Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

East Valley Jewish Day School

Private | K-7 | 30 students

We are known for individualizing the curriculum to meet each student's needs.
 
 

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

My son has been going to school since kindergarten. He has a friend in 5th grade and my son is in 3rd grade and his friend didnt know some of the stuff my son knows. I have to say he's a smart kid, but I truly believe it's because this school spends time caring about the kid as well as teaching the students. I would love if this school got the money to spend on education. It's a great place to send my son. The teachers all really show joy about being there. I don't think my teachers in public schools were as nice as these teachers, and what I enjoy is the teachers aren't afraid to say your doing great, are you ok, the teachers actually care about these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter started kindergarten this year and adores the teachers, staff, and other students in the school. The class size allows for her to get individualized attention, her teacher takes a great interest in her studies and how she can help my daughter excel. Everyone is extremely welcoming and encourage questions/feedback. Highly recommend for anyone who is looking for a strong learning foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

The EVJDS is a school that allows children to learn in a challenging and nurturing environment. The staff truly cares about each student. The moment you enter the school, you feel welcomed and that the students and staff are happy to be at school each day. The curriculum is top notch and the students leave the school fully prepared for honors classes in junior high and high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

I am so impressed with the EVJDS! My son is a kindergartner this year and I am amazed at what he has learned in just the first two weeks. He's happy, confident, and excited to go to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

The East Valley Jewish Day School is an excellent program for children in Chandler. The children are respected, valued and cared for by a loving staff. The children's learning styles are valued and used to make the daily educational pursuits meet their needs. The teachers work to help each child be successful at their own pace, in their own time with incredible results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

What a great place for children to learn and grow. My child that is enrolled loves going to school every day. My child that has completed the program has a love of learning that can be directly attributed to this warm, caring environment. The small classes allow the instruction to be individualized and the children flourish here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

I have had two children grow up and complete this school, and one that is currently still enrolled. It has been a joy and lifesaver to have this rich, nurturing environment for my kids. Small classes, great teachers and wonderful curriculum! I highly recommend parents to check it out - and they are NAEYC accredited too!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My son has been at the JCC since he was an infant, he is now 2. He LOVES going to school. Everyday he comes home with new stuff that he has learned. The staff there truly cares about the kids & invest a lot in them. The education he is getting is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2008

Both of my children attend the Day School. They love it. They are thriving both academically and socially. I highly recommend this school to anyone interested in giving their children the education and individual attention they deserve!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

This is a small, warm and caring school that is able to meet indidual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

All three of my children have attended the JCC and have had a wonderful educational experience. The student teacher ratio is awesome, my children were all reading so well in Kindergarten. They love school and learning and it all comes down to the great caring teachers and the wonderful environment of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Two or more races 8% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Hispanic 4% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Hebrew/Israeli
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Emily Zappa
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hebrew/Israeli
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • PE
Girls sports
  • PE

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$8000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
San Tan Junior High
Dobson Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

908 N Alma School Rd
Chandler, AZ 85224
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 897-0588

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Knox Gifted Academy
Chandler, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT