Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Primavera - Online

Charter | 6-12 | 3160 students

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 26 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2012

My son was failing 9th grade, until I enrolled him in Primavera. He has received 4 A and 2 B grades within the past 3 months. He is so much happier and less stressed than before. That is great for my husband and I also. I recommend this school to any parent that has a child that is struggling or having problems in traditional school. All staff that we have came into contact with have been great and really care about your child. They do work in 6 week time frames and students take 2 courses at a time. It makes more time for the kids to stay on 1 subject and have a better chance of learning it. When my son had 6 courses at once, it seemed like he was always trying to catch up. We really like that the classes are open 24 hours a day. So students can work in their own time schedule. My son has a learning disability and this really helps, because some days he works great and others he seems to know nothing. Everyone is so caring and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

This school isn't worth it at all. I've been a student at Primavera for a year, and in that time, I've learned more from Google than being here. I originally came to Primavera in the hopes of having more freedom, but, being an advanced computer user and Linux user, I found myself being forced to install Windows in order to do anything, since it relies heavily on aging software such as Flash. On top of that, I hold a full-time job that goes from 9 AM to 5 PM, so I am unable to answer their phone calls. I've told my counselor and teachers about this via E-Mail, but they have resorted to calling me 4-5 times in a row in the hopes that I'd answer. Because of this, as well as my job's strict policy of not being able to answer phone calls, I've been forced to block them from calling me. They haven't responded to any E-Mails I've sent them regarding important things (such as a death in my family which made me unable to do a week of school), and because of the huge lack of communication, I've failed more classes than I did at a regular high school. The only things I've received from them are automated e-mails. Overall, I'm very disappointed and will be going back to a normal school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2012

Oh my gosh. This school. :D It's like sjdhafhskdfj AMAZING! I love it I have been with Primavera since 9th grade. and I'm now a 11th grader:) it's just amazing! I love the one-on-one with the teachers& how they are always there! Like if you need help on something they are just a phone call away. They make sure you understand the question... BEST SCHOOL EVER no doubt about it. I would strongly recommend this school ;D
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2012

The school work on the site is very difficult to navigate & understand what your child is suppose to be doing. It frustrated & confused my daughter & it made things even more confusing talking to her teacher who lacked good communication skills. I wold not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2011

Disappointed to learn school was not focused on credit recovery. Students can only take 1 core subject at a time and 1 elective, which means they concentrate on only 1 subject for 30+ hrs a wk, during the entire length of the course. In additon, they require student's struggling in math to take 1 core math course along with an AIMS math elective - this causes students to become confused and fail the course because they are having to master two different math concepts at one time. This practice is indicative of an administration who is more concerned with their overall AIMS score, which defines the school s performance, rather than helping student s reach their academic goals. Apart from the administration, the teachers seem to care and their online video lessons are engaging. Some info you may or may not like: Student s are required to speak to their teachers over the phone each week. They are also required to post 10 comments, 3-4 sentences long, on the Student Discussion Board each week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

BEST SCHOOL EVER! Hi, my name is Anastasia, and I have been a freshmen student here at Primavera for.. Four months? And it is so amazing, I'm not even kidding. It is so much more simple, and teaches more here, and my teachers actually listen to me and help me individually. I only take 2-4 classes a block, but their program make you graduate earlier :)) I am taking 4 classes, and now thanks to my AWESOME school, I will graduate in 2012 December, when I'm 15. I actually have a bigger social life than ever before O_O.. primavera has a jillion clubs that students can choose from, and they can talk to each other face-to-face and go onb field trips, hang out, go to dances etc! I'm in Student Government (I'm senator), Club ASU (Looks brilliant on a college resume), and Key Club. When I first saw this school, I was blinded by its awesomeness ;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2010

The traditional classroom isn't right for everyone! For a truly individualized, personalized education, Primavera is simply the best choice there is. With today's busy schedules, being able to learn at your own pace, in your own time, is a huge plus. Your classroom is there 24 hours a day, seven days a week! The best part - it's free! I've never had the privilege to work with a more dedicated group of professionals. My students are simply the best! I couldn't recommend Primavera more highly. Whether you simply want an alternative to a traditional classroom, want to graduate early, have children, have health issues, have legal issues, or just want a change, Primavera is here to help!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2009

Such a wonderful school, no other online schooling is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

I attended Primavera for my senior year of high school so that I could work full time and still complete my education. It was a truly great experience- the teachers worked with me and my unique schedule, and were very quick at getting back to me when I needed my questions answered. One short month after graduating with Primavera I obtained an Enrollment Advisor position with them, and I love sharing my experience as a student with those who are new to our school. :)


Posted March 23, 2005

great school amazing program.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

590 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

594 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

583 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 31% 43%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A47%
Female 59%N/A49%
Male 41%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2471 N. Arizona Ave
Building 1
Chandler, AZ 85225
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 456-6678

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT