Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jane D. Hull Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2010

The staff are excellent and the district is one of the best in the state, schools are judged by the foundation that a district has to offer in regards to support and priorities. Chandler does an excellent job supporting Hull Elementary and it has been awarded Excelling Schools multiple years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

It's an A+ designated school with very high standards and expectations of students and parents. Teachers and staff are dedicated, hardworking and caring. I couldn't ask for a better public school in my neighborhood. We are extremely happy with the results our two children have had so far and have two more kids that will be following in their footsteps soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

This school is part of a tight knit community of educators and supportive parents that make it great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I love Jane D. Hull Elementary because they care about my children. Everyone is wonderful there and it is a community in which my children feel safe, respected and liked. We are so glad that our daughters go to Hull Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Besides working at Jane D. Hull Elementary and having two students who have or had attended the school. I know personally that it is an exceptional school and would and have reccomended it to many parents in the surrounding areas. I feel very comfortable with my children and their education and safety as well as my own. The educations is A+ and the entire staff and teachers are always doing what is best for our students. It is more than a school it is an excellent education and resource for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Everything about Hull Elementary is A+: Office Staff, Teachers, Support Staff, Volunteers, as well as students. Their Principal and Staff promote and model a culture of respect, care and character that creates great citizenship for our kids and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Teachers really care abouts their students and it shows by the way students respect them and are dedicated to their studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Jane D. Hull is an A+ school and has very dedicated teachers. The teachers are some of the most loving and nutruing people that I have ever seen in the education field. The office staff is awesome! They are respectful to the parents and extremly helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Kindergarten team is AMAZING with awesome communication to the parents, and an all inclusive program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The excellence of the teachers and staff mixed with a loving, caring environment translates into success for the students of Hull Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I love Jane D. Hull Elementary because the teachers and staff really care. They are so involved and it really shows. We have loved every teacher my kids have had. All the activities are well planned. The atmosphere is very positive and encouraging. It is a very happy and safe school. My kids have learned a lot and have become quite the public speakers, due to book reports and projects. I am very impressed with Jane D. Hull Elementary. In my opinion Jane D. Hull is one of the best schools out there and the perfect match for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Great Teachers! Great Staff!! My daughters truly enjoy learning at Hull Elementary. They appreciate being challenged each day in class so much so, that they're excited to share their homework assignments with me each day. I'm very thankful my children attend Hull Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I think Hull is a very good school, great teachers, great staff, wonderful parents. You can see how the school's best interest is their students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My children have been attending school since it opened. The Teachers are all excellent, caring and always have their student's best interest at heart. The staff is wonderful, friendly and always helpful! My children truly enjoy attending Hull Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The teachers at Hull are incredible. They give each student the individual attention they need to be successful. I have had 3 children attend Hull-the school is one of the main reasons we have stayed in the area. We love Hull Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

A+ School. Hull elementary has a great staff and excellent teachers. We just love the school our child has progressed in all subjects and currently made it into Honors program.Great community involvement also. :}
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The BEST STAFF! My kids love to go to school. Their teachers are amazing. I am so honored to have my kids be apart of this school. Thank you Hull!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My kids have the BEST teachers. Love how the school communicates very well with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Jane D. Hull is a great school. The teachers are all wonderful, you can tell they really love what they do. The front office staff are super friendly, and helpful always making you feel welcome when you walk in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Hull is an A+ school with a fabulous staff. My kids love school and I have been very pleased with the education they are getting!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2424 E. Maren Drive
Chandler, AZ 85249
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT