Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
500 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I have a special "great job" for preschool teachers at New Vistas Center for Education. While all of the teachers are incredibly caring, organized and experienced, the preschool teachers are the ones who lay the foundation for each child's future success.
March 03, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
67 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 122 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Vistas Center For Education
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Carol Elias -- you rock! Thanks for all you do for Isabel on a daily basis, ever since pre-school. Your kind loving guidance and open door has made a world of difference in her confidence. How many kids can say that their principal gave them a hug EVERY DAY of second grade, and gives her pep talks whenever she needs them? We're grateful to you and all the staff for making this such an outstanding school, not just in terms of learning, but because you also help our children become strong, kind, confident leaders who believe in themselves and their abilities. - J. Valencia

New Vistas Center For Education
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
These are top notch teachers who are able to work with gifted children, as well as children of all abilities. Our daughter has some emotional needs that would require an IEP at a public school. The principal, office staff and her classroom teachers not only support her but encourage her to the best of her abilities, often spending time above and beyond to make sure she's comfortable and anxiety-free. They have an open-door policy and welcome parents to make an appointment or just to stop by to talk. When I see my daughter running up to hug the principal and the reading coordinator, a big smile on her face, and listen to them talk to her for ten minutes, and see how proud and happy she is later...my heart swells and I know how lucky we are to have found this school.


New Vistas Center For Education
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
There is a lot of homework, but it's manageable if you get on top of it immediately and work out a schedule. In addition, the teachers will work with your family individually to lessen the homework load if necessary.

New Vistas Center For Education 5

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been at New Vistas since pre-school, and our whole family loves it. The principal knows each child individually and the teachers work to make sure each student is working to the best of his or her abilities. My daughter is doing 4th grade math (she's in 3rd grade) and reads at a 7/8th grade level, so she receives appropriate assignments. Other children in her class are in 5/6th grade math and varying reading groups. They tailor to each student, and there are no "90 perfect club" style stressful comparisons. Each kid here knows they are smart and special, and they're proud and supportive of each other. They're all advanced, and nobody is a jerk about their own individual placement. You won't realize how big a deal this is until you go elsewhere and get the throat-cutting kind of competition without the support. Parents are encouraged to be part of the school and the learning process. We walk our children to class, greet the teacher and have a quick chat/passdown if necessary. Teachers give us their emails & phone #'s to stay in contact about our children. It's easy to ask for help or to say thanks. Parents don't inundate the teachers with chatter; we communicate about the important stuff. This doesn't make the kids into coddled babies; rather, it lends them confidence that their teachers and parents are on the same team, and that they can bring up issues and get them resolved by people who care. The office staff, including the principal, walk around and greet kids, giving them good morning hugs and congratulating them on the recent accomplishments. The teacher who runs the reading program is AMAZING -- she works with the reading teachers to make sure every single child is matched with the reader teacher and progress that works for them. This is part of the reason why kids at this school read at such advanced levels. Any child can do it, as long as they receive the appropriate support. I love the diversity at the school. There are children from many different cultures and countries of origin. The diversity makes for a very open, friendly and beautiful environment. I highly recommend this school! We love it.

New Vistas Center For Education 5

Posted March 06, 2016
- a parent
My two daughters attended New Vistas Center for Education beginning at 4 years of age. The teachers were wonderful, the curriculum was individualized for each student and it gave both of them a great start in their education before they entered middle and high school, where they graduated with honors. Today my two grandchildren are in Pre-K and Kindergarten. They are both reading, writing stories in complete sentences, putting words in alphabetical order and borrowing and carrying in math! New Vista’s students move at their own pace so if your child is accelerated in one subject but needs a little extra help in another subject New Vistas makes sure each student’s needs are met. The Administrative staff and teachers have an open door policy to always listen to your questions and concerns. They care about your child and their individual needs. I would highly recommend you place your child in this fantastic school and let them get the head start they need to be an outstanding student.


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
I have a special "great job" for preschool teachers at New Vistas Center for Education. While all of the teachers are incredibly caring, organized and experienced, the preschool teachers are the ones who lay the foundation for each child's future success.
Posted March 03, 2016

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
A special "Thank you" to Dr. Eleanor Jordan for her guidance and support of each student's advancement.
Posted March 03, 2016

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our team of teachers work together as a team / family to support students, families and each other.
Posted March 03, 2016


Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Students have general homework each week. Homework expectations increase as a student moves through the grade levels.
Posted March 03, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
Due to the fact we teach to each child's individual ability, every student is equally challenged on a daily basis.
Posted March 03, 2016

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Vistas Center For Education
670 N Arizona Ave Ste 35, Chandler, AZ  85225
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 122 reviews. (480) 963-2313
Last modified New Vistas Center For Education is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top