knit and supportive community feel. Both of my students enjoyed attending Seton and felt that they received an outstanding preparation for college and that they had a great experience at the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seton Catholic Prepatory
1150 N Dobson Rd, Chandler, AZ  85224
(480) 963-1900
Last modified Seton Catholic Prepatory is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Seton Catholic Prepatory Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top