Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing. The best academic school I have ever seen an they care about the kids. From academics to sports to clubs, they are very supportive. I have two in school (8th, 10th grades) this year and will be having a 3rd one join (6th grade) when school starts up. So happy we found them. They prepare the kids for life and set them up for success.

Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
This is the second year my child has attended CPA and she loves "the depth of knowledge" (her words) she experiences each day. The teachers, staff, and headmasters are supportive of each child and the children are treated as individuals not numbers. I am very happy with the curriculum and see they are preparing these children for college by fostering critical thought and hard work; for life by instilling truth, beauty and goodness.


Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 1

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
The school is very disappointing. I hated CPA because the teachers there are very low at teaching their students the materials. Also, they give out alot of homework and students don't get the amount of sleep they need to in order to be successful!

Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 4

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
Thanks to all the supportive comments about how to handle our bullying problem. I did bring it to the Headmaster and they really took it to heart. Although my Son has a very unique situation, it's nice to know the school leadership is behind you 100%. We have not had any problems since I met with them. They gave us some great feedback and it was a very productive meeting. Thanks for the encouragement!

Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a teacher
Regarding the March 25th review about your son being bullied, I cannot agree more with the suggestions provided by a parent on March 26th. However, I must add one more. I am the headmaster of the school, and I am not aware of your son's situation at all. A suicidal child is a situation that needs to be brought to the attention of the school administration so that teachers can provide that child the support that he needs. If you believe that you have already told us and nothing has been done about it, then please tell us again; your situation does not sound like one that I recognize, and it is important that we have the information that we need, not in an anonymous format but in a way that helps us serve your son.


Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 4

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
Re: The review posted yesterday about your son receiving slanderous remarks from boys in his class. First, tell each and every one of his teachers what is being said. If your son can, have him tell the teachers the names of these children. Make sure your son has a buddy with him, someone that can verify the negative talk. Make a time frame with the teachers. You will meet with them, and discuss the situation after the teachers have dealt with the boys. Take this to the very top of Great Hearts if need be. This needs to stop and stop now. I hope to hear from you about the situation being handled swiftly and appropriately.

Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 4

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
Re: the February 7th review - your review was accurate re: no trade school, no home ec, etc. However, Great Hearts is very up front re: what their educational philosophy is. It sounds like you have a fundamental disagreement and so this is not the school for your child. We chose this school b/c it teaches students to think critically/reason which was missing in my public school education and is still missing from public ed for this most part, imo. This, and character development, are essential to being a functioning American citizen. Learn how to think, learn and work hard. Then you can teach yourself anything.

Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 2

Posted February 07, 2013
- a community member
First, I don't believe that CPA prepares people for life. College? Sure. Life? Not even close. Preparation for life is the opportunity to train in a trade at school (ie. Jewelry, shop, etc), character development, time to obtain a job, an core education that can be built on in college, home ec, the knowledge of modern day systems (ie. stock market system, tax system) and technology (ie. cars and computers). The approach that CPA takes is good at character development and a core education for college but, fails in all the other areas. There are no trade classes, there is not enough time to sanction a legitimate job, there is no home ec, no teaching of modern day systems or technologies. CPA produces scholars but, being a scholar is not as valuable as being a functioning American citizen. Being a scholar is in fact only significantly valuable when pursuing a highly academic path in college. It is not a "life prep" school and not a "college prep" school.


Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 5

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been at student at Chandler Prep since the beginning of 6th grade and is now an 8th grader there. She loves this school!! She has made lots of great friends and is very involved in extra-curricular activities there--orchestra, choir, student ambassadors. Her homework usually takes her about 1 hour and 15 minutes to complete and she receives excellent grades. She has really liked a lot of her teachers especially Mrs. Polley, Miss Flynn, Mr. Meyer, and Miss Wiltjer. The music/band/orchestra teacher, Mrs. Gottry, is excellent and the kids all love her. All of the teachers are required to have tutoring hours and my daughter takes advantage of those often. She also makes use of the Math Lab which is run by upper classmen and offers extra help with Math homework. I feel that my daughter is well supported at this school and the teachers really want what is best for the students! It is a challenging curriculum, but anyone who is willing to work hard and take on a challenge can be successful at this school. My daugher is looking forward to attending CPA for high school.

Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep 5

Posted September 16, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is starting out her 2nd year at Chandler Prep (7th grade). She came in with high AIMS/Stanford 10 scores from her top rated public elementary school and decided she wanted more of a challenge than the public middle school. It was a tough adjustment for her in regard to homework in the beginning, but after the first quarter she established a pretty good routine. Homework does range from 2-5 hours a night if you want to do well. She made the comment to me the other day, "I learned one or two new things each week at XXX elementary school", now I learn several new things each day in each class." All of her teachers last year and this year are really passionate about their subjects and this truly makes for excellent instruction. Honestly no complaints so far about middle school. She feels she can achieve anything. She is deciding whether or not to remain at CPA for high school, as our original plan was just to attend for middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep
1951 N. Alma School Rd., Chandler, AZ  85225
(480) 899-9181
Last modified Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Great Hearts Academies - Chandler Prep Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top