Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jane D. Hull Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 907 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2010

Hull has a great community of educators...Every person associated with the school is committed to the students...It shows...I love that Hull offers so many different opportunities for all students...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The staff & Teachers always amaze me at how much they care for the students. About a year ago my family moved to Maricopa, which is 20 minutes from Jane D. Hull Elementary. My husband & I (and our daughters) love the school so much I drive 20 minutes (each way) for them to continue attending. Which means I spend 2 hours a day in the car in order for my daughters to continue going to a school where the staff treats you like family. Teachers go out of their way to make the classroom fun & educational at the same time. After 5 years of attendance I could go on for days on how much we love Hull!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I love, love, love Hull Elementary! Great teachers, great school. Great communication & lots of activities to participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

We bought our house in this area so our children could go to Hull because we saw how well it was rated and we have not been disappointed. The teachers and staff work very hard to make Hull a friendly and comfortable place to learn. We also love that Hull was recognized as an A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Hull is a school of wonderful teachers and administrators with programs and curriculum that has always motivated and challenged our child. The teaching methods are very collaborative within the grade levels so it exposes the kids to a variety of styles, activities, etc. that stimulate their minds and get them excited about learning. The family community at Hull is dedicated to supporting the kids at all activities and it is so much fun to share that year after year with each other while our kids grow together. Hull has earned its A+ rating for many, many reasons!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

May daughter learns, thrives, and is comfortable. She is cared about and respected by all at the school. Basically, she is happy. What else can you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

We've been at Hull since they first opened their doors. The teachers are great, the staff is so kind and helpful, and my kids LOVE their school! Every child should have fond, fun memories of their elementary school years...I know mine will!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I moved here without researching schools since my child was only one at the time. Luckily, when she was ready for Kindergarten we realized what a great reputation Hull had. It totally lived up to its reputation and more! The teachers and the staff are wonderful. The school is clean and safe. We achieved the A+ rating two years ago. I joined the PTO and I substitute at Hull on a regular basis. I couldn't be more happy with this school and I feel blessed that my child goes to Hull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

This school does a lot with PTO, providing a great environment for the kids who go there. The school also provides, aside from PTO, great stuff for the kids, a recently added playground and more!


Posted May 12, 2010

The community at Hull is dynamic and supporting. There is diversity in the population, yet a shared sense of purpose. Every staff member I have met routinely goes beyond the call and gives 110%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I adore Mrs. Varner! My son has blossomed in her Kindergarten class. There is wonderful communication, motivational teaching, and positive environment and I cannot say enough to do this school and teacher justice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Parents, teachers, students, and administration all work to make Hull a successful school. Many teachers even have their own children enrolled at Hull. It is a great learning environment full of sensational educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

It is a A+ school. Wonderful teachers that care about a childs education and many parents that are willing to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Every administrator, teacher and staff member is dedicated to ensuring that every child gets an A+ education in a fun and safe environment. All staff members know the entire parent and student community and recognize the importance of the school as the center of the entire community. The teachers love to teach and are always looking for even more effective tools for ensuring students get a firm grasp of all subjects. Parents are always welcome in the classroom and in other roles throughout the school. There is not a better educational environment in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Hull Elementary is the best school my children have attended by far!!! All the teachers and staff are wonderful!! The PTO is fantastic and always plan fun activities for our kids. We can not think of a better school for our children to attend!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Hull Elementary has been very supportive to our family. The teachers and staff have been wonderful. The children and families have all made us feel very welcome. There are a lot of activities going on to include families. The school is also welcoming of parents as volunteers in many aspects of the school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Hull Elementary is an amazing school. Would never want my children to attend anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My three kids have all attended Hull,all of them have had a great experience, having one of my kids now be a senior and about to graduate, he says that some of his best memories were spent at Hull Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My kids love Hull! We just moved to Arizona this past summer and the kids like this school a lot more than their old school. Thank you teachers and staff, for making my kids' transition easy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Fantastic teachers and principal is very involved and caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2424 E. Maren Drive
Chandler, AZ 85249
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT