Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Navarrete Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 2 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2010

They have a wonderful principal, awesome teachers and a real sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

This really is a great school. Everyone from administrators to custodians is involved and caring. The best interests of the students are the top priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

It's a big school, but feels like a close community. The prinicpal is AMAZING and my boys have yet to have a teacher that they and my husband and I did not love. The kids come first at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

we moved from out of state.My son started @ Navarrete July of 2010. He made friends quickly and he likes his teacher Mrs.Durazo.He joined the Chorus and loves it.The principal Mr.Merrill & dean Mr.Cramer are out in the morning &afternoon @ dropp off & pick up making sure the kids are safe.The school also has a Bullying Prevention Program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Teachers and all the staff are very cooperative and make learning fun. My children said it's safe haven, they feel secure. It's great to see Mr Merril every morning greeting parents and at the end of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

The teachers and staff are amazing. The standards for academics and behavior are very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

I have three children who have and are currently attending Navarrete Elementary. I have been so pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

It's a great school! I can easily communicate with my son's kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Schaffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

The faculty and staff are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

Wonderful teachers, staff, school spirit, and top rate academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

My kid is thriving in this school! I m sure that things are not working perfectly all the time but I m very pleased with most of the staff and teachers. Overall a 5 star school for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

For the person who commented in 2007, please give this school a chance. Maybe, others just needed to get to know your kids, or at that time of the year, things were different. As of right now, this school is trying it's best, and striving toward being the best. For me, I think this is the best school for my children. However, people have different opinions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

Both my kids are at navarrete and everything about the school is wonderful. Every staff members, principal, and teachers are helpful and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

This will be my children's 4th year attending Navarrete. The atmosphere within the school is very pleasant and congenial. The teachers are both obliging and still great educators. I feel that most of the teachers really care about producing well educated children. The office staff is very competent and eager to help with just about anything. Overall, I am very happy with this school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

This is our second year at Navarrete. I have 3 students attending, all have wonderful experiences. The principal is a wonderful, active leader...he is always around working the cross walk, or in the cafeteria during lunch helping keep peace...his way of keeping peace is the best I've seen in 15 years of parenting and dealing with teachers or principals. The office staff is extremely helpful and efficient, as is the health office staff. The nurses are always on top of things and very proactive. All of the teachers have been very pleasant, patient, motivating, encouraging, and leaders. We especially like Ms Miller in grade 4. She is fantasitc at what she does...she exhibits what a love for children and teaching should look like. Safety is also taken very seriously on this campus. I can't say enough good things about Navarrete! 2 thumbs up!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My child attends this school and I have had nothing but great experiences with the school her teachers and the staff are wonderful, the office is very efficent, including the health assistant. The principal is very accomdating and genuine. I love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

My children are new at this school this year and the teachers have been so helpful and informative. This is going to be a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I love this school and it's teachers ~ we are lucky to be apart of this great learning institution~!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

This school is the worst school I have ever sent me children to. Both my kids were nice and always had good friends. At this school, both were alienated. They would come home crying. I think the princble is a nice man, he just need to get control of behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

This is a great school,the amount of parent involvement was outstanding!It felt like one big family!The care and quality of curriculum that my child was given is second to none.Thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (480) 883-4820
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6490 S. Sun Groves Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85249
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 883-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT