Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Vistas Center For Education

Private | PK-6 | 500 students

Advanced education typically 2-6 years above grade level.
 
 

 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2009

My son attends preschool at New Vistas and has made unbelievable progress since he started in August. I was concerned that an academically based program would be too much for him, be he has responded very well. The teacher keeps me aware of where he is at and what areas I can help him with. At this age, his work is not graded so it is all about learning without worrying about passing or failing. I am so happy I gave the school a chance and think that it is worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I am a New Vista's alumni. I am the person that I am today because of New Vista's. I was taught there to take pride in being the best that I can be; not only as a student, but as a person. I appreciate everything that New Vista's gave me. I'm a college grad and, much of my success, I credit New Vista's. I have introduced so many students to New Vista's and all of the familes who I've introduced feel the same.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

Both of my kids have been attending New Vista's since they were 2 1/2 yrs of age. I never thought they would advance so quickly. It is very expensive but well worth the investment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

The school offers an excellent foundation. With our country's educational system in trouble, as it compares to other countries, this school prepares their students to compete globally. The diversity of the school is an additional bonus. The sky is the limit for their students, literally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

This has been a great school for us so far. They push the kids to their potential. One drawback is not much extra curricular activities like not many field trips and involvement in my opinion. otherwise a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

This has been a wonderful school for my 2 children. The small class sizes and grouping for certain subjects make each child able to work at their own pace without feeling rushed. The One-On-One Reading program is exeptional in teaching the younger children to read and helping all the children focus on comprehending the stories. This school works with reaching each child's potention. If one child learns the material fast, there is no need to keep him/her back. The students move at their own pace. My daughter's kindergarten class had 13 kids! My other child's kingdergarten class had 16 kids! Plus, there is always an aide in the room. So, 2 adults per classroom (the maximum class size is 18 kids!) The class sizes are small to promote as much individual attention as possible. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is searching for a great academic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

I have sent three children to New Vistas; one until the 3rd grade, the other until the 5th. My son is currently attending Georgetown University where he has continued studying history and politics. Where did he begin his love of history? Why, at New Vistas Academy, of course. His kindergarten teacher painted such an exciting picture of the Revolutionary War that it was natural for him to continue with it. My 2nd son is currently in high school studying human biology. He first studied human biology at New Vistas. He gained his love of science from New Vistas Academy. My daughter's love is fashion and math. She won the math championship in her second grade class and no one can shake this confidence. Her teacher this year is one of the exceptional ones. She always called my daughter to task but in a loving way. Pricey but wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

One of the most important jobs we have as parents is to give our children the best education we possibly can. If you agree, then New Vistas is the right choice. My children received an excellent education in a loving environment, without the pressures that public school usually brings. No one 'falls through the crack'. I would recommend New Vistas every time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

This is a very small school with only academics. It is like Private tutoring like KUMON etc. I feel kids should explore to all different areas not only academics. You can send the kid to KUMON, tutoring which is same as this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

At New Vistas, academics comes first, as it should -- at any school. The academics is quite demanding, and the teachers adjust their level of instruction to the kids' abilities. When kids are challenged, they have an innate ability to stretch and adapt. We are often amazed at how the teachers keep raising the bar while keeping them engaged, and how well the kids, including my son, respond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

I have mixed feedback about New Vistas. If you are a parent who has 3 to 4 hours every day to sit with your kids and educate them, teach them and do their homework for them, then New Vistas is the school for you. If you don't have this time, I can tell you from personal experience that your kids will loose the most important thing they need for life - their confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

We love the school for its high standards of academic work. Teachers are all dedicated to their work, communicate excellently with parents. My kids adore them! The only negative about the school is the lack of proper play ground, and extracurricular activities need to be supplemented by us. Small price to pay, though, in exchange for the excellent education my kids are getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

The school is small. However, the education their are focused on reading. It's the school where lots of cirruculum in class activity are put there quite well. The teachers are however excellent in communicating with parents. Although it seem overwhelm sometimes with homework. Parents have options to communicate it with the school board and get it resolved either by giving less homework or providing corrective action without any delima between teachers and parents, which I think it's an excellent way to resolve the issue. At the end, kids like the environment, and they are given to ultimate opportunities to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

Excellent academic based school...Small school great for preschool to 2nd
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

My son is now in first Grade at New Vistas. Although he is struggling a bit to get the hang of things from over the summmer break the staff and teachers are working with him to get him back on track. He is workin in 7 different subject levels including science, spanish,reading, math, space and geography. Since this schools goal is academics there are really no extracaricualr activites except a chess club so if you are looking for that you may have to look for outside programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

The quality of academic program is excellent. My two kids (5th grade and PreK) go here and we like it very much. Teachers are very motivated and the atmosphere is great for learning. I like the school giving a lot of importance to reading comprehension, writing and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

This school provides a very warm and friendly environment. The teachers and staff know so many kids by name and everyone is greeted everyday with a warm smile! My daughter is in the 3 day preschool program and is already reading better than most 1st graders I know. They have teachers who truly care about the students and love to watch them suceed. The only drawback I have found with this school is the tuition price-- it is pretty expensive. If you can afford it, I recommend you taking your child here. They will learn a lot! It is a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

Really a good school if you are looking for a curriculum. Lacks a good play ground, in fact has no play ground at all. But good academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2004

New Vistas is academically outstanding. If you want your child to have a great headstart in education, don't hesitate to send your children to New Vistas Academy. A positive, warm environment thanks to the dedication of the owner and director Carol Elias. New Vistas has been a strong force in the academic community for over 28 years.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2004

I have had 3 children at New Vistas through Kindergarten and loved the education they received. Although my first two children do very well in school and thrive for challenge this school would be frustrating for any child who struggles with school. I also would not recomend the school past Kindergarten. The school lacks things like good PE programe, music, art and anything beyond, reading and writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top Ten Academic School by Johns Hopkins U. CTYSchool (2014)
  • State Champion Science and Engineering (2014)
  • National History Day National Award (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Mandarin Chinese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Carol Elias
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • newvistasblog.com
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (480) 812-9207

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • No ceiling to learning
  • Project-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Summer School
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Jumpbunch & JB Sports
Girls sports
  • Jumpbunch & JB Sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess Club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Mandarin Chinese
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • National History DayArizona Sc
  • Robotics club
  • Spelling Bee
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Parent Partnership Institute Classes
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We offer students unmatched education with no ceiling to learning. Students advance as quickly as they are able regardless of chronological age. We are recognized internationally for test competitiveness, student achievement.and have attracted students from 38 different countries worldwide. Our students typically perform 2-6 years above grade level.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
480
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
700

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

670 N Arizona Ave Ste 35
Chandler, AZ 85225
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 963-2313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Knox Gifted Academy
Chandler, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT