Advertisement
Advertisement

Tri-City Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 325 students

We are best known for Christ Centered Education.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Chandler

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $215,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

TCA is a great school. Both of my boys have standardized test scores at least 4 grade levels higher than their current grade level in every subject. However, academics are not the main reason we sacrifice to send our boys to private Christian School. Our boys have a deep and abiding faith in Christ that has grown and deepened since attending TCA. TCA has many strong God fearing teachers and coaches that live their faith and are great mentors to our boys. Without a doubt TCA has come along side my wife and I in our spirit lead mission to raise two strong Christian young men. TCA has been a blessing to our family in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

Tri-City has been a great school for our kids. The teachers are very dedicated and really care. Our elementary kids have scored very high on the SAT and get to participate in lots of extraciricular activities including a sports league with other schools. The high school has less than 100 students which is why the class offerings are less. I'm sure there are areas that need improvement. However, of the kids I have known over the years that have graduated, almost all of them have received academic scholarships to college. They also have the option of taking college courses off campus or online on campus as a senior for those interested. The school has an excellent athletic director/asst principal who really cares about the kids. They have an excellent basketball program that really develops their players and helps them get college scholarships. Our experience has been that the school gives our kids all of the opportunities they want in an environment that supports our values as a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

We have enjoyed the Christ-centered environment of Tri-City Christian Academy. The teachers care about the children and the class sizes are small. However, if you are looking for a challenge for your child, this is not the school for you. The academics are weak, especially in the area of Language Arts. Our children have attended both private and public schools, and the public schools and other private schools in the area far surpass Tri-City academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

It is disappointing to have to say that the leadership and curriculum has not met my expectations, my child had attended for four years. It appears to be declining as more time passes. One of my main concerns is that my child is not being challenged, and as stated in some of the other ratings, the school does not offer any advanced placement courses. Issues have been brought to the principles attention and many parents have been made felt as if our concerns were either brushed under the rug and or given a simple 'band-aid'. I have done much research on what other schools are doing in their curriculum and have also visited schools-they are clearly more advance in comparison to Tri City. On a positive note, the teachers are wonderful at Tri City, but they can only work with what tools their leadership provides them. In addition, I truly enjoy that our children get to learn about their faith while at school...I truly believe this helps children in so many ways. However, I pay to have my child attend this school, and in return i expect the school to provide my child with the best education they can, and I don t feel that Tri City is driven to do that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

We have had children in this school for over twenty years! We have been extremely pleased with the academics..athletics..music programs..and extracurricular activities. Most of all we love the teachers at TCA. Never will you find a group of teachers that will challenge your kids to do their best in all areas of their life. Whenever our children have had problems they were there to listen, to help them excel in their studies and most of all to encourage them! Our oldest son who has a career in the military now, would tell you that it was the best school for him and he would love to find a school just like it for his future children.This school is a five star in my opinion and I love that it is a Christ-centered academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

This is a terrible school. If you have a student that loves school and really challenges themselves to learn the most they can, TCA is not the place in which they can thrive. There are no classes like honors or AP where they can truly challenge themselves for university and beyond. You are limited to basic grade level with everyone else and you get the privilege of having religion absolutely shoved down your throat. If you wish to send your student to a private school, there are more better suited and challenging schools for your child to grow over TCA. Education for IBC is at the forefront of what they do at this school and one one student was awarded a scholarship last year. PATHETIC.


Posted April 22, 2012

I am a former student of TCA and can say that I hated every minute of it. Religion is shoved down your throat, there are no electives for high school students, and the education is very limited. Because you have every student of your grade in every class, there is no opportunity for you to move up in a class if you are excelling. Other schools offer Honors and AP courses, this school limits you to grade level. The school prepares you for only IBC, their religious college, and does not provide the student for an exemplary educational history that universities look for. I attended a graduation ceremony and only one student received a scholarship to a university. TCA does not stand out from the crowd because of its very small size and it does not offer anything of great merit. If you are going to send your child to a private school, send them to one that offers a great education and has the high school experience a teenager wants. Otherwise, there are other honors, tuition free charter schools that are way ahead of TCA in all aspects. In short, religious education is the foremost goal of the school, educating students for church work, not secular.


Posted October 6, 2011

My children love this school. They enjoy the balance of academics, athletics, arts and spiritual guidance.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 9, 2009

I can't say enough great things about this school. This is my son's first year at TCA and the staff and students have been so kind to him. He is getting an excellent education and forming great friendships in the meantime. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a solid education and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

This school is great!!! You get to know everyone because of its small size and the teachers are nice!!! I highly suggest this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2008

this school s excellent in teaching students and preparing them for collage
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2006

My two children have attended TCA for ten years. The teachers are attentive and helpful. The test scores of my children are extremely high and have received a great education at TCA. The extra activities in band, choir, soccer, basketball, golf, etc., are excellent. TCA has the advantages of a large school in its academics, but also the benefits of a small private school in class size. The tuition is below similar schools in the area and a great deal of stress is laid on helping parents with scholarships for their children. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University
International Bible College
Bob Jones University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Thad Todd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (480) 245-7908

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University
International Bible College
Bob Jones University
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2211 W. Germann Rd
Chandler, AZ 85286
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 245-7902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Casa del Nino
Chandler, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT