Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Basha High School

Public | 9-12 | 2358 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2008

The Principal is leaving and that is a good thing. She has never been proactive and has always overreacted when certain situations arose. Some of the teachers feel that they are entitled and are not there for the right reasons. Next year will be interesting with a new principal. Hopefully, they can bring Basha around to being a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

There are some great people at Basha, but the administration is going through some changes. The principal, who we think is great is leaving and the current people in the running scare me. Maybe some racial issues with some of the secondary administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

Basha has contemporary style and teaching methods. A great opportunity for aspiring young students and athletes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

I think Basha is an overall good school but I think the teachers there are too young and rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Some of the teachers seem to be into teaching for all the wrong reasons.I have a sophomore and a junior and have been displeased with teachers each year. Admin.needs to get a grip and address these teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

I agree, to take away math class rooms in order to make them child care rooms, where is the wisdom in that? Overall academics are weak, are the music programs. Admin. seems to only care about sports and money making ideas (child care). We moved here from NY and are very dissappointed in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

I am currently a senior at Basha and although I love my school and enjoy attending BHS, I do not like administration. Something has to be wrong if most of the counselor's have left. Also, student government's ideas are often shut down that wouldn't normally be shut down at other schools in the district. I just think administration should lighten up a bit.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2006

The sports department needs to be re-evaluated. It is obvious that there is a lot of politics in this department. Basha has an extreme amount of talent that is not being utilized. It seems that it's not what you know, it's who you know. How unfortunate for the kids and the school Let's be fare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

From a parent's view point... I think academics are fairly strong, but the high school is so new it doesn't have the clout of an established contender (as far as on-looking colleges are concerned). Sports are up and coming - decent teams in the major sports, but has suffered early on (again) due to newness of the school. 5 years from now, I believe Basha will be contending with other local high schools (i.e. Hamilton) for area title(s). Music program is good - way above other schools, yet behind some of the dominant musically inclined programs. Only knock on Basha is the auditorium used for orchestral and choir recitals - having visited many local high schools for various events, I feel Basha's is way to small and an extremely poor design.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

Basha High is an excellent school, it is a place where your student can truly excel with incredible teachers and staff. I am very pleased with the Adminstration, and their constant support. The extracurricular activities are great, and new organizations forming every year. The best advice I can give you, it is to tell your child to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Well Basha High School is a school that you either you like it or you don't. Parents are very involved with very many things such as involvment of school Dances, Plays, Concerts, Sports, and other extracurricular activities. Basha just started a new program called the A+ Lab which can be very helpful if your child is needing to make up credits. Students are very active, and injoy what there accomplishing. Basha isn't rated so high on a drug free school, but it's getting better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2006

Willis Junior High school is an alright school, it is getting sort of a bad reputation considering the couple of activities that have gone on lately. The parent involvement and the sports are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2006

We have been very pleased with Basha High School. Our son came from a very small K-8 private school and we have been satisfied with Basha despite its size. Teachers have been prompt to respond toemails and seem genuinly concerned about our son's progress. I am a substitute in Chandler Unified School District and have worked on all three high school campuses. I have seen more respect and better behavior from the students at Basha High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

I am very happy with the quality of education, however as the area is growing the school seems to be shrinking in size, My son has done very well at Basha.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2005

Basha High School is a great school but because it is year-round it feels as though my child is distracted during it. The teachers are nice, but some of them are extremely rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Very good, same parents doing most of work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

Great Academic programs!Highest scores on State AIMS test in the district. Music, Art, and Culinary classes are growing and becoming very successful. Sports teams are top in the state. Football team could impress in the 2005-2006 season. Teachers are involved and do more than expected.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2005

The school overall is really good, but there aren't many extracurricular activities. My friends and i feel left out of so many things that the school does have, because it's just not us. And the things that we would like to have, just aren't reconized by the people and staff of the school. But Basha being a new school, i can except this fact. But for future students...There needs to be more activities! Help out!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2005

The quality of education is excellent at Basha. The kids really lear, and the administration only hires the most qualified teachers. We support our school because they support our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

Basha high school is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

588 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

596 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

588 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 15% 42%
Black 7% 5%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 224-2120

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5990 South Val Vista Drive
Chandler, AZ 85249
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 224-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Perry High School
Gilbert, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT