Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jane D. Hull Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 907 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2006

Jane d. Hull elementary school is awesome! the principal, the teachers and the school staff are dedicated professionals who care. Their daily actions, responses and coordination, reflect the extent of their personal and professional effort in the teaming success of obtaining and exceeding each student, their parents and the school's goals and expectations. All are committed to the educational, social and emotional well being of their students. Jane d. Hull is an expectional school, one that brightly outshines the rest in i have dealt with from, hawaii, oregon, california and throughout the rest of arizona. Jane d. Hull understands the importance of child educational and growth and how the parents are an integral part of solutions to progress. Noteworthy are the outstanding music, cats, special education and counseling programs. Equally postive and wonderful are the event activites, parental involvement opportunties, childcare, newsletters and internet accessibilities. Thank you for a job well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Jane Dee Hull Elementary School is an excellent school! The teachers are outstanding and provide a quality, nurturing environment for my children. Everyone at the school is very welcoming and positive. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

My son finished his first 2 years of school here. In K we really felt good about the teachers and the education program, but entering into first grade we had alot of poor communication from the teachers end. Things would occur at school that we felt were very important to mention to us, as parents, but she never approached. When we mentioned things we felt as if they were trivial to her. I feel that bodily harm and emotional hurts are important for a parent to be informed of. Better communication whould have made us much happier and would have left us with a better feeling for JD Hull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

We have a first and fourth grader at JDH and couldn't be happier! My fourth grader has been at Hull since it opened and my son since first. They love attending school everyday. The teachers are wonderful and extremely encouraging to each of our children. The entire staff is so friendly and kind. It is always a pleasure to walk through the halls and have so many people make you feel welcome and part of the school. We love it and since we are educators too, we know they are getting a great education. Yes, the class sizes may be higher, but they are doing a super job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

This is a very large school, but they have lots of extracurricular activities and high level of parent involvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

My son got lost in this school. Although very nice teachers & staff, way too many children enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

Hull is an excellent school. A big thank you to all of the teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2004

Principal Weyenberg gets a rave review from me too. As for the poster who said they've never seen her - well that person has obviously not attended any school functions as she is at every one of them - band concerts, choral concerts, 6th grade DARE graduation, school carnival... literally every single function I've been to for my 2 kids. Oh and even if you don't go to any function, you will find her acting as traffic coordinator before AND after school! The one complaint I would give is that amount of homework, at least for the 1st grade - it was more than my 6th grade son's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

Hull is a good public school. The principal is very popular among teachers in the district and has her pick of the very best. Parents are very involved and provide instruction for Art Masterpiece, Young Astronuats, Junior Achievement and after school clubs. Academics could be stressed more than they seem to be at this school. Also, too much time is spent on 'fun' activities including 'buddy' programs, parties, and fun fieldtrips such visits to water parks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2004

I have children enrolled for the the 2004-2005 school year. I am concerned about class sizes and high teacher to student ratios and overall huge number of total studen body. Is this school overcrowded? Are the children getting the best education?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Our family has been with Janice Weyenberg since 1996 when she was at Jacobson Elementary. She is the reason we came to Hull. We see her smiling face everyday, as she makes it a point to direct traffic to keep the pick up line fair and flowing, also to interact with all of her parents and students. She knows the names and grades of her students and remembers them for years after they have moved on to other schools. She is remarkable at problem solving and communication. Is it no wonder that a lot of our teachers have been with Jan since before Hull was built? Someone would have to be near sited not to notice our Principal. Her spirit shines through every teacher and student that has the privilege of gracing the doors at Hull. I give this school the highest rating. Thank you Jan for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2004

This school may do fine compared to other Arizona schools. However, comparing it nationally it is extremly disappointing. Teaching methods very outdated. Full day kindegarten is the norm in most other states. These students fall bahind from the start, trying to learn everything in less than three hours a day. I have yet to see this principal once. A big change from the last school where we saw the principal everyday, in the morning and after school. The parents are very involved here, that is encouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2003

My daughter will enter 2nd grade at JDH this school year and I could not be more pleased with the quality of her educational and social experiences at JDH. Caring administrative, teaching and support staff make each and every day a pleasure for students and parents! We researched extensively before our relocation to Chandler and are confident that JDH was the right choice for our daughter's future academic success.


Posted March 29, 2003

My daughter is in the first grade at JDH. Just to see her get excited about going to school makes me feel good as a parent. The teachers and staff at this school care about the students and their families, and it shows. With so many students in the classrooms these days, it makes it hard for the teachers. They need and depend on parental help in and out of the classroom. The children reap the benefits of our helping the teachers and the school . Anyone who participates in their childs education will find that the school shines brighter and our children learn more!! I am proud to have my child a student in JDH and she is proud also!


Posted March 27, 2003

My daughter is in 1st grade at JDH. I am very pleased with the level of communication between teacher/school and parents. They are working very hard towards meeting standards and quarterly report cards describe to great detail how the student is progressing. Their proactive attitude to maintaining an optimum learning atmosphere in the classrom is admirable. I have first hand experience with their efforts and am a very satisfied parent.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2424 E. Maren Drive
Chandler, AZ 85249
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT